We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel for our Honeymoon”
Review of Le Petit Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Petit Hotel
Ranked #5 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Hotel for our Honeymoon”
Reviewed 26 September 2012

My husband and I decided to spend a few days in Montreal right after our wedding as a pseudo honeymoon (our official honeymoon will take place later in Spain). We found Le Petit Hotel as the top ranked hotel on Trip Advisor. Obviously this hotel was not #1 without justification. Upon arriving at the hotel, we entered our room and found wonderful cupcakes as congratulations for our nuptuals as well as a personal message from them to us. Even if we didn't have much of a view, there were other aspects of the room that made it fantastic: the location was top notch (walking distance to everywhere in Old Montreal); the service and suggestions were great; the bed was DIVINE; the room was very clean; and the shower (as others have commented on it) was exquisite! We are so glad that we chose this hotel. We will certainly book our room here should we come back to Montreal.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimbop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petit-Hotel-Mtl, General Manager at Le Petit Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Dear kimbop,
Congratulations again and thank you for posting a review. It sounds like you had an amazing time and enjoyed great features of our rooms such as the bed and the shower. Everyone on the team is glad you enjoyed the hotel and the service provided. We hope you enjoyed your official honeymoon in Spain and look forward to seeing you again should you visit Montreal again, for an anniversary perhaps!

Best regards,

Joëlle Beaulieu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    781
    212
    33
    11
    5
See reviews for
120
680
44
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2012

This was our first visit to Montreal. I checked Tripadvisor for comments on Le Petit and liked what I read so decided to stay there. Our experience couldn't have been any better from our arrival to our departure 3 days later. Laurence and Etienne were very gracious hosts and willingly helped us with every request we had. The room was great, location was perfect, the cappuccio the BEST! Being a former travel agent of over 30 years, I am very happy to highly recommend Le Petit Hotel! I am looking forward to returning very soon!
Marie from North Carolina

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luvtotry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petit-Hotel-Mtl, General Manager at Le Petit Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Hi Luvtotry,

Thank for sharing your experience with fellow travelers. I am really glad that you enjoyed your first time visit to Montreal and that we were able to exceed your expectations. Laurence and Etienne are indeed valuable assets to our team. They were delighted to read your review. We also look forward to you returning very soon!

Warm regards,

Joëlle Beaulieu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petoskey, Michigan
Level Contributor
102 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We never ventured far beyond Old Montreal because there was so much to do within short walks of this cute hotel. Bed was sumptuously comfortable, staff friendly and helpful, breakfast delicious. The hotel seems to prize form over function; the design is trendy but not always sensible. Bathroom short on storage space, no mirror near lighting in bedroom, whch made it difficult for two people to groom at once, and armoire doors that opened into awkward badly lit space. No matter, we would still come back again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Upnorthdeborah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petit-Hotel-Mtl, General Manager at Le Petit Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Dear Upnorthdeborah,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It sure sounds like you had a great time staying at the hotel and exploring our beloved neighborhood. We appreciate your feedback about the design. As we aim for both design and function, bathroom storage is an aspect we plan on improving very soon and we recently purchased new LED lights to improve lighting. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Best regards,

Joëlle Beaulieu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Located in the old part of Montreal, this was our base for our two night stay in this city. It is indeed a small hotel but one with a big heart. The welcome at reception was super, our room was smallish but had all the modcons one would expect from a modern hotel. Ample wardrobe space with lots of clothes hangers, a room safe, flat screen TV, a small balcony overlooking an alleyway
(albeit dirty) and a shower room with good quality amenities. Sleep quality was excellent with a very comfortable bed and good quality linen. Very clean in general. The complimentary continental breakfast was adequate. The staff in general were very friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJCaruana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

My wife and I recently stayed here based on review in Trip Advisor. Modern hotel features in small intimate hotel. Nice, clean modern room, with all the amenities. May be small for some, but we did not plan on spending much time in it; was on alley with no view, but very quiet. Hearty continental breakfast each morning with our latte or capucino in a funky breakfast room. Quiet lobby overlooking street - nice place to relax at end of day with wine. Each and every staff member was friendly and helpful, especially in choosing restaurants and making reservations.

Room Tip: Room size and view not important to us, but if you want larger room and/or view, inquire when making...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJB77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petit-Hotel-Mtl, General Manager at Le Petit Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Dear RJB77,

Thank for contributing to our TripAdivisor page with a review, a room tip and a great picture of the lobby lamp. I am delighted that you enjoyed some quiet and relaxing time at the hotel and that we are able to help with your restaurant reservations. It is always a pleasure to recommend restaurants. We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Joëlle Beaulieu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at Le Petit Hotel for 2 nights.
I found this loft styled hotel modern and edgy with a bit of a classic twist. The room was extremely large, we had a very comfortable king sized bed, a nice sitting area, desk, large windows overlooking a little side street, the washroom was a bit small, no tub but a nice shower. I personally loved the exposed brick wall and hardwood flooring (I hate carpets), the accent pieces being bright orange was a nice touch and our room had a Wii which we thouroughly enjoyed in the evening with drinks! Their staff was helpful and friendly.. There's also great hand painted wall art in the reception/dining area which I loved!
Overall, the room was clean, comfy and spacious. Excellent locaion. We very much enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ai G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We stayed here for two nights and really enjoyed it. The hotel is conveniently located in Old Montreal. It was a perfect setting for a vacation. Just right outside the hotel, there are plenty of shops and restaurants. A quick walk will take you close to the water. The hotel itself is very nicely designed. The breakfast was delicious with croissants, fruits, and includes lattes and cappuccinos. It was a great way to start the day. The cafe is opened throughout the day. The staff are friendly and work the reception/cafe area. One evening, I wasn't feeling so well and my boyfriend went down to get me some tea. They not only provided it to us free of charge, the staff even delivered it to our room for us. Overall, had a very lovely stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oli_joy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#8 of 164 in Montreal
1,666 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 164 in Montreal
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#9 of 164 in Montreal
2,093 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 164 in Montreal
1,932 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 164 in Montreal
1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Petit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Petit Hotel

Property: Le Petit Hotel
Address: 168 rue St-Paul Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Petit Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Saint-Paul street, this 28 room boutique hotel is the perfect blend of elegance and modernity. Colourful furnishings accent each cozy room while original stonework and clever layouts make for a Wonderland-esque setting. Our concierge moonlights as a barista and our front desk fills in for a trendy little cafe. Located right in our lobby, Le Petit Cafe brews artisan joe and offers delicious baked goods all day long. Room service is also available and comes courtesy of Mechant Boeuf. Le Petit Hotel's convenient location and intimate setting make it an ideal hub for the busy weekend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelClick, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Le Petit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing