We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food at reasonable prices!”
Review of L'Academie

L'Academie
Ranked #2,148 of 5,724 Restaurants in Montreal
Price range: US$13 - US$26
Cuisines: French, Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great food at reasonable prices!”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

While traveling through Montreal in early August, my friend who lives in Montreal suggested this restaurant. It looked like something out of Europe with dining on the terrace and also inside. We opted to eat inside on the second level. As this was a BYOB place, we brought a nice bottle of wine and happened to eat on their "inexpensive $9.95 night." My entree was a shrimp dish with mushrooms and sauce over pasta. It was a large portion and delicious! My girlfriend had the mussels with garlic and the aroma made me "want to grab some." We did start out with fried calamari as an appetizer and that was great, too. We passed on dessert but the service was efficient and friendly. I would recommend this place to anyone visiting the city. Lots of locals go here and everyone is so friendly. Also, wonderful people watching!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue425_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    36
    23
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“délicieusement bon”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

On a late evening stroll along Rue St-Denis we found ourselves climbing up the stairs toward this nicely nestled restaurant in Montreal City. My very first own experience of a "BYOA" (bring your own alcohol), the ambiance and service was superb - fast, efficient yet friendly and accommodating. Their seafood entrees are highly recommendable, from the Risotto and fresh mussels - every item in their menu looks worthwhile giving a try. Highly recommended to travellers.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lut L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis Valley, NS
Level Contributor
160 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Very popular neighourhood spot”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My wife and I ate here on a Wednesday night which is one of their "cheap" nights with pasta dishes on for $9.95. I had the cannelloni with salad and it was more than enough food for a meal. Overall the food was good but not special. It is a very big restaurant (we had to wait 10 minutes for a seat) but the service was good. We didn't realise that it was bring your own wine until after we had ordered, or would have stopped at the depanneur on the way.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Valleyguy2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Rue St-Denis location lunch was terrific!”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We had an excellent lunch at the location 4051 Rue St-Denis. Half a lobster with steak, sauteed vegetables, and risoto (a "plate") for $20. Service was very good. White tablecloth but covered with white paper. The restaurant is on the corner of a quiet side street, with windows on St-Denis, so we could people watch Rue St-Denis without the usual noise. Vegetables and potatoes were very nicely prepared. I would go back anytime. Bathrooms were very clean. They also have upstairs seating. Bring your own bottle (SAG across the street).

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ATRjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Can they cook a steak?”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Evidently not...there are two choices at this restaurant; well done and raw and ratty. We dined there on Friday, 6/27, party of four. When entering the restaurant we probably should have taken the hint when the air conditioning was not working properly on a very hot evening and the noise levels (from a couple of large groups) were through the roof. We continually had to ask for water refills and the service in general was one step above poor. The kicker was the steak I ordered. After being told it was 16 oz sirloin I ordered it medium, anticipating a mouth watering vent. I cut off a piece at the end , saw it was very well done, called the staff over and was asked to cut it in the middle. Low and behold, the middle was well done and back it went only after the server asking if I wanted it more or less done!! The next service was an 8-10 oz. piece of grizzled rare meat that was mostly left on the plate for the chef to chew on!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ccpia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Academie also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Been to L'Academie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing