We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Cool but could be better”
Review of Le Petit Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Petit Hotel
Ranked #5 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Yarmouth, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location, Cool but could be better”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Le Petit hotel is right in the heart of the Old City of Montreal. It’s small with only 28 rooms. Although the staff were very friendly and helpful with good restaurant and bar recommendations, the rooms themselves left something to be desired. The bath room was very small and not well lit. Room in general was dark. Bed plenty comfortable. Being in Montreal for four nights, we walked around the Old City and waterfront plenty and checked out hotels for our next stay. We found a few we would prefer to book next time.

Room Tip: Go for an upper floor room - our friends got a first floor room and the noise from a fan (HVAC?) in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    792
    212
    34
    11
    5
See reviews for
123
686
44
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Our start with this hotel wasn't great as our GPS couldn't find it (east/west street problem) but once we did it turns out it is in a great location, really central within easy walking distance to the sights, trains, the old town and lots of restaurants. The staff in the hotel were all very friendly and helpful. The room was lovely, spacious, had a fantastic shower and really lovely toiletries. The breakfast provided was also good with a nice selection and newspapers provided. They provide car parking but it is a bit expensive.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a few days before going to Quebec City. Enjoyed staying in the historical section of downtown Montreal. A stay at the hotel includes breakfast. We loved the coffee and croissants. During the day we would tour the city and then come back and discuss with the staff about a place for dinner. Everyone was very helpful. A suggestion is to go to the rooftop of Hotel Nelligan for a drink

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jupitertravel12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I travel a lot for work and to make it more exciting I always try to stay in a great preferably boutique hotel and add a day or two of vacation to all my trips.
So far I about 5 favorite hotels in the world and this is one of them.
Everything about this hotel is just perfect!
LOCATION: in most interesting part of Montreal -Old Montreal, on St.Paul's street. Part of the street is really touristy and a bit cheesy yet Le Petit is on a more quite stretch past the touristy spot.
It is also within 5-10 min from subway station and right next to the canals and bike path.

SERVICE: That is absolutely the top. Especially two guys: Carlos and Guy are super helpful and knowledgeable about the city. On the way to the room guy gave me my internet password and other info before I even asked. They prepare two bikes for us (NO CHARGE).
Someone also brought us a cupcake with caramel and vanilla frosting because it was close to my wedding anniversary.

ROOMS: Super comfortable, spacious, quite. Beautifully decorated and designed with exposed brick or stone walls. Romantic yet classy. Pure elegance. (I stayed in 412 -highly recommend!)

BREAKFAST: free and delicious-coffee, croissants, fresh fruit , yogurt all what you need to hit the town.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sylvia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Every member of the small, but passionate and energetic, staff that we encountered provided a level of service comparable to a five star hotel, trapped inside a three star body. Great suggestions for various activities and dining options.

One of our children has a severe nut allergy. When we asked about the origin of the pastries at breakfast the first of three days that we recently stayed at the hotel, we were told that they couldn't guarantee what they had was nut free or had been contaminated. We were also politely scolded for not telling them ahead of time, so that they could prepare.

When we came back to the hotel that evening, the front desk clerk politely greeted us and asked if we were in room 407 (which is the amazing family room that has been mentioned in other reviews), told us that they had secured "certified" nut free bread for our child for the next morning and were trying to get cereal too.

This was the first time that I have ever experienced this type of unsolicited service at a hotel. It only comes from a true commitment to service. Lesson learned, provide advance notice. Can't say enough great things about the hotel or the staff.

Room Tip: Room 407 perfect for family of four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cecilub2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swampscott, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We choose this hotel based on tripadviser reviews and unfortunately in this case we were disappointed. Hotel location is excellent, but this is when positives stops. Our room was “le petit”, ac extremely loud but worst of it the mattress was so old that it became a hamac and as result we had horrible night. After we complain to management next morning we were moved to another – much better room with new bed and this is reason I mark it 2 stars, not 1. Service hit or miss. One day it is excellent – another almost nonexistent. Small breakfast room left w/o clean tables. On our arrival they were very pleasant and help with luggage, but when we check out no one offer you luggage help – and you need it to navigate stairs…. And this is in hotel that charge ~$250 a night + $30 parking.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yelena U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very charming. The service it provides is better than some of the more luxury branded hotels. The rooms also have video games consoles for the children and the hotel us situated in the centre of town. Overall this hotel is great.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank kfad5757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 164 in Montreal
334 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#9 of 164 in Montreal
2,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 164 in Montreal
1,334 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 164 in Montreal
1,963 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#8 of 164 in Montreal
1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Petit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Petit Hotel

Property: Le Petit Hotel
Address: 168 rue St-Paul Ouest, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1Z7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Petit Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Saint-Paul street, this 28 room boutique hotel is the perfect blend of elegance and modernity. Colourful furnishings accent each cozy room while original stonework and clever layouts make for a Wonderland-esque setting. Our concierge moonlights as a barista and our front desk fills in for a trendy little cafe. Located right in our lobby, Le Petit Cafe brews artisan joe and offers delicious baked goods all day long. Room service is also available and comes courtesy of Mechant Boeuf. Le Petit Hotel's convenient location and intimate setting make it an ideal hub for the busy weekend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelClick, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Le Petit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing