We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Ranked #8 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Deptford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not disappointed”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I was not sorry at all staying at this hotel. It was very clean and comfortable. The staff were so friendly and helpful. They could not do enough for us. This made it even a better stay.
Next time in Montreal I would book again for my stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Madame Nancy D,
We’re also not sorry that you chose the Auberge du Vieux Port.
Thank you for that and thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
We’re glad to hear that next time you are in Montreal; you will be staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,184
    356
    74
    30
    20
See reviews for
144
1,100
51
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is the place to be for Montreal fireworks season...the view from the terrace is stunning!
A must visit for locals and tourists alike. Highly recommended...excellent bar staff, great DJ.
Need I say more?

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Bonjour,
The roof top terrace of the Auberge is known to have a direct view to the fireworks and the Gaspar Tavern, which is the restaurant attached to the Auberge, has great D.J’S.
We try to satisfy all Guests needs by trying different things every night.
What we would like you to say more, is that you will be back to stay with us very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moultonborough, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My husband and I had a wonderful 3 days in Montreal with Auberge as our base. From the minute we arrived, Frederick - who met us at our car - worked to make us comfortable and informed us of all Montreal and the Auberge had to offer. He was so friendly and enthusiastic and went above and beyond at every point in our stay - retrieving an item left in our car, suggesting that we could get a map of Montreal at the desk, explaining about the rooftop bar/restaurant and the surrounding dock area. Patrick, Michael, and Lara at the desk were also friendly and very helpful. We found the hotel to be charming - our room was very comfortable and we enjoyed looking out our window to the pedestrian walkway below with all the quaint sidewalk restaurants. We were close enough to the Metro to explore Montreal. We loved having drinks and tapas on the rooftop terrace, loved exploring the park and port across the street from the Auberge. Breakfast in the hotel restaurant was excellent. We will definitely return to the Auberge and recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest,
It’s a great pleasure to hear that you appreciated the service provided by the Auberge’s team. It is our pleasure to be here for you and answer any questions you may have.
We look forward to have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2014


Having once enjoyed the old and charming Auberge with its exposed brick & spacious rooms, we were so disappointed to be led to the "newly renovated addition" which involves the longest elevator wait to reach the 4th floor and a long walk and a descent of 13 stairs to a cubby hole of room with no view, and not one exposed brick. There are two old support beams to authenticate "the charm" - one awkwardly in the middle of the tiny room and the other in front of the toilet so one has to sit on an angle to avoid a bumped knee. The one-time signature welcoming complimentary wine and cheese happy hour in the old main floor bar has been scrapped with the reno, which, in turning the lounge into a seating area, made no effort or expense to gussy up the hotel reception - literally a very unimpressive desk with a chair. Guests can now mingle over $12 cocktails on the roof top Terrasse, accessible to all of Montreal by the one, slow hotel elevator. (We are fortunately fit enough to take the stairs or we'd still be waiting to get to our 4th floor room.) The reno is not well thought out, resulting in a rabbit warren maze to access the new part. The featured multi-jet shower system is too complicated & requires space shuttle savvy or at least an instruction manual as evidenced by the fact that the handle comes off in one's hand (yanked once too often by guests trying to make it work.)
We are generally disappointed. It's clear the Auberge has sold its soul in the interest of the almighty tourist buck.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth5757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest,
We thank you for taking the time to share your experience you had at the Auberge du Vieux Port.
Rest assured that we’re aware on the elevator being slow and that we’re trying to adjust it as much as possible, always keeping in mind that the building is from the 1800’s.
We did expand of 18 more rooms and the lounge area is in transition to satisfy all Guests needs.
We apologize if this experience was not as memorable as the last ones and hope that you will still come back to see us. When you do, please don’t hesitate to contact me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garland, Maine
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This was our second time staying at the Auberge over the Grand Prix weekend. It is a wonderful place to stay in Old Montreal. Central to transportation the Metro being a short walk one way and the ferry the same distance the other way. Nicely appointed rooms with a marvelous shower and wonderful big towels and the most comfortable bed ever! But the big plus is the staff. Everyone was more professional, more polite, more helpful more welcoming than I have ever dealt with anywhere. Ever, Anywhere. Kudos to all! The included breakfast looks good but we are more tea and cereal types but that was great ,too But.......this year there was an issue. Noise. Unfortunately there were DJ's playing loud dance music until past midnight both on the terrace and in the adjacent tavern both Friday and Saturday night. It was so bad on Friday we got up and put in the complimentary ear plugs in. I assumed they were there to take to the track but now I wonder! We stayed out late on Saturday so we wouldn't have to listen to it. We would love to stay again next year but we'll have to wait and see.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Monsieur Bruce W.
It’s always a pleasure for us to welcome you at the Auberge du Vieux Port.
Grand Prix is such a busy and happening weekend that being well located could be a good thing as well as it could be a bad thing.
We do hope to see you stay with us next year during the Grand Prix 2015.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We spent a night here for our honeymoon in April. What a great decision on the part of my husband! The Inn itself is very beautiful - with exposed brick walls and old-fashioned outward opening windows. Very romantic.
What impressed us the most was the service we received at the Inn. Fred was the valet and he was so kind, genuine and helpful. I can't remember the name of the Concierge! I want to say it was Michael? He was funny, kind and eager to point us in the right direction or help out however he could. Overall, it was a great stay and we would definitely go back. Thank you, Auberge du Vieux-Port!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest, We thank you for choosing the Auberge du Vieux Port for your special night.
On behalf of the entire team, we’re sincerely happy to hear that you had an excellent time and we look forward to welcome you back for your anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Fantastic service, beautiful room, lovely location. We were greeted warmly, and despite the lateness of our arrival Lara the concierge went above and beyond in recommending restaurants, actually calling a place to make sure their kitchen was still open. Not only were we given a comprehensive introduction to the hotel, we were also given a grand introduction to Old Montreal. Thank you!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Bonjour,
We’re glad to hear that you had a fantastic time during your stay with us.
I will let Lara know that you reapply appreciated her service.
It was a pleasure for her and everyone to make sure you were well informed and all your requests are answered, for you to leave with an excellent memory of the Auberge du Vieux Port.
We hope to welcome you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#9 of 164 in Montreal
2,092 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 164 in Montreal
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#5 of 164 in Montreal
1,041 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 164 in Montreal
1,930 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 164 in Montreal
1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Vieux-Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Vieux-Port

Property: Auberge du Vieux-Port
Address: 97 Rue de la Commune East, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1J1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Montreal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#18 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge du Vieux-Port 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A symbol of Old Montreal's rich history, Auberge du Vieux-Port is the area's only hotel settled along the Saint Lawrence River. The two structures that house its 45 rooms are over a century and a half old and once operated as warehouses, back when the waterway still forged city's life vein. With a classic, skillfully crafted make up, the idyllic inn's decor and architecture breathe an air of authenticity. Embrace time-honoured scenery, complemented by our team's warm, personable services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, TravelClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Auberge du Vieux-Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Vieux-Port Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing