We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Westin Montreal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Westin Montreal
Ranked #27 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Stay quite frequently,in Montreal and am a Platinum member of Starwood. Decided to stay at Westin instead of Sheraton and really enjoyed it.

Asked for an upgrade as a Platinum member and was given a Premium room which was great since my wife and I had invited a family member to visit. We ordered room service and the Angus burger each of us had was excellent.

Buffet breakfast was great as well.

The room was very quiet.

Will definitely return.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yanlap, General Manager at Le Westin Montreal, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Harry F, thank you for giving Le Westin a try upon your recent visit to Montreal. I am glad to read your stay was up to your expectations, and I hope to get more opportunities to take care of you in 2014. Sincere regards,

Raymond St-Pierre, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,704 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    758
    687
    165
    56
    38
See reviews for
409
475
68
493
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
119 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

We went to visit my parents for Christmas and we slept just 1 night in this hotel so my opinion is not from the point of view of a tourist. We got a very good deal on Internet. Room had 2 Queen beds, very comfortable for 2 adults and 2 teens. Great bathroom, pool and exercice room.
Room and all areas were extremely clean.
The only reason I don't give this hotel 5 points is because breakfast wasn't included. Anyway, the hotel is next to the Old Port of Montréal and in walking distance of downtown.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Christian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yanlap, General Manager at Le Westin Montreal, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
I am happy to read you enjoyed your recent visit, mutrax. It will be a pleasure taking care of you whenever you are visiting the family. Be well,

Raymond St-Pierre, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2014

From check in to departure, this hotel epitomizes everything the Westin brand is about. The staff is friendly and helpful. The entrance, lobby, and rooms are all very modern and well above average. The hotel is located in Old Montreal and walking to the shopping district and entertainment area is doable in moderate weather. Room service and La Gazette restaurant are both outstanding with food being very delicious and service prompt. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone on business or leisure.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view, higher floors offer this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yanlap, General Manager at Le Westin Montreal, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback, Tim K. Thank you for recommending Le Westin and please come back to visit soon. Au revoir,

Raymond St-Pierre, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

The Westin Montreal was fine: pleasant and spacious room, clean hotel, and a perfect location right in the Vieux Port. I was quite impressed with the check-in, which couldn't have taken more than two minutes. With a room on the 17th floor, my wife and I were very happy with the view over downtown.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a nice view over Montreal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpdaigle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yanlap, General Manager at Le Westin Montreal, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
I am glad you enjoyed your recent visit, jpdaigle. Thank you for sharing your feedback and please be back soon. Be well,

Raymond St-Pierre, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We booked a last-minute trip shortly before Christmas with our three children, who are 6 and under. We booked the Westin for two primary reasons: expectation of high quality and onsite swimming pool. The room we booked was a 1BR suite with a separate living area and pull-out sofa, which is where our kids slept.

We arrived at the hotel on a snowy Saturday afternoon, having driven over 6 hours. Upon arrival we dined in the hotel's only restaurant, which was fine with good kid options / pricing. We had checked into our room just prior and noted that the living area into which you enter was dark (no natural light or windows) but figured this would be OK given our kids would be sleeping here.

The front desk staff / concierge was helpful in finding a local pizza delivery restaurant since that's what our kids wanted and it was too snowy and cold to go outside. We ate, watched a movie and went to bed. At about 1AM we were awakened by a VERY loud party taking place in the room directly below. We immediately called the front desk and were told that a security guard would rectify the problem; the noise seemed to decrease (though not completely) but then, within about 15 minutes, started up again with increased volume. When I called back, the woman at the front desk made a comment to the effect of "they are probably just getting ready to go out" and seemed dismissive of my concern; only when I pressed further did she concede to sending the security guard back. The only issue was that she sent the security guard to our room, who started knocking on our door at 1:30AM, waking up our 3 children. When we opened the door the security guard (who could not have been more than 18 years old) asked to enter our room so he could hear the noise for himself...a bizarre request, particularly when we had already told him that we had 3 sleeping children in the room. When we refused entry he presumably went back to the party room and eventually the noise stopped.

We brought this incident to the attention of the hotel manager the next morning and he had already been briefed on the incident; he was apologetic and ended up sending a note and cookie plate to our room later in the day, which we appreciated. We then went out for the day, returning about 3 in the afternoon, at which time I took two of my children to the pool. Which was closed for "renovation and repair." We went to the front desk and again spoke to the manager, who apologized and suggested that we go to the adjacent Intercontinental Hotel, which would allow guests to use it's pool for $15/day per person. I suggested that he arrange for us to go at no charge since we'd already in effect paid the Westin for the use of their pool, which was not available. He ultimately was able to arrange this though, when we went there, the pool was an unheated lap pool with no easy entry for small children (unlike the Westin pool).

The hotel itself is fine but nothing special with few amenities; we saw very few hotel guests during our stay so I'm guessing that it is not the most popular option in Montreal.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WalkerWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yanlap, General Manager at Le Westin Montreal, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear WalkerWine, please allow me to start by an apology, as I understand your recent stay fell short of your expectations. The week that precedes the Holidays is traditionally one of the quietest week of the year in Montreal. We took advantage of this to proceed to some minor repairs to the swimming pool area, which unfortunately were delayed by a few days hence refraining us from opening the pool back on time for your arrival. I sincerely apologize for this, as I can appreciate how important this is when traveling with young children. I can ensure you that your feedback will not go unheard, as several actions have already been taken to avoid such disappointment in the future. I hope we will get the pleasure of welcoming your family back at Le Westin Montréal. Best regards,

Raymond St-Pierre, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at the Westin a few times ... We love this hotel ... Rooms are great ... Bedding is comfy ... Washrooms are luxurious ... Room was very clean... Internet fast ... Staff very friendly ... Restaurant food was very good ... Bar staff great especially Anthony on New Year's Eve ... Will definitely stay again

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

It's not a bad property, but just a bit odd.
The lobby does not feel welcoming at all, with only a small section where one would like to hang out, the rest feels like a huge corridor.
I had reserved a corner room, looking forward to the views of downtown Montreal. However, on a low floor (I was on the 4th floor of 20) there is no view. As a SPG member I usually get better room assignments. If you reserve a corner room, make sure you ask for a high floor, or else it's truly not worth it.
The room itself really didn't feel like a Westin. Were it not for the (silly) double shower head (heavenly shower), one could very well be in a lower class hotel. The room layout (at least for the corner room) is odd. There is an 8 foot section of room that is 2 feet wide in front of the window... not the hotel operators fault but still odd.
The furniture (FF&E) package feels mismatched and overall decor not at all coordinated. Even the lighting is mismatched with a mix of warm and cool compact fluorescent bulbs. This may seem like a tiny detail, but I find it just shows lack of care and refinement you would expect from a 4 or 5 star property.
Two big columns take up space in the room and are painted white and full of scuff marks. Again, lack of attention to housekeeping because they are the first thing you see when you walk into the room. All very subjective, but for the money, one expects more. The bed was OK, but Westin did lose it's edge of "heavenly" bed a little while ago, most hotels offering comparable "heavenly" bedding.

The staff was good, very polite and efficient at check-in and check-out. Car valets were efficient and pleasant.

Room Tip: If you book a corner room, make sure you ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank window_seat0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yanlap, General Manager at Le Westin Montreal, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Your feedback is much appreciated, window_seat0. I am sorry to read we fell short of your expectations. We will act on your comments and hopefully deserve a better score the next time you visit. Be well,

Raymond St-Pierre, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier International
InterContinental Montreal
InterContinental Montreal
#36 of 163 in Montreal
1,831 reviews
Quartier International
W Montreal
W Montreal
#20 of 163 in Montreal
1,420 reviews
Quartier International
Embassy Suites by Hilton Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
LHotel
LHotel
#19 of 163 in Montreal
1,178 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Quartier International
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
Courtyard Montreal Downtown
#22 of 163 in Montreal
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Westin Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Westin Montreal

Property: Le Westin Montreal
Address: 270 St-Antoine West, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 0A3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier International , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Montreal
#18 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#22 Business Hotel in Montreal
#27 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Westin Montreal 4*
Number of rooms: 455
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located at the junction of Old Montreal and downtown, Le Westin Montreal features 455 spacious bedrooms and suites, all offering the unparalelled comfort of Westin's Heavenly bed, complementary WiFi, in-room safe, iHome with mp3 clock and small fridge. Le Westin Montreal is connected by underground walkway to Montreal Palais des Congres (main Convention Centre) and to Montreal Subway (Metro). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Westin Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Westin Montreal Hotel Montreal
Westin Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing