We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“soggy pizza and poor wine”
Review of Cibo & Vino

Cibo & Vino
Ranked #2,816 of 5,822 Restaurants in Montreal
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hamilton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“soggy pizza and poor wine”
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Normally go to Arlequino but it was full due to hockey game. Walked around and found this place. Friendly service from a single overworked waiter and one person cooking suggested the reason for the undercooked thin crust pizza.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank GreatLakesroadster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    9
    5
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“The place we visit every trip to Montreal”
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Another great visit to Cibo & Vino. The server remembered us again and we spent a few minutes catching up on news since our last visit in July 2010 (see previous review). The food was excellent as always. In fact, so good that we ate here twice! We had our "regular" table in front of the window:) The food was fresh and hot and tasty. I'm sorry to read that other reviewers have not had a similiar experience. This has to be our 5th visit to this restaurant, and we've never had a bad meal or service. Special requests are handled with care and joyful acceptance. One night we sat for about 2 hours over our wine to chat, and there was no rush to get us out! Stay as long as you want, stated the server.
This IS a nice place. I've never seen the place full, but am so greatful that each year we return to montreal, that Cibo & Vino is still in business.
I don't know about the others, but we just love this place. I can't find a single thing wrong with it, and after visiting the place for over 5 years in a row, I think we'd have a pretty good idea of whether this place was a flash in the pan or not.
Thanks Gino for the wonderful grub and thanks Constantine for the great service. See you next year!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SKSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
838 reviews
375 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 344 helpful votes
“Terrible Italian food”
Reviewed 22 June 2011

We went to Cibo & Vino with a group of 8. The restaurant was totally unprepared to serve a large group and it took at least an hour to have salads and appetizers served. My goat cheese salad was OK and included iceberg lettuce and grilled vegetables, but somewhat skimpy on the goat cheese. My Napolitan Pizza was an embarrassment; a supermarket freezer pizza would have been better; crust was soggy and lacking in flavor. My companion's veal dish had an inedible pasty cream sauce. Everyone around the table only partially finished their dishes. It wasn`t a very pleasant experience.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank areview28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Don't bother unless you are a large group at the last moment”
Reviewed 27 March 2011

A group of 6 of us went to Cibo et Vino. The service was OK. The atmosphere was heavy with gloom. The quality of the food varied widely. My sauce was delicious but skimpy. What formed the final judgment was that one of us -- we had asked for separate checks -- was directed by the waiter to add a tip. She was quite young, from Florence where the "service" is included in the bill, and was very shaken. We all told her not to leave a tip -- I don't know what she did.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nauplion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“awful”
Reviewed 26 March 2011

The food was very poor quality. It was no better than frozen ready-made meal from a cheap supermarket. None of us could finish the food. The lettuce wasn't even washed. It looks like a good place from the outside, but the food is very disappointing. It's probably keeping going because it is near hotels & the conference district and poor visitors 'fall' for it. Simply avoid it.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrMidland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cibo & Vino also viewed

 

Been to Cibo & Vino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing