We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW - GREAT HOTEL AND STAFF!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Ranked #9 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2013

My husband and I spent two nights at this hotel prior to embarking on a cruise. I chose the hotel because of it's proximity to the cruise port as well as for the charm of the place. The room and bath were beautiful - exactly as shown and described. Very large spaces, both of them. The room was in good repair, had plenty of towels and bath amenities, the jetted tub was huge, we had a view onto the street and across to the docks, and the bike path we wanted to enjoy was right out front. Behind the hotel the entire street was lined with interesting little restaurants. We enjoyed walking each evening, perusing the menus and then choosing what sounded best. The staff at the hotel was very helpful, always providing everything we needed. They even called and reserved seats for us on the Hop On Hop Off Bus which has a stop conveniently located a few blocks away. They gave great directions, too! We enjoyed the daily complimentary breakfast which included breads, fruits, yogurt and a choice of hot entree as well as coffee and teas. Complimentary coffee and teas were also available throughout the day in the bar area right off the lobby. We really enjoyed every aspect of this hotel and the city of Montreal and will certainly return to stay again. Thank you!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mertzmaher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,750)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

970 - 976 of 1,750 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

Excellent service from all the staff. Besides a great location in the heart of Old Montreal, very nice rooms, what impressed us the most was the friendly and caring staff at this fine hotel. Our trip was twofold, one to visit Montreal and the other to bike around Montreal on the many bike paths offered there. Since we brought our bikes from NJ, our concern was safe keeping of our bikes and easy access to them during our stay. Valet Parking is offered but the location is a few streets away from the hotel (this should not be a concern as they get the cars very quickly if needed). The front desk staff and valet on duty at the time suggested that they can keep the bikes in a locked room only a few feet from the front desk. This is the way to treat customers. Again thanks to the entire staff for making our stay in your hotel a pleasurable one.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Would reccomend this hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful. Almost bent over backwards. Breakfast needs some help. Adaquate food but slow service. Would stay there again if I were in town. Housekeeping very efficient and through. Noise from the street can be a problem.

1  Thank Herbert B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I was upgraded to a huge room, gorgeous! Modern, but still had the old Montreal charm to it. The room was clean, came with all amenities, and still very modern!

The location is amazing, walking distance to everything in old Montreal.

We did not eat at the hotel, but had drinks at the bar, and it was great!

We used the facilities downstairs for a business meeting, and catering was great, as was A/V, etc.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Djgoldma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Excellent service from all staff who were very helpful. Room was great and the shower out of this world. Close to the old town with lots of restaurants close at hand. Breakfast was lovely served in a very relaxed way in the bar. Pancakes were made to order and there were other items to select from. Would certainly return if we stay in Montreal again.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank GeM1403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and were very pleased to have done so. I had booked a room overlooking the old port and that is what we got, on the 4th floor. The view was extensive, although you could only see a short stretch of the St Lawrence; most of it is hidden behind an island. The room was very quiet, but one word of caution: a railway line runs along the front a few yards away, and although it does not seem to be heavily used, there seemed to be one very, very long freight train that rumbled through every night in the middle of the night. It was not particularly loud, but the never-ending rumble woke me every night! One other slight irritant concerned the lift/elevator. It was probably the slowest I have ever come across, and since there was only the one, you could expect to wait for it for a considerable time.

Lest this all seem rather negative, let me say that the bedroom was a decent size, the bed very comfortable, the bathroom very well equipped, the shower very powerful, and everything immaculate. The inclusive buffet breakfast was good - although the flasks of coffee seemed to run out rather quickly - and there were cooked items available if you wanted them. All the staff we encountered were unfailingly friendly and helpful.

As for sightseeing - the whole purpose of our stay - the hotel is well situated in the historic heart of Montreal, and there are literally dozens of places to eat within 3 or 4 minutes walk. On the other hand, if you want to explore further afield, the Museum of Fine Arts say, or the Olympic Stadium complex, you will probably have to use the metro. Not a great problem for us, but it will take you 10-15 minutes to walk to the nearest station. Unfortunately the hotel is midway between two of them. Don't miss Mont Royale for a fantastic view over the city, but that will require both the metro and a bus ride (unless you are feeling energetic and want to walk up!)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Puffin77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Dear Guest,
We’re all glad to hear that you enjoyed your time in Montreal and loved the Auberge du Vieux Port.
I reassure you that the elevator is something that management is looking into and agree that it is very slow. We apologize about that.
We are looking forward to welcome you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The hotel staff were exceptionally friendly, and the service excellent. I enjoyed the old world charm, but my wife thought it was small and cramped. Our room was on the first floor and had some traffic noise. Breakfast was great, and the bar is lively at night. Just walk out the back door and you are in the middle of the pedestrian old port area, with great restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrSirTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#8 of 165 in Montreal
2,421 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,202 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#5 of 165 in Montreal
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,368 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
2,036 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Vieux-Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Vieux-Port

Address: 97 Rue de la Commune East, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1J1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Montreal
#8 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#18 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: £125 - £334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge du Vieux-Port 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A symbol of Old Montreal's rich history, Auberge du Vieux-Port is the area's only hotel settled along the Saint Lawrence River. The two structures that house its 45 rooms are over a century and a half old and once operated as warehouses, back when the waterway still forged city's life vein. With a classic, skillfully crafted make up, the idyllic inn's decor and architecture breathe an air of authenticity. Embrace time-honoured scenery, complemented by our team's warm, personable services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Auberge du Vieux-Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Vieux-Port Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing