We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Good Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Petit Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Petit Hotel
Ranked #7 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A Good Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Stayed three nights as a last minute trip for me and my wife, to explore Montreal. Like many boutique hotels, had a good cozy feeling throughout. Room was very comfortable (especially the bed itself, according to my wife who can be hard to please on this score). Staff was responsive, helpful, and informative.
The area, Old Montreal, is charming and hip, creative and interesting. We could walk just about anywhere, and felt completely safe.
This stay made our trip most enjoyable. My hunch is that you will appreciate it too.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Aude48214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    751
    208
    32
    11
    5
See reviews for
117
658
44
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Il
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

We spent a few days in Montreal before heading to Mont Tremblant to ski and loved our stay at Le Petit Hotel. The location is ideal and our room was perfect for our family of four. Everyone was very kind and helpful, especially Maud who secured our passports and cash when we forgot them upon departure!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristy48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrying Place, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

This is an excellent little hotel in a beautiful old building. The beds were extremely comfortable and the breakfast was delicious. The location couldn't be beat for exploring old Montreal. I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LindsayRF1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

My friend and I had a wonderful stay at Le Petit Hotel. I chose it because of the ratings here on Trip Advisor and they were spot on. It has a perfect location in charming old town Montreal and the hotel is both beautiful in design and enjoyable in comfort (the beds in particular are wonderful!). The front desk staff was very helpful in recommending restaurants, making reservations for us, and helping orient us for our trips around town. The icing on the cake was the delicious breakfast, included with the price of your room. I highly recommend staying at Le Petit Hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AKCnyc2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

If not for some minor annoyances we would rate this hotel 5 stars. Following TA's recommendations we had inquired directly with the hotel for recommendations on a quiet room for our family of 3 which included a 13 year old. Quick response by Le Petit Hotel's concierge confirmed what TA's members had shared, room 407 is the optimal choice. We called and made reservations for that room and received a confirming email, this was about 45 days in advance. Unfortunately when we arrived, no one could find any notes about our specific room request. Luckily the room was available. About 30 minutes after unpacking we discovered that the front desk had given another couple keys to the room, as they opened the door but quickly retreated. Returning from dinner that first evening none of our keys worked and we needed to have then recoded. The remote for the TV failed to work during our stay; we notified the front desk 3 separate times of this minor inconvenience and were assured that their staff would install new batteries; however never happen. As others have mentioned in older posts, the hotel's wifi is spotty at best and doesn't have much bandwidth - my daughter was not able to watch YouTube videos via her iPad app - the videos just kept buffering...she needed to review this material for her school homework. These days for a hotel not to have a robust internet/wifi is really substandard.

On the exceptional side, the staff was all very friendly and helpful in suggesting activities and areas of Montreal to explore. The concierge had made us reservations at two restaurants when we made our room reservations... it was really outstanding that they scored us one of the window tables at Joe Beef.

Room Tip: During nicer weather, the street can get noisy. While having smaller windows, the 4th floor room are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlexF54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at Le Petit Hotel so much. The staff was warm and helpful throughout our entire stay. The rooms were comfortable and the mattresses were so comfortable. The hotel is located near great restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Our road-trip to Montreal from NYC was our first family vacation with our toddler. We picked this hotel after seeing reviews calling it both a modern boutique hotel and great for families. The two descriptions didn't necessarily go together, but this was absolutely the case. A great location in Old Montreal, and lounging near the window of the French balcony was a perfect early evening tradition. (The good people watching does mean some loudness outside your room later in the evening.) Most importantly, though, and no exaggeration: Le Petit Hotel has one of the friendliest, if not the most friendly, hotel staffs I've ever encountered. We were offered help with our luggage before I even exited the car, and by the time I arrived inside, my daughter's name had been communicated to the desk staff who welcomed her by name.

Breakfast was great - and I am thankful that my daughter was introduced to real croissants - clearly they work with a great local bakery. (And thus my daughter learned one of her first words: "possonk" - hey, close enough.) We got an "extra large room" and it really was impressive. It is not a suite, meaning there are not two rooms joined together, so instead imagine a very large room, with a table for eating, a sofa, TV, huge bed, and huge windows with lots of light. But it felt more like a small apartment than a hotel, which helped make us feel even more at home.

Note that there are steps you must go up to enter the hotel at the main entrance (tricky with a stroller), and our room also had steps going up inside the door, which is quite unusual (I'm not sure how many rooms are like this, though). Keep the latter in mind if you have a child since you may need to bring a gate for your room to protect him/her from falling down the short flight (5-6 steps) of stairs. We employed the "stay away from there, honey!" method.

I want to emphasize how friendly the staff was. If you have any worry of attitude (even justified attitude at your not speaking their language!), don't worry about it. First of all, there were people who spoke English just fine. But more importantly, they were nothing but generous in their willingness to help and we saw constant smiles every time we passed by the front desk. The hotel is not cheap (at least, for the long time we stayed), but I would stay here again in a minute. Le Petit Hotel and all those who work there played a major part in making our first family vacation together a great one, and we are very thankful to them for that.

Room Tip: Snag an extra-large room with French balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JRfromNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#8 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,626 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Bonaparte
Hotel Bonaparte
#4 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#13 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,878 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Petit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Petit Hotel

Property: Le Petit Hotel
Address: 168 rue St-Paul Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Petit Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Saint-Paul street, this 28 room boutique hotel is the perfect blend of elegance and modernity. Colourful furnishings accent each cozy room while original stonework and clever layouts make for a Wonderland-esque setting. Our concierge moonlights as a barista and our front desk fills in for a trendy little cafe. Located right in our lobby, Le Petit Cafe brews artisan joe and offers delicious baked goods all day long. Room service is also available and comes courtesy of Mechant Boeuf. Le Petit Hotel's convenient location and intimate setting make it an ideal hub for the busy weekend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Petit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing