We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for one week in Montreal”

Saint-Andre-des-Arts
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montreal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Saint-Andre-des-Arts
Ranked #33 of 144 Montreal B&B and Inns
Levallois-Perret, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent for one week in Montreal”
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Philippe owns a gîte in a perfect location in the center of Montreal. He is friendly and the gîte is perfectly convenient - very clean, well furnished, private bathrooms, possibility to use the kitchen to cook. For a week in Montreal, this is really an excellent solution for an affordable price. For travellers who wish calm, this is really perfect. He advised me a lot on what to do and see in Montreal, and was very friendly at breakfast - I would highly recommend you to choose his accomodation, which is a much more comfortable solution than going to an hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ma V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
18
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2011

The owner of the b&b, Philippe, is meticulous, warm and helpful in all ways. The gite, located in an old classic Montreal-style house, has been recently renovated to be clean, bright, modern and comfortable. Bathrooms are private but across the hall from the sleeping rooms. Food is delicious, ample and fairly simple, abundant with fresh fruit. Philippe always introduces guests to each other around the table and genuinely enjoys talking to guests and answering questions about his adopted city. He does insist that people leave their shoes in the lobby (as do other b&bs). The location is mixed--it is in walking distance to most attractions and desirable neighborhoods in the city, but being near the main bus station there are quite a few vagrants and beggars. Although the feeling was sometimes uncomfortable we never felt threatened or in danger. Despite the owner's caution, we had little trouble finding public parking the week we stayed there. In short: highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Errantexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Philippe maintains his B&B as the cleanest, neatest I have ever experienced. His suggestions to me were right on the mark. I did everything he advised and made the best use of my time - saw so much in 4 days. He puts his heart and soul into the wonderful breakfasts and makes the best coffee ever. I thoroughly enjoyed all our conversations and will never forget him. Merci beaucoup Phillipe

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gourmet221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2010

Stayed 4 nights for the Formula 1 Grand Prix, a busy time when all accommodation is booked up. We were lucky to have picked here to stay, it was only a block away from the Berri-Uqam main metro station and Rue St Catherine with loads of restaurants. Roughly $10 a day long stay parking also close by.
Philippe is a kind, charming and helpful host giving useful info when we arrived. The house is beautifully decorated with hanging art and modern very clean bathrooms. Quiet at nighttime and we slept well. Towels and linens were plush. A/C was very efficient and very quiet. Big flat screen TV's in the bedrooms. Fast WI-FI.
The breakfasts prepared by Philippe were wonderful everyday - usually a huge bowl of yoghurt and mixed organic fresh fruit with marvelous croissants, and waffles on Sunday. There is a kitchen and outdoor deck. You can help yourself to tea and freshly brewed coffee anytime.
Due to the metal staircase at the entrance I would not recommend to less able visitors.
All four of us loved staying here and would try to stay again on future visits.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeasS'Cape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kortrijk, Belgium
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2010

We chose the place for it's location near the bus terminal (express bus from airport) and a big metro station. The host Philippe is very attentive, the house has a nice atmosphere, the breakfast is excellent, the bathrooms are good. There is a kitchen that you can use. We stayed for 3 days and it was lovely. Because it is a charming old house you have to accept some squeaking from the wooden floors. If I can go back to Montreal I will try to book this place again.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jandho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2010

We recently visited Montreal and made the excellent decision to stay for three nights at the B&B Saint-Andre-des-Arts. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel instantly at ease and warmly welcomed by the friendly, charming and kind host Philippe. We were stunned at the beauty of the B&B....spotless, homely and comfortable yet with a sophisticated, modern twist. Our room was wonderful, with an incredibly comfty bed (we slept like babies every night!), a huge plasma TV, beautiful arty prints on the wall, a clean en-suite bathroom.....aaaah....and then there were the breakfasts! Wow! My mouth waters just thinking about them....each morning we were treated to fresh and delicious organic breakfasts (waffles, croissants, fruit, yoghurt, cereal, juice and the best coffee we tasted in Montreal - and we are picky by the way!) all lovingly made by Philippe, who would also be on hand to chat and answer any questions we had. We fully intend to return one day (even if we live thousands of miles away!) as this was a truly memorable stay! If you want to stay in a relaxing yet sophistiated environment in a fantastic part of town....look no further - this is an absolute must! The Saint-Andre-des-Arts is a hidden gem! :-) Thank you Philippe!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank booly65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2009

I strongly recommend this B&B, located just a few blocks from the main bus terminal, yet on a safe, quiet street in the middle of Montreal (between the Latin Quarter and the Village) and all the action. The rooms are spotlessly clean, situated in a late 19th century house that has been restored by Philippe, the very helpful proprietor, yet have all the modern amenities, such as TV and air conditioning. Each morning, you get a unique continental breakfast prepared by Philippe, such as fruit and yogurt, crepes, excellent espresso coffee and juice. The kitchen is available if you want to prepare a quick meal for yourself for lunch or the evening. You're a block from the Berri-UQAM metro, which means you have quick access to the entire subway system. The price was very reasonable (between $80-100 depending on the room). Trust me, folks, I'm very picky about places to stay and this exceeded all my expectations.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BenjamininOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel Elegant
Hotel Elegant
#113 of 164 in Montreal
172 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel de l'ITHQ
Hotel de l'ITHQ
#31 of 164 in Montreal
445 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
La Loggia Art & Breakfast
La Loggia Art & Breakfast
#10 of 144 in Montreal
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
La Conciergerie
La Conciergerie
#26 of 144 in Montreal
111 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Le Simone
Le Simone
#31 of 144 in Montreal
160 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Sir Montcalm
Sir Montcalm
#37 of 144 in Montreal
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saint-Andre-des-Arts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saint-Andre-des-Arts

Property: Saint-Andre-des-Arts
Address: 1654 rue Saint-Andre, Montreal, Quebec H2L 3T6, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > The Village (Gay Village) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Heritage mansion built in 1882. Large cosy apartment dedicated to our guests with their own private entrance. Air conditioning and Wi-Fi in all rooms. Five rooms, three with private bathroom. French quarter life in the heart of historic and cultural Ville-Marie district on a quiet residential street close to the Quartier Latin and the Village. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing