We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“regular residence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Residences Universitaires UQAM East
Ranked #71 of 102 Speciality Lodging in Montreal
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I stayed here for a little over a month last July - August 2012. I stayed in one of the rooms of 8 people. It has 3 bathrooms (only two with showers) and there was sometimes a wait time, but mostly have three bathrooms for 8 girls was enough! The kitchen has the bare essentials, as in appliances. So bring your own kitchen gear if you want to cook. Our common area had are conditioning but it leaked a lot of the time because it was working so hard due to the extreme heat that summer. The individual rooms did not have air conditioning which took some getting used it. At least there were ceiling fans in each room. Not all of the room windows opened. You could go to the front desk and change your towels or bed sheets for new ones when ever you wanted (as long as they hadn't run out of clean ones). Laundry rooms were useful and the location of the building is in walking distance to most things. No parking available. Cleanliness depends on how clean you keep your rooms. There is a fitness center but it is not open to the people staying in the residence rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellor5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2012

This place is by far the worst place that I have EVER stayed in.
I get that it is a residence and that the price is cheap but it sure was not worth it AT ALL.
Only positives - Location was good (however, but I would rather stay in any other motel-hotel-hostel then stay here again).

First off it was hot and smelly. The room we had was unbelievably hot with a ceiling fan that did nothing. It was dirty, for example, the shower curtain had clearly never been changed and was full of dirt and residue shampoo. The toilette made noise and the fridge leaked all over the place.

I normally would never write a review but this place was horrid.
First off we waited 1 hour to check in. Then we were sent to a room that was full of booze bottles and people's stuff. They made a mistake and sent us to someone else's room. After this, we had to bring all our luggage back down and ask for some clarification and a new room. We were then given another room (the one mentioned above).

The fear was that reception would make the same mistake and send another client to our new room and that it be unlocked and opened on my boyfriend and I at any time (because that is what we had done to someone else's room). This is a complete privacy issue and was totally unacceptable.

The next day (we stayed for 2 nights - paid and reserved 1 month in advance), we arrived back at the residence around 12am after having been to a concert to find that our lock had been completely removed from our door. We could not get into our room at all as someone had removed it. C'mon!!! I have never witnessed anything like this.
We went downstairs to reception and cut in front of the line because we were now livid. It turns out that due to the mistakes made on our check-in day, staff believed that we had not paid for our 2nd night and actually locked us out of our room with all of our stuff in it. Needless to say, a completely ridiculous system. The man at the front desk accused us of not having paid for our 2nd night and that we were suppose to check out that morning (completely wrong and misinformed).
We were so upset and sick and tired with the lack of organization and service. He claimed he was 'just the night guy' and did not have any information for us. Rudely, he brought us back to our room and put the lock back in.
Our room had thus not been made up, no clean towels or anything and the fan had been shut off so it was hotter then life in there.

I WILL NEVER RETURN TO THIS PLACE and recommend that NO ONE STAY HERE.
I feel terrible for students that have to stay in this awful residence and fear what type of accommodations they pay for throughout the year if this is the treatment that we received.

STAY AWAY!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank K_TTAYM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

My sister and I shared a studio residence room during the 2012 Jazz festival in July. We were attracted by the low price of the room ($65 plus tax) and we figured the rooms would lack most of the bells and whistles of a regular hotel or motel. We got less than our expectations.

The room was very small (normal for a residence), the bedding was very old and worn, the curtains were installed backward, the fitted sheet kept coming off the mattress as it did not fit properly. It might as well not have been put on. There was no air conditioning and the room was stifling hot. We would have liked to open the window, but there was no screen, so the bugs would have flown into the room. Even without the bugs, the street noise was incredibly loud - way too loud to sleep. There was an overhead fan that seemed to do absolutely nothing at all. There was a bedside lamp that did not work.

The bathroom was the biggest joke. The ledge of the stand up shower was too small so that when you ran the water, the entire bathroom floor flooded. In addition, the "bathmats" supplied were made out of thin paper... so they were not much use to us. I was looking forward to styling my hair with a blow dryer (that I brought myself - none provided) in the bathroom, but this would have surely ended in my death. They advertised "unlimited internet access" - which, as it turns out, is NOT wireless. It used the phone cord in the room. So if you have a Mac, too bad for you.

Positives: the staff was friendly (however they were not always at the front desk) and there was a convenience store attached to the building so when I needed advil, I could run down and get some. It was a great location for the Jazz festival - we could comfortably walk to the stages and back to our room.

Room Tip: Room on higher floors would be stifling hot, but at least they wouldn't be as noisy as our 2nd f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Price and location is the only thing this residence has going for it!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HammerChef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residences-UQAM, Front Office Manager at Residences Universitaires UQAM East, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2011

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments.

As you stated, our establishment does not have A/C. However, our rooms are equipped with ceiling fans and we provide portable fan upon request.

Again we appreciate your comments and we hope to have the opportyunity to welcome you again at our hostel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We stayed at UQAM the weekend of July 23-24, on Friday and Saturday night.

The online booking process seemed simple enough, but there was a lot of information missing/unclear/hard to find. We were not told how or when our payment would be processed (they charged the first night upon booking, and the rest of the amount at check-in). We were also not told when the check-in/check-out times were (for the record, check-in is at 4pm, checkout is at 12pm).

One thing to keep in mind too is that the internet connection is not WiFi, so if your laptop does not take the kind of cable they have you are out of luck. This happened to us with my MacBook Air - we asked if there was a password to use their WiFi (we saw it on the list of available networks) but they would not give it to us.

We were also told that the *only* difference between the studio and the studio suite is the size. This is NOT true! Only the suites are air-conditioned - we were BOILING hot in our room, and were not able to upgrade to a suite.

Check-in at 8:00pm took us close to half an hour - so frustrating!

Our first room was okay - quiet, with a little kitchenette that included some dishes and a coffee maker, comfortable enough bed, etc. but the toilet leaked, so we went downstairs and told them about the problem. Instead of sending someone up we were given another room, which was frustrating, since we had already unpacked our things. And, as it turned out, the next room was MUCH worse! It was right next to the elevators, right across from giant garbage bins, and facing a noisy street with construction going until well past 3 a.m. There were used towels in the room, the toilet didn't flush well, and aside from the bed being made it didn't look like it had been cleaned. The ceiling fan wasn't as good, and the bed was much less comfortable - it was encased in thick plastic like a gym mat, and it had a large crease right where my husband slept. I won't lie to you: I cried, I was so frustrated. At a normal hotel I would have filed a complaint, but these people really didn't seem to care!

Also, if you stay here, please be careful when using the showers - if you don't have the shower curtain lined up properly you will get water all over the bathroom floor! Oh, and enjoy the PAPER "bathmat" they give you, as well as the tiny soap, gross shampoo/conditioner and itty bitty towels!

The staff seemed friendly enough, but not at all attentive or helpful. It was kind of like talking to a brick wall sometimes. When we discovered our second room had problems with the faucets (cold faucet in the shower didn't work, hot faucet in the bathroom sink didn't work), we went downstairs to tell them, and a girl just wrote our room number on a random notepad and said they'd send someone up to fix it. We were out ALL DAY, and when we came back it still wasn't fixed. When I went downstairs to ask what was going on they seemed to have no record or recollection of what I had told them, and they said to "try again" and call them if there was still a problem.

The location is great in terms of being downtown, but it is pretty sketchy otherwise. We saw a lot of homeless people with substance abuse problems, and my husband even saw a couple of guys outside, chatting and drinking beer while one of them sharpened a MACHETE! So if you're a woman, best not to travel alone outside at night!

All in all, our stay was incredibly frustrating and disheartening and we will warn all of our friends/family against staying here!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank speedjacer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Residences-UQAM, Front Office Manager at Residences Universitaires UQAM East, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2011

We wanted to sincerely apologize for the challenges that you experienced last weekend. Because customer satisfaction is very important to us, we thank you for taking the time to express your concern.

We would like you to contact us directly by email at est@residences-uqam.qc.ca or by phone at 514-987-6669 in order to investigate further into this matter.

Please rest assured that we will provide you with our very best on your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Yazmin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Vue opposée su boul rené lévesque
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pascale B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Quartier International
Hotel Le Dauphin Montreal Centre-Ville
Quartier des Spectacles
Hilton Garden Inn Montreal Centre-ville
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,521 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,119 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residences Universitaires UQAM East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residences Universitaires UQAM East

Address: 303 Boulevard Rene-Levesque Est, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3Y3, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 102 Speciality Lodging in Montreal
Price Range: £39 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Residences Universitaires UQAM East 1.5*
Number of rooms: 332
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The residences UQAM are located near Berri-UQAM Subway station. If you want to have a great time in Montreal, visit the Quartier Latin, the Chinese district and the Old-Montreal. You will have so much to see and so much to do that you will feel the need to come back every year. Several types of rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Residences Universitaires UQAM East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing