We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderfully special hotel”
Review of Le Petit Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Petit Hotel
Ranked #4 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“A wonderfully special hotel”
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Le Petit Hotel is located in an area of many restaurants and boutiques with excellent accessiblity to all of Old Montreal and not too far from a Metro station. Although it is a popular commercial avenue I never felt it was crowded or noisy. The hotel itself is charming. Our room was more spacious than we expected and quiet (perhaps because we were not facing the street). The staff was pleasant and helpful especially Laurent(?) who was absolutely charming. The complimentary free continental breakfast was great with fresh fruits, yogurt, baked goods to die for and specialty coffees. No complaints at all and I'd go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AZRPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    799
    212
    34
    11
    5
See reviews for
124
690
45
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Ended up here by accident after a nearby global chain fouled up my booking on a business trip. Elegantly simple decor, in the heart of the old town and with helpful friendly staff. Not good for those seeking big hotel amenities but would return tomorrow (if given the chance) and this time with the family.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SLJDOGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We had a beautiful room on the second floor. Very comfortable and tastefully furnished. Service was very friendly and helpful in booking restaurant reservations. The breakfast buffet is rather limited and could be improved. Wifi is free, but was apparently at some places in our room difficult to connect with. Located in the heart of the old town, minutes away from a good number of excellent restaurants. Valet service available.

Room Tip: Our room faced a side alley and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dreamnumber9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We stayed in a medium room, which was a fine size for two people. The room was very clean, cozy and the bed was extremely comfortable. The location on St. Paul is ideal-- close to restaurants and a quick walk to the Metro. The staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfast-- large croissants, yogurt, fruits, cereals and assorted coffees-- was a perfect start to the day. Valet parking (in a gated area nearby) is $28/day.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aljwinslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magellan123
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2012

We had a wonderful time at Le Petit Hotel. The staff is very attentive and very helpful with suggested restaurants in the area. We were in a larger room facing the street. While the room itself was quite comfortable, it could be quite noisy at points due to late night revelry. We will definitely return to this property.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Magellan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We truley enjoyed our stay at Le Petit Hotel in Old Montreal! Great room - complete with old stone walls, beautiful bedding and wonderful Breakfast! Location was perfect for Old Montreal!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CCOshawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Having just returned from a 5 night stay at this wonderful hotel, I am still struggling to find anything that I did not like about it.

We initially had a room at the rear of the hotel but were disturbed from around 7am by building works close by so requested a move to a room in the front of the hotel and the management were only too happy to make this happen for us. I think that the noise from the building site is intermittent and we were unlucky as there was an over enthusiastic scissor platform driver going up and down the street with that annoying beeping noise that comes from commercial plant when reversing. The second room (207 I think) overlooked the street and had dual aspect views out of the 4 large double windows and noise from the street was virtually non-existent.

The hotel is located in what must be one of the nicest streets in the city, plenty of great restaurants and galleries to enjoy. My wife and I stayed in what is termed a "large" room which was very comfortable, stylish and thoughtfully designed. The bed was amazingly comfortable and we came to refer to it as the marshmallow because it looked so appealing and every time that we returned from a long walk it was immediately dived upon for instant relief from aching limbs. We also had the benefit of a desk with chair and light as well as a small dining table with two chairs. The bathroom contained a powerful shower and although not huge, was perfectly adequate and stylish. There was also plenty of storage, a mini-bar and safe in the room. The TV had plenty of channels and although the picture quality could have been better, it was fine and there is so much to see and do in Montreal that TV is just a minor distraction.

We had Wifi and Breakfast included in our room rate. Breakfast was basic but all of the ingredients were fresh and good quality. The breakfast area could be a little nicer as it is a bit cramped but this is really just a minor point that could probably be resolved with some fresh decoration/lighting and a new seating plan (turning the tables through 90 degrees would help).

The staff were excellent throughout and worked hard to ensure that we were comfortable and had everything that we needed. Check-in/out was a breeze and they kindly booked Cirque tickets for us as our iPad could not access the Cirque booking site (requires Flash). As an aside, Cirque was brilliant and is just a short walk from the hotel.

The rooms were kept very clean and the hotel was clearly well maintained. Maybe the towels could have been a little more generous in size but that is about it for complaints.

I have stayed in a lot of very nice hotels but there are few that I would return to without hesitation and this is at the top of the list and I hope that I do get to return at some point.

Finally, I would like to pass on my thanks to all of the staff both front and back for helping to make our stay so enjoyable, you are a credit to your profession.

Room Tip: Check on the status of the building works if being assigned a room at the rear of the hotel, especia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank scol2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,340 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#8 of 165 in Montreal
2,134 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 165 in Montreal
356 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
1,979 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 165 in Montreal
1,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Petit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Petit Hotel

Property: Le Petit Hotel
Address: 168 rue St-Paul Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Petit Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Saint-Paul street, this 28 room boutique hotel is the perfect blend of elegance and modernity. Colourful furnishings accent each cozy room while original stonework and clever layouts make for a Wonderland-esque setting. Our concierge moonlights as a barista and our front desk fills in for a trendy little cafe. Located right in our lobby, Le Petit Cafe brews artisan joe and offers delicious baked goods all day long. Room service is also available and comes courtesy of Mechant Boeuf. Le Petit Hotel's convenient location and intimate setting make it an ideal hub for the busy weekend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Petit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing