We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B, wonderful value too”
Review of Studio Living B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Studio Living B&B
Ranked #6 of 145 Montreal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B, wonderful value too”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed here for three nights in late September, and couldn't be happier with our choice. For C$140 (incl all taxes) a night, Studio Living was great value. It was cheaper than most hotels and priced competitively with other nearby B&Bs, but we got so much more space. This isn't just a regular room, we had a studio all to ourselves, complete with kitchen, a dining area and a lovely backyard. I stayed in a downtown Montreal hotel before moving to Studio Living, and the experience here was much better - felt like staying in someone's home!

Michel was a wonderful host. He was there to greet us when we arrived, and took time out to give us recommendations on where to eat, what to see etc. There was also a folder of helpful information in the studio, complete with maps and useful addresses. We had breakfast every morning in our studio - there was a generous stash of cereals, fresh croissants, juice, milk, tea. There was seating in the backyard, and it was nice waking up every morning and starting off with a relaxing breakfast there! On our last night, we had chocolates left for us - such a nice touch! Michel also gave us his cell phone number in case we needed to reach him.

Location wise, this B&B is in the Village, and near Beaudry metro station. It is also close to the Berri-UQAM station. On our first day, we walked from the B&B to the Old Port - it probably took us around 20 minutes, which was manageable. Studio Living is on a quiet residential street, so no issues with street noise. We felt safe coming back each night.

A note to travellers who are thinking of staying here - Michel accepts only cash for payment, and cash is expected at check-in. So make sure you have enough cash on you when you arrive. Like most B&Bs, Studio Living doesn't have a traditional front desk or reception that you get at hotels, but this was never an issue. Michel lives on the premises and also gave us his cell phone number in case we needed to reach him.

Would definitely love to stay here again when I'm back in Montreal! Merci, Michel!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank intransit111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cybermikemtk, Owner at Studio Living B&B, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Wow!

Thank you for this great and detailed review: I think with all this info, the future clients will know what they are getting into! LOL!! But seriously, you are giving a good idea of what this place is about, thanks!

It was a real pleasure to have you at Studio living and of course, it will be a great pleasure to have you back anytime here!

Have a great fall season!

Michel Lapointe, owner
Studio living
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
124
20
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
White Rock, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
346 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Excellent apartment, great host, very good recommendations on food and sites.
Good breakfast and very nice courtyard.
We very much enjoyed proximity to subway and downtown.
Would definitely stay again.
Thanks!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cybermikemtk, Owner at Studio Living B&B, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Bonjour David,

Thank you for this nice review!

Glad you enjoy Studio living with all the services and the location, only a few minutes away from the subway...

Have a great fall season and you are always welcome to come back at Studio living anytime!

Cheers!


Michel Lapointe, owner
Studio living
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed at Studio Living over Black & Blue in October. At first, I was a bit wary of the photos on the website, 'cause it looked too nice for the price. Well, it's exactly what it is. The studio we had was one of the ground floor ones, with access to the garden. It was immaculate, it was super spacious, it was decorated with great taste: I LOVED IT.

The bed was incredibly comfortable, firm (I hate those super soft ones that offer no support) and big. And for breakfast we had in the kitchen a choice of three cereals, plus yogurt, milk, two different kinds of juice, fresh fruit, and two croissants (one for each of us, replaced every morning). The kitchen has a counter with two stools (I'm probably using the wrong word, I'm not a native speaker), and it's a great place to have breakfast, but there's also the garden with a nice table and chairs in case you want to do that too (which we did once). So, you can start the day perfectly well at the studio.

Something else I loved, though some might find it silly or irrelevant, is that a wall by the kitchen is painted black, and there is some chalk in the kitchen. There was Bienvenue à Montréal written when we arrived, and from that day on the wall became a fun way to exchange messages with the owner! We wrote a list of things to do in Montreal, and checked them off as days passed by, and when we were back from being out we'd see comments by the owner on them, or good wishes. Like I said, it was a simple, silly detail, but for me it was a very nice one. I even took a photo of the wall before we left, full as it was of notes and comments!

What else... Oh, yes, Michel, the owner. Awesome guy. He explains absolutely everything you need to know. He gives you tons of printed info. And he's super reachable. And pleasant.

I don't need to look for any other place to stay at if we go back. I was absolutely happy with the place.

Room Tip: The studio on the ground floor has direct access to the street and the garden, which I found very pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tadeo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
studioliving, Owner at Studio Living B&B, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Tadeo,

Thanks for this amazing review!! You've been great guests as well!!!

I'm glad you liked the chalk board: from what I saw on it, you were all over the town!!! This is great: love it when my guests are almost never there because they are so busy discovering the city!!!

Of course, you are more then welcome to come anytime!!

Enjoy the beautiful fall season now...

Cheers!


Michel Lapointe, owner
Studio living
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Just returned from a short stay at this wonderful B&B located near the heart of Montreal. Michel is a welcoming host, considerate of his guests needs and very helpful. The apartment is beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious with fresh fruit, good coffee and a choice of fresh croissants daily. The apartment opens out onto a private covered courtyard style garden, which provided a lovely place to enjoy a glass of wine at the end of the day. Everything was perfect. Thank you

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
studioliving, Owner at Studio Living B&B, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Bonjour Judith,

Thanks for this fantastic review! So happy you enjoy your studio and the garden as well! You've been great guests!

And thank you for taking the time to write this amzing review!

Enjoy the fall season: it's been amazing around here so far!!

Cheers!

Michel Lapointe. owner
Studio living
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Orange
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Studio Living B&B mid-August. Michel was delightful and extremely helpful. The studio was almost spotless and was cleaned everyday. We also had a bounty of breakfast nibbles: coffee, tea, fruit , yogurt, cereals and croissants with plenty of milk and juice. We were only a couple of blocks from the metro, so we did not have to use our car. I had a comfortable time as if I were at a home away from home. Lovely garden in the back if you like to have breakfast or coffee there. I cannot say enough, only that if I return to Montreal, I will book this B&B in advance to make sure there is space.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
studioliving, Owner at Studio Living B&B, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Bonjour Karen,

Thank you for this fantastic review! Really happy you enjoy Studio living! And is it wonderful to be in the middle of the city but in such a quite garden like that? I know I was not expecting that when I moved in there few years ago...

You are more then welcome to come back and enjoy the rest of summer!

Michel Lapointe, owner
Studio living
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2013

My now husband and I stayed at Michel's Studio Living B&B nearly a year ago. The location is fantastic, the apartment is beautiful and Michel is the cherry on top. He took time out of his busy day to talk with us and help us know where good locations to venture were. Mind you, he also created a book that shows all that but the friendliness and just communication prior was top notch. Very, very clean! If you are looking for a full, hot meal you will have to go get your own groceries. Just something to keep in mind.

Even a year later we keep thinking about this location and telling our friends about it. Too many times it is already booked up so plan ahead!

Room Tip: Book early, there are many festivals in Montreal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMDeFreitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
studioliving, Owner at Studio Living B&B, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Well,

This is very nice to hear you are still remembering Studio living: just really happy you had a great experience...

We are sorry if you weren't able to book again with us but specially during high season, it can be pretty tough to find specefic dates so yes, booking in advance is a must... Hopefully, we'll be able to accommodate on your next trip to Montreal!

Thank you for taking the time to write this amazing review!

Wishing you a nice end of summer!

Michel Lapointe, owner
Studio living
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We booked direct and prompt replies from Michel, he met us on arrival and showed us our studio. Spotlessly clean, breakfast supplies, access to backyard etc. Short walk to The Village for meals and we walked into the downtown one day no problem. Would recommend you choose Studio Living, quiet street but handy to everything.

Room Tip: We had an upstairs studio
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raewyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
studioliving, Owner at Studio Living B&B, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Well,

You pretty much sums it up: spotless and on a quiet street but handy to everything!

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and I wish you guys in beautifull spring in Australia, as fall is stelling in around here...

Cheers mates!


Michel Lapointe, owner
Studio living
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
The Village (Gay Village)
Auberge Le Pomerol
Auberge Le Pomerol
#47 of 165 in Montreal
539 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,341 reviews
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Chateau de l'Argoat
Chateau de l'Argoat
#32 of 165 in Montreal
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,340 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Bed & Breakfast du Village - BBV
Quartier des Spectacles
Victorian Heritage
Victorian Heritage
#4 of 145 in Montreal
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studio Living B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studio Living B&B

Property: Studio Living B&B
Address: 1831, Montcalm, Montreal, Quebec H2L 3H6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > The Village (Gay Village)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quite design studios in the heart of the city with acces to a lovely garden. And you are minutes away from the subway and walking distance to most of the attractions Montréal has to offer... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Studio Living B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing