We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Boutique Hotel - Great Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auberge du Vieux-Port

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Ranked #9 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic Boutique Hotel - Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

We were originally planning to stay at the Marriott in Montreal for a three night stay, but friends recommended Auberge du Vieux-Port. We are certainly glad they did! This is a delightful property on the waterfront in the old historic district, so everything is within walking distance, such as the Basilica of Notre Dame, and some of the best dining in the city. The rooms are very comfortable, be sure to get one with the original exposed brick and stone construction of what appears to have originally been a turn of the century waterfront warehouse. The rooms are updated with completely modern fixtures and amenities, the service is fantastic, all the staff were truly amazing. Whenever we go back to Montreal, there will be no other place that we will stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a second or third floor room with a waterfront view and with the original stone or brick exp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,141
    351
    74
    28
    20
See reviews for
139
1,065
49
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (459)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

I'm very late writing this review. My girlfriends and I stayed here last year during a "girls" trip to Montreal. The hotel is absolutely charming. The rooms are beautiful with exposed brick. It located in the heart of Old Montreal and walking distance to many sights, shopping and restaurants.
The service staff were very friendly and helpful. Dining at the attached restaurant was very good. We really loved our stay and will absolutely be staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyaRenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
155 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Arrived on day prior to Labor Day & told we did not get the room we asked for due to an oversight. However, we would be upgraded the next day to a king room & received 2 complimentary drinks at the rooftop bar. Rooms are large with comfortable bed & nice linen. All have exposed brick & nice tiled bathroom w/tub & shower. Rooms overlooked the river & window was open to let in the breeze. However, it also let in several enormous spiders & had to get someone from the hotel to get them on the high ceilings. They sprayed Raid (I would have rather they swatted at them). Room smelled of Raid & dead spider was found on the floor. However, a live one was in the bathroom. Was told it was the time of year for spiders in Montreal & that the lights from the front of the hotel attracted them. They should have screens on the windows & not open them so not invaded by these large monsters. Upgraded room was larger & just as nice. Elevator is extremely slow. All hotel personnel were very nice, pleasant, & helpful. They were able to get us tickets to the Botanical Gardens in advance & at a savings which was quite nice. The General Manager, Olivier, was very good to take care of us with the room upgrade, comp drinks & getting tickets to the gardens. We mostly interacted with Mathew, our valet, who was wonderful getting car for us & telling us about the city. Parking is additional but you can come & go all day for the flat rate of $28/day. Breakfast was included & it was served with self service for coffee, juice, fruit, great plain & chocolate croissants. Toaster for bread & bagels. Eggs were dry & food was just a little hot. I'm a foodie so I'm picky about this. However, there were enough items to have something different daily. Rooftop bar has a spectacular view of the port & St. Paul Street. Nice, small hotel in a great location with pretty rooms. If you decide to stay at this hotel, you'll have a nice stay but be warned about keeping windows open & letting the spiders get in.

Room Tip: High floor overlooking the port & keep the windows closed so spiders don't get inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you for taking the time to share the experience you had at the Auberge du Vieux Port.
We sincerely apologize for the situation you had and I am sure that whoever is reading this (and have a stone or brick wall in their home) would agree that it is very difficult to completely eliminate spiders especially when you have those kinds of walls.
Rest assured that your comment about the screen on the windows is taken under consideration and because of the oddly shaped historic windows, it will take some time to have them tailor-made.
It was Oliver’s pleasure to answer all your questions and help you plan the stay you had.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

This was our second stay at the Auberge. We booked a king room overlooking the river. It was a lovely room (411) well-appointed but definitely on the narrow side...we would have liked more space.It also required us to take an additional 2 small flights of steps after getting off the elevator....something to note if there is a mobility issue. As it is a lovely old building we understand why the room dimensions & placements vary dramatically. Only one elevator makes for slow journeys.It was a nice change to have the River view this time and we found it somewhat quieter than the street side we were on the last time. That could also be a result of it being September and generally a quieter time of year mid-week. We were very warmly greeted by the valet as well as the lady at reception..(sadly I cannot recall her name). Time was taken to explain things and to ask what we would be doing and how they could best facilitate our activities. We actually obtained tickets for Mosaiculture from them which worked out to be the very best price possible with a skip the line bonus.Our second evening Olivier made our dinner reservations...Particular thanks to him...a very charming and helpful gentleman.The included breakfast was fine. The crepes delicious!I would have liked to have seen fresh fruit available on the buffet counter...not just bowls of apples and oranges. Yes, we would return because we so enjoy the ambience and the non-pretentious attitude of the staff. The Auberge is quite clean BUT we both noticed a wee slide in terms of its former 'spiffiness'. Furniture nicks...marked walls...thin towels and one of the numbers missing on our door. Wonder if it still is???Bed linens were good and the bed was very comfortable.The location and staff are the main reasons we would choose to return.

Room Tip: I would ask for a larger room if possible and not to have more stairs to take after getting off the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bellasusanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings on Hudson, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Our family of four, with 2 teenaged daughters, spent 3 nights at the Auberge on a short trip to Montreal. From the moment when we called the front desk asking where to park our car (they immediately sent a staff member out to the street to help) to our checkout, the staff were all incredibly friendly and helpful. The hotel is lovely, stylish and comfortable, with a much more intimate and personal feel than other boutique hotels we've stayed in. The old port district, though very touristy, is an ideal location from which to explore Montreal, with plenty of good restaurant options within a short walk from the hotel. A highlight of our trip was renting bikes from a shop recommended to us by the concierge, a block from the hotel, and spending an entire day exploring the Canal Lachine and gorgeous St. Lawrence River parks and views.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 16Anna1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

The Auberge du Vieux-Port was a wonderful hotel. The main hotel's entrance is at 97 de la Commune Est. However, we stayed in a loft which was located only a few blocks away on the corner of St. Laurent Blvd and St. Paul St (right above a restaurant called Modavie).

The Loft: The building that the lofts are in is old, but full of character. There was no elevator/lift to get us up to the 3rd floor, so keep that in mind, you will need to walk up about 3 flights of stairs if you are on the top (3rd) floor. We stayed in room 806. In the 3rd floor hallway you can see exposed beams and what might have been gears of an old lift when before the building was remodeled into a hotel. That style was carried out through our loft. You walk in and immediately notice the exposed brick wall to the left and the giant window facing St. Laurent Blvd. The loft had a nice size and dining area as well as TV room (all open air). The main bedroom was off to the right as well as the bathroom. Against the brick wall was a beautiful staircase that led up to the loft area which had the 2nd bed, dresser and sitting area. We stayed in that room. Note- that bedroom area is completely visible from the downstairs. The ceiling is a little low, but we didn't spend a lot of time up there so it didn't bother us too much. There were three skylights in the loft, two of which were up in the upper bedroom. At night the temperature was great up there, however during a sunny day, it can heat up quite a bit. The bed was comfortable for the most part, but the king size might have been accomplished by putting two twins together. I only say that because there was an odd bump in the middle of the bed that kept my husband and I on our own sides. The window in the TV area opens wide out to the street below, allowing a wonderful breeze and the bustling sounds of the street into the room. Note- the streets can get a little loud at night, but nothing out of control. Our friends had the bedroom on the main floor. While it had a door that kept it private, it was rather small after the king size bed and dresser were added in. The bathroom was well kept, however the shower was a bit awkward (at least for us Americans). It was a typical European shower with a half door that allowed some water to escape out of the shower area while you washed.

The Staff: The limited interaction we had with the staff was wonderful. They were very polite and willing to help us out with anything we needed. The gentleman that helped us with our bags actually carried our very very heavy cooler up all those flights of stairs when we first got to the loft.

Parking: If you are bringing a car, I suggest you have the hotel staff park it for you. It's $35 a day with unlimited "in and out" access. When the staff brings you car around they get it right in front of the hotel so you don't need to wander around looking for it.

The Area: I absolutely loved the area we stayed in. We were within walking distance of a tone great restaurants and a ton of shopping.

Time of Year: We traveled over Labor Day weekend (first weekend in September). While the town was busy Saturday and most of Sunday, Labor Day Monday was very quite. Note- a lot of shops, restaurants, centers are closed on Sundays and Mondays.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 806. Nice & roomy, but has the ability to get a little loud with the noise on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BMT44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, Virginia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

I just stayed here 2 nights and received excellent service. They attend to your needs like you're the only guest in the entire hotel. The room was a double...very spacious, beautiful decor, fabulous location!

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room away from the elevator...it's very loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifera64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#7 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Quartier International
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#8 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#13 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,855 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Bonaparte
Hotel Bonaparte
#4 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Vieux-Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Vieux-Port

Property: Auberge du Vieux-Port
Address: 97 Rue de la Commune East, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1J1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Montreal
#8 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#18 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge du Vieux-Port 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A symbol of Old Montreal's rich history, Auberge du Vieux-Port is the area's only hotel settled along the Saint Lawrence River. The two structures that house its 45 rooms are over a century and a half old and once operated as warehouses, back when the waterway still forged city's life vein. With a classic, skillfully crafted make up, the idyllic inn's decor and architecture breathe an air of authenticity. Embrace time-honoured scenery, complemented by our team's warm, personable services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelClick and Agoda so you can book your Auberge du Vieux-Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Vieux-Port Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing