We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, convenient, gorgeous hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Ranked #9 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly, convenient, gorgeous hotel”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I loved this hotel. The staff were incredible, the building itself was amazing and gorgeous, and the location couldn't be beat. I would easily stay here again: the bed, the room, the ambience, the view... all amazing.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guido S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Monsieur Guido S,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on here.
We’re glad to that you’ll easily stay with us again at the Auberge du Vieux Port, for your next visit to Montreal.
On behalf of the entire team, we look forward to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,702 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,214
    360
    77
    31
    20
See reviews for
149
1,125
51
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

It has been a week since we traveled to Montreal for the first time and the city was amazing. Sadly the weather wasn't but this past Winter has never ended and we were so used to the snow. The Auberge Du Vieux-Port was amazing and I owe it all once again to the Trip Advisor community for convincing me from day 1 this was the place to stay in Montreal.

The Hotel is quaint and romantic. The rooms were beautiful and staff is incredible. Fred and Veronica were the best at what they do. Fred was very friendly from the moment we parked out front and Veronica was always willing to help and give us advice. They always said "please, bother us, we are here for you."

The Gaspar was a great place to go and grab drinks and have a delicious breakfast in the morning which was free!! Wifi in the rooms was shabby but you got great service in the lobby, that was my only gripe but I wont knock the hotel was wifi service.


The housekeeping staff were amazing: I left my watch and wedding band in the bathroom counter and forgot about it as we left. I realized soon after and panicked and we returned back to the hotel 2 hours later to see the room cleaned and the ring and watch were neatly placed on the counter top. That right there put me at complete ease with this hotel, most places would of stolen my watch and ring. Great Staff you guys got there!!!

We want to come back again in the summer.. Thank you for an amazing Montreal experience :)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EBal24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Guest,
It has been a week too long that we haven’t seen you at the Auberge du Vieux Port. I guarantee when you come back this summer, it will be nice and hot.
I will let the Front Desk, Housekeeping and the Gaspar staff know that you appreciated there service. Together, we try our best to make you feel like you are home and at ease during your experience with us.
We look forward to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhinebeck, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Every March when we, as professors, have our break in mid-March we head to the Auberge du Vieux Port in the heart of old town Montreal. The staff are truly exceptional - impeccably professional, courteous, knowledgeable and personable. It is wonderful to see the same friends at their posts each year when we return. We have always stayed on the lower floors of the original hotel that have high, beamed ceilings and large, beautifully appointed rooms. Everything is immaculately clean. The public space on the ground floor, hallways and rooms all contribute to the warm and classically-French atmosphere. The restaurant, which also has a terrific staff, serves a great breakfast menu and is a good place for a beer or cocktail in the evening.

Room Tip: We love the rooms on the lower floors with the beamed ceilings. Either side is quiet and pleasant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DKLavallee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Dear Guest,
We thank you for being a loyal Guest at the Auberge du Vieux Port.
On behalf of the Auberge and the Restaurant Staff, we’re glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and appreciated our service.
We will see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

My husband and I are in our early 40's and had such a wonderful three night stay! I travel often for business so have stayed in a lot of hotels - the charm and personalized service at Auberge du Vieux-Port is top notch. We had room 503 facing the water and were happy that the on-line pictures accurately depicted the old world charm. The room had wireless internet, was clean, quiet, comfortable, and I loved the glorious rain shower in the bathroom. The staff were young and friendly, spoke both English and French, and made excellent suggestions and reservations for us. I was impressed that the attached restaurant/bar served full breakfast daily (choice of omelets, french toast, crepes, etc.) along with a coffee/snack bar all included in our stay. We had delicious steak dinner there as well and took in the DJ on Thurs eve with a younger crowd. We did see couples of all ages throughout our stay. The location could not have been better - we walked all over Old Montreal and took the subway 2 stops to the Bell Centre for a Canadiens game. We also went to the Rainspa at Le Place d'Armes (part of the same hotel group) for both swedish massage and hammas steam room which was complimentary with purchase of the massage. There was no onsite swimming or fitness facility at Auberge. We took cabs to and from the airport so not sure if or where there would be parking. We had an unforgettable stay! Would love to return in the summer, they have a roof top restaurant and I am sure the waterfront would be even more beautiful.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better view. The front of the building faces the port, the back faces a cobblest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank N0rth40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear N0rth40,
It is a great pleasure to hear that you had a wonderful and unforgettable stay with us at the Auberge du Vieux Port.
It’s nice to see that you took advantage of all the services and amenities we offer. I will make sure to let the Gaspar Tavern Management know that you also had a great time and a great meal there.
We would love to have you stay with us again this summer and if you decide to come with your car, we do provide to all of the Guests Valet service.
Merci beaucoup for your nice comment!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collingwood, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I lived in Montreal for 4 years and I have stayed here 2 or 3 times before when visiting. It is absolutely beautiful. The staff are very friendly! They go above and beyond. I have stayed in the apartment style, and the regular rooms - both did not disappoint. Definitely my favourite place to stay while visiting Montreal. I recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcjay j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your beautiful comment and for always coming back to stay with us at the Auberge du Vieux Port.
On behalf of the Staff we are glad to hear that you will be back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This hotel tops my list for personal, caring, generous service and quiet atmosphere. The window views to the port are wonderful, the place is spotless and the entire staff makes you feel like nothing is too much to ask. An upbeat, cheerful stay with high regard for your comfort zone. They know your name, they listen to your requests for information and you end up relaxed and feeling pampered. My wife and I will return soon for our 4th visit. Can't happen soon enough for me!

Room Tip: Rooms on the port side have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank william m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Monsieur William m,
On behalf of the entire team; Thank you for always coming back to stay with us at the Auberge du Vieux Port.
Feeling pampered and relaxed is our goal and we are glad to hear that we’ve achieved it.
Don’t wait too long, come back and see us very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We planned a 2-night late-winter get away in Vieux Montréal and discovered Auberge Du Vieux-Port due to its location. It is smack in the middle of the old part of Montreal. As we took the train, we were able to take a short cab ride from the station to the hotel, then explored the old city on foot, never needing another vehicle until it was time to go. The room we stayed in was so gorgeous, we found excuses during the day to pop back and enjoy it as much as we could. The hotel has been restored with modern tastes in mind, but with the extra time and care it takes to retain old structural surfaces (wood, brick, stone). The hot breakfast was a welcome perk--included in the price of our stay. And I can't say enough about the cheerful, helpful staff. They didn't just work there--they extended hospitality. This place is a gem.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CuminOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Guest,
It’s nice to hear that you really took advantage of the fact that everything is walking distance from the Auberge du Vieux Port.
The building was built in the 1800’s and we did restore and renovated a lot of it yet kept the original beams to leave that rustic chic feeling.
All the staff can say that we come to work feeling that we are coming home and we are glad that we made you feel comfortable and had a fabulous time with us.
We look forward to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#6 of 164 in Montreal
2,332 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#8 of 164 in Montreal
2,133 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 164 in Montreal
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#13 of 164 in Montreal
1,979 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 164 in Montreal
1,341 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#4 of 164 in Montreal
1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Vieux-Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Vieux-Port

Property: Auberge du Vieux-Port
Address: 97 Rue de la Commune East, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1J1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Montreal
#8 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#18 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge du Vieux-Port 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A symbol of Old Montreal's rich history, Auberge du Vieux-Port is the area's only hotel settled along the Saint Lawrence River. The two structures that house its 45 rooms are over a century and a half old and once operated as warehouses, back when the waterway still forged city's life vein. With a classic, skillfully crafted make up, the idyllic inn's decor and architecture breathe an air of authenticity. Embrace time-honoured scenery, complemented by our team's warm, personable services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Auberge du Vieux-Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Vieux-Port Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing