We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel. Great location near the port.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Ranked #9 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice hotel. Great location near the port.”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We arrived at Auberge on May 14, 2014 late afternoon. The cab ride from the airport was $40 Canadian. Our room, 204, has a view of a side street. It is pretty quiet, even during business hours. The bed, a Beautyrest, is very comfortable. The room has a high ceiling and a brick wall behind the bed. There is free wifi for guests. Are drinks downstairs in Gaspar pricey? You decide. Jack and Coke: $9. Gin and tonic: $10. I highly recommend Auberge du Vieux Port.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DianeTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Bonjour,
We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience you had with us.
We’re thankful for that and look forward to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,706 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,218
    360
    77
    31
    20
See reviews for
149
1,129
51
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ambler, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2014

My husband and I just stayed at this hotel and loved it! The staff, Veronica, Lara, Renee and their colleagues went above and beyond to make our stay a memorable one. The room was romantic and overlooked the St Lawrence River. They also included a hot breakfast every day which was delicious in their on premise restaurant. Located in the heart of Old Montreal, everything was just outside the front or back doors. You will not be disappointed staying at this great hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river. Room 503 was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustinBaronsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear JustinBaronsMom,
On behalf of the entire staff, thank you for mentioning us, it reassures us that you had a memorable time.
It is our pleasure to make sure you leave us wanting to come back and it would be a pleasure to have you stay with us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I loved the decor of this hotel -- exposed brick, romantic iron headboards & views of Old Montreal. Really great location for meandering the charming blocks and exploring the great dining scene. I found the staff very helpful and polite. I recommend the hotel highly for those looking to experience historic Montreal but incorporate some of its modern restaurants & bars.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dlcuratolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Bonjour,
The good restaurants are in the old Montreal and we’re really happy to hear that you enjoyed it all.
We appreciate you taking the time to write about your experience you had at the Auberge du Vieux Port.
Merci
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

From the minute we stepped out of the taxi we were greeted by Frederic who was extremely friendly and accommodating. The same was true for everyone at the concierge. We stayed in a river view room with all of the old charm of Quebec but with modern facilities. The room came with a free buffet breakfast and one item from the menu. Breakfast was served in their restaurant Gaspar - also a great spot for a night cap and dessert. The hotel was centrally located and definitely a great location to walk anywhere in town. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a great couples getaway.

Room Tip: I use trip advisor all of the time to get great information from people like myself and would recomm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MPP1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Guest,
On behalf of the entire family at the Auberge du Vieux Port, we’re happy to hear that you felt welcomed and that you had a memorable time.
Thank you for recommending us and we do hope to also have you come back for your next romantic getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
402 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I like this Auberge- it's my second stay here- and again I stayed for 3 nights. The greeting is great on arrival. Fred, the smiling and helpful, has been here both years as I arrive and he's a real gem. My room was not ready when I arrived and it literally was not available until the stroke of 3:00pm even though I was told the people had checked out at 11:30 am. Except for Fred, the other hotel staff were polite but not terribly warm. Definite change from last year when I felt truly welcomed across the board. My room was one floor below last year's-- a river view- but I have to say the room looked a little worn out. Still great post and beam ceiling, lovely view, but the walls needed paint, the bathroom needed a little updating, the amenities were okay but not nearly as nice as what I'd just experienced in Quebec City. However, maybe I'm being picky. At the end of the day, the location is terrific, the bed is comfortable and clean, and the TV worked. Taverne Gaspar, their restaurant, serves breakfast which is included with your room charge. Wait staff is not great in the morning- either understaffed so service is slow, or they are fooling around giggling with each other and not really paying attention. My server this morning asked me THREE TIMES (not kidding) what my room number was. The hotel needs a little $ and attention- still nice- but it's getting dated and shown up by other hotels in Quebec.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Localgirl0330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Bonjour Madame,
I would like to start by thanking you for taking the time to share your experience you had at the Auberge du Vieux Port.
The front desk Staff is always willing to have or assign a room that is ready earlier then the time it’s guaranteed; rest assured that it was not done intentionally.
As for the restaurant Staff, I will pass the information to the Manager because something like that is not acceptable and it is not something that often happens.
We do hope to welcome you for a third time very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
U.S.
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had reserved a room at Le Petit Hotel for our 3rd night in Montreal, but were asked to move to Auberge (their sister hotel). We were glad we did. The staff were very nice. The room itself (201) was absolutely beautiful with wood floors, stone walls, old beams and 2 parisian-style windows that opened to a view of the river. The bathroom was very modern with a stand-up shower and waterfall shower head. The bed was very comfortable if you like a soft mattress. It was worth it to use the valet service rather than try to find parking. The hotel elevator tends to be a little slow, but we didn't mind using the stairs, being on the second floor. Also, the location couldn't be better, with the main square just around the corner, and everything else in Old Montreal within walking distance. We really enjoyed it here and will return on future visits.

Room Tip: International travelers can get a refund on certain taxes, such as those charged for lodging in Cana...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Dear Guest,
As we all say, everything happens for a reason and we’re glad that everything was excellent during the time you spent with us at the Auberge du Vieux Port.
We look forward to welcome you back during your next visit to Montreal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I stayed at the Auberge du Viex-Port for 3 nights, it was a very good experience, the staff was very polite, organized and willing to do anything to make their clients happy. The room was impecable and it was close to everything. I recommend this hotel to anyone that wants to be in the middle of the old Montreal which has the best restaurants and bars in town!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pietro R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Monsieur Pietro R,
We’re glad to see that your three night stay bat the Auberge du Vieux Port was excellent.
Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,347 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#8 of 165 in Montreal
2,135 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#3 of 165 in Montreal
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,343 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
1,983 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#4 of 165 in Montreal
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Vieux-Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Vieux-Port

Property: Auberge du Vieux-Port
Address: 97 Rue de la Commune East, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1J1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Montreal
#8 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#18 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge du Vieux-Port 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A symbol of Old Montreal's rich history, Auberge du Vieux-Port is the area's only hotel settled along the Saint Lawrence River. The two structures that house its 45 rooms are over a century and a half old and once operated as warehouses, back when the waterway still forged city's life vein. With a classic, skillfully crafted make up, the idyllic inn's decor and architecture breathe an air of authenticity. Embrace time-honoured scenery, complemented by our team's warm, personable services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Auberge du Vieux-Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Vieux-Port Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing