We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Montreal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Ranked #9 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Very nice accommodations. The staff is attentive and friendly. Taverne Gaspar was wonderful for cocktails and dinner. View fireworks from the 5th Floor on Wednesdays. The rear entrance places you on Rue Saint-Paul EST near Jacque Cartier Plaza. So beautiful. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,751)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

843 - 849 of 1,751 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in room 203 (king suite facing the river). My girlfriend was so surprised at how beautiful the room was. Brick walls, wooden ceiling beams and neatly decorated with antique furnishings. It was a bit pricey, $300+ per night, but the location and service was unbeatable. Great, friendly and helpful staff, and quick valet car retrieval. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Bonjour,
At the Auberge du Vieux Port, all of the rooms are different when it comes to brick, stone...
We’re glad to hear that you liked yours and that you appreciated the service provided by the staff.
We definitely would love to have you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Had a great stay at the Auberge du Vieux-Port. Stayed in one of the rooms facing the water with exposed brick. It was spacious, luxurious, and comfortable. The breakfast was fantastic. We liked that it was a small hotel, and got to know the staff. It felt very personalized. Since it is such a small hotel, they have limited staff. The first day it took a bit to check in, and then to get our car. I just had to remember I was on vacation, and there to relax...and hanging out in the lobby was relaxing.

Room Tip: Grab a room in the old part of the hotel. From talking with other hotel guests, those seem to be nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYSinger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Guest,
We’re glad that you had an excellent time with us at the Auberge du Vieux Port.
We do apologize for the delay upon your arrival and when asking for the car.
We hope to have you stay with us again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My family and I typically visit Old Montreal every summer. I must say that we were more than impressed with the overall level of customer service offered by the staff at this hotel. The hotel is obviously quite historic and charming, and the rooms were quite unique, spacious and nicely appointed. Food was excellent at the main floor restaurant and the roof-top restaurant offers a very nice view of the waterfront. Only area of possible improvement relating to the restaurants would be the timing of service (could be a bit quicker). The location is in the heart of Old Montreal and the hotel. We will be absolutely planning to return to this hotel next summer.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkusJitsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Situated on the waterfront in the middle of the old town, this has the charm of a French auberge, but with spacious rooms that are stylish and modern. The staff were very pleasant and helpful and the breakfast included was very tasty (we liked the eggs benedict).

Our room was one of the 'loft' rooms, with exposed beams and girders and it looked out over a pedestrian street to the rear of the hotel which had several bars and restaurants situated on it.

Top tip: make sure you go to the top floor terrace bar for a drink and nibbles; it overlooks the city and on Weds and Sats you get a good view of the fireworks (sadly we missed these as we were only there for 2 days).

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank sjmmarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I did not stay at the main hotel. I stayed at the loft on the top floor above the steak house. There are 5 flights of stairs so if you mind stairs reconsider staying at the main hotel. Aside from that the loft was fantastic. Also the location was perfect and the staff very friendly. I would stay here again in a heartbeat just based on location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 52mini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Guest,
At the Auberge du Vieux Port we have rooms that are in the main building and Lofts that are located in different buildings right across the street behind us. It’s more of an independent feeling for you yet always with a four star service.
We’re glad that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We just returned from a 4 night stay at the Auberge du Vieux Port. Staff were extremely friendly, in particular Veronique, Michal & Frederic. Our first room was on the small side so we asked if we could change & were given a much larger room the next day. Although rather noisy at night (July 4th weekend & World Cup games) we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Nice that they included breakfast in the morning. Easy access to the Metro line & all that Montreal has to offer!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peachlanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#8 of 165 in Montreal
2,423 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,203 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#5 of 165 in Montreal
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,368 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
2,036 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Vieux-Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Vieux-Port

Address: 97 Rue de la Commune East, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1J1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Montreal
#8 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#18 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: £126 - £332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge du Vieux-Port 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A symbol of Old Montreal's rich history, Auberge du Vieux-Port is the area's only hotel settled along the Saint Lawrence River. The two structures that house its 45 rooms are over a century and a half old and once operated as warehouses, back when the waterway still forged city's life vein. With a classic, skillfully crafted make up, the idyllic inn's decor and architecture breathe an air of authenticity. Embrace time-honoured scenery, complemented by our team's warm, personable services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Auberge du Vieux-Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Vieux-Port Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing