We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old World Charm with a view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Ranked #8 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Harvard, Illinois
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Old World Charm with a view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

From the moment I walked in the door I knew that I’d picked a great place to stay. I had an early flight so I arrived at the hotel well before check-in at 3:00. I was greeted by Mylene who told me that she suggested not changing rooms (in order to check in early) as she had given me the top floor, facing the water, in the old part of the building. Exactly what I had requested!. As most hotels do, they stored my bags so that I could go explore the city.

Once able to check in to Room 503, I opened the door and just said 'WOW'. The rustic, old world charm and beauty of the room was gorgeous. Hardwood floors, exposed brick walls, beautiful (and comfortable) bed and an inviting table in the corner in front of the open window. There was also a desk to work at and an armoire that held the flat screen TV, and mini bar.

The bathroom was equally charming and included a jetted glass shower that was absolutely marvelous! There was plenty of room to move around, more than enough towels and an array of shampoo, conditioner, lotion and soaps. There was plenty of water pressure, a welcome relief in today’s hotels of low pressure plumbing!

They offer the usual Continental Breakfast as well as your choice of an item off the breakfast menu at no charge. Fantastic! At the restaurant I had the best Fisn n’ Chips I have ever had – and I have had it in several states and cities. As it was quite windy the nite I had dinner there I moved inside, otherwise, there are several tables outside to dine at.

There is a rooftop terrace that serves drinks and hors d’oeuvres. It is open to the public as well and can get rather crowded. It offers great views of the city and the river.

As it is an old building, not a lot of extra outlets are available. I had to unplug a lamp in order to plug in my laptop while sitting by the window. This was in no way a complaint, however when I mentioned it to the front desk while chatting with Trifon and German, they immediately offered a power strip. Though I said it wasn’t necessary, within minutes of getting to my room there was a knock on the door and Fred was standing there with said power strip.

This is exactly the type of attention to detail, and guest comfort that the Auberge has to offer. Everyone that works there could not be any nicer or more accommodating. Greeting you with a smile and ‘Bonjour’ each and every time they see you and asking how your stay is and if there is anything they can do for you.

The Three Freds – the bellmen. I referred to them as Tall Fred, Middle Fred and Short Fred – in the nicest way of course! Yes, they are all named Fred as are 2 of the front desk girls named Marie! Michael one of the Concierge, is also fantastic. I had quite a bit of fun with Middle Fred and Michael, long chats with Middle Fred and several with Short and Tall Fred as well. Everyone is rather formal at first, but travelling alone, and talking to them quite a bit, they did loosen up a bit, yet remaining respectful just the same. They are all very willing to help in any way possible and make suggestions of places to go and things to see.

I can’t imagine staying anywhere else if I get to visit Old Montreal again – and I hope I do. I cannot say enough good things about the staff and the property. There simply is nothing at all negative, nothing to complain about and just a fabulous spot and fabulous people! Thank you everyone for making my first trip absolutely delightful and the best vacation ever.

Room Tip: Go for the 5th floor, facing the river and in the older section
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BostonRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AubergeDuVieuxPort, General Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review, 16 June 2012
We are very glad to hear that you had an excellent stay with us.
I will personally make sure that your kind words of your satisfaction towards the service received, will be passed to the rest of the staff as I am sure they will greatly appreciate it.
It is our goal to make sure that you have an excellent and memorable stay .

We look forward to welcome you again at the Auberge du Vieux Port.

Sincerely
Eric Therrien
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,157
    351
    74
    28
    20
See reviews for
139
1,076
50
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

My husband and I spent a night in this beautiful hotel.The location is just perfect and convenient to any attraction in old Montreal, such as Notre-Dame Basilica, and of course there are a lot of nice restaurants, bars and convenience stores around the hotel. We were lucky to upgrade our room to a river view, king size bedroom, the entire atmosphere is incredibly charming and inspiring. We had window open and enjoyed the fresh breeze, heard the sound/music from street, very cozy. We also got free drinks at terrace of top floor and overlooked the old Montreal, it was so stunning and peaceful.
Auberge Du Vieux-Port is an authentic historical building, the staff is extremely helpful and warm. I definitely will visit it again !

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TiffLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
126 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

We had a problem with our room late at night and they did their best to fix it. Without going into details I would just say that you learn more about an establishment's commitment to customer service when there is a problem and they fix it. This hotel did that. Great staff. Small rooms (tripped over the bed several times to get to the bathroom) for the money, though.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mblaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AubergeDuVieuxPort, General Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
On behalf of the Auberge du Vieux Ports team, we are glad to see that you appreciated our service and would like to let you know that it was our pleasure making sure you had an excellent time at the Auberge du Vieux Port.
I am sorry to hear that you found the room too small for what you’ve paid. I would like to reassure you that for your next stay, if there’s anything that you are unsatisfied with, please contact the front desk at all times and it would be a pleasure for my team to take care of your request. We are at all times here for you.

We look forward to welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
104 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

This hotel is perfectly situated as it is walking distance to many restaurants, bars and shops. We only stayed one night but arrived early enough to enjoy the old port area. We had originally asked to be put in a room in the old building but when we checked in, we discovered we had been placed in the newer building. Without any pressure, the hotel staff upgraded us into a room with a river view in the old building, which was really nice as they charged us for the original room price. We were put into room 401 which has nice exposed brick on two walls and the bathroom and it has two windows with great river views. The bed was queen size and very comfortable. The bathroom had a huge rain head with several jets that face you so we really enjoyed our shower in the morning.

We did take them up on the complimentary drinks on the terrace which just opened that night. The bar staff was great and the terrace itself is worth a visit. It was views of St Paul street and the river. We also loved the breakfast which is served in the bar room which is really nice room. We asked the front desk for a dinner place and they reserved us a table in Verses which was perfect for us, it's good French cuisine a short walk away. Also loved the valet parking service even though it's a bit pricey. The valet/porter Mathieu was really cool and always helpful. The only gripes we had were spotty wifi and a random freight train that rolled through at 3:09am and it felt like it never ended and reminded us of the scene from My Cousin Vinny as we had the windows open and it sounded like it was going straight through the room. Otherwise, this is our hotel next time we stay in Montreal.

Room Tip: Room #401 has great river views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gimper90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pilar
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012 via mobile

We spent a couple of nights at l'auberge, the excellent location, the attentive personnel and the cozy and spacious room made it a very pleasurable stay. Would recommend heartily if your choice is vieux montreal which i would definitely choose for tourism.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

My business attended a trade show in Montreal and several of my team stayed at this wonderful hotel. From check in to check out everything was fantastic - service, restaurant, bar, room service, concierge, valet. Nothing was too much trouble, the restaurant serves great food and the cocktails are divine. Overall a wonderful visit to Montreal made all the better by this hotel and their team. Definitely our hotel of choice for any business trip to Montreal now.

Room Tip: The port facing rooms have the better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Floyd
Level Contributor
100 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2012

From the minute we stepped foot inside this lovely building, we were overwhelmed by everything about it. I did tons of research prior to going to Canada and was looking forward to this location. It did not disappoint in any way. The staff was superb -- especially German who was kind enough to take us up to the not-yet-opened terrace and take a picture of us. Our room was lovely -- a combination of modern with a rain shower, high tech lamps and an old brick wall. We had a window to the harbor that we could throw open and watch the world go by. The bar was great fun and quite lively both nights we were there. I simply cannot say enough good things about this hotel. If you ever find yourself in Montreal, do yourself a favor and book a room here. You definitely will not regret it!

Room Tip: We had a king river view and it was gorgeous. There was loads of space, comfortable seating, the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathryne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#7 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#9 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#13 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 163 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Vieux-Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Vieux-Port

Property: Auberge du Vieux-Port
Address: 97 Rue de la Commune East, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1J1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Montreal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#18 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge du Vieux-Port 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A symbol of Old Montreal's rich history, Auberge du Vieux-Port is the area's only hotel settled along the Saint Lawrence River. The two structures that house its 45 rooms are over a century and a half old and once operated as warehouses, back when the waterway still forged city's life vein. With a classic, skillfully crafted make up, the idyllic inn's decor and architecture breathe an air of authenticity. Embrace time-honoured scenery, complemented by our team's warm, personable services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Auberge du Vieux-Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Vieux-Port Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing