We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If You Like Authenticity.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Ranked #9 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Small and charming in an old world way this hotel reflects the Old City's virtues with its central location and port views.Do not miss the roof top terrace drinks,bar food and vista. Hotel staff are warm,efficient and most accommodating. Easy to get around the city from this location.

Room Tip: highest floor with a port view
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobWestVillager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,730)
There are newer reviews for Auberge du Vieux-Port
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

802 - 808 of 1,730 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

We booked room 410 overlooking the old port. Advertised as a Deluxe with a view, it had a nice king bed with funky decor. There was an odd coffee stain on the mattress, though. The room is also long and narrow--so if you like to spread out, this may not be the room for you. The elevator is slow--when we took the stairs, I accidentally put my hand into wet plaster in the stairway (it wasn't marked). Still, the staff is very friendly, the location is perfect and the included breakfast is very good. And while you are there, be sure to head over to Bota Bota...that place is amazing!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbenhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This quirky hotel was well run , the staff very attentive and we had a great room .

The doorman/ concierge was a real star who looked after us very well , and remembered our requirements every time we saw him.
We had one of the old rooms on the first floor- looking out over the marina . Well it was a fair size , nice shower room- no bath and well appointed with toiletries and towels.
On the other hand the A/C controls never seemed to work, the windows , double glazed sash needed replacements as they were opaque !
The bed was excellent , and comfortable king size. but no coffee making facilities in the room ?
The free coffee in the lobby had to be free, you couldn't charge for that!
nice roof top bar and snack area with great views. Good bar at ground floor , where you also have your breakfast which was generous in size although nothing great.
Hotel was politely quirky , slightly well worn in places , but we would use it again.

Room Tip: river view rooms are good but beware the early morning trains rumbling by early in the mornings.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MARCSMIFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the entire team at the Auberge du Vieux Port, we thank you for sharing your experience.
Your comments are important to us, it is how we grow to perfect even more the service provided.
We look forward to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed in the loft #605 at this hotel which was just perfect for our family of five. There are two separate bedrooms, a large open area, a full kitchen and two complete bathrooms. The loft was recently renovated and is bright (with skylights in most of the rooms) and contemporary. The beds were extremely comfortable with large duvets as coverings. Flat screen tvs in both bedrooms and the sitting area.

The loft is in a separate building from the main hotel - a short walk around the block - and it is accessed by walking up several flights of stairs. Keep this in mind if you have members of your family for whom this would be an issue.

The location was perfect - the loft was quiet, yet located just steps away from Place Jacques Cartier and the Old Port souvenir stores and restaurants. The people at the hotel were wonderfully nice (Lara and Michael) and very helpful with suggestions, directions, etc.
For a family of five, willing and able to walk up the stairs, this was the perfect choice for our stay in Montreal.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nancyd3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My boyfriend and I drove up from visiting family in Vermont to spend a couple of days alone in Montreal. We were only staying one night, and he wanted to find a special spot in the heart of the Old Port - well he did! Auberge du Vieux-Port was everything we could have wanted (and didn't know we did) from start to end. Our room was absolutely beautiful - the exposed beams and en-suite fireplace set an atmosphere of rustic romance, and the giant jacuzzi tub was lovely to come home to after an evening walking the town.
We have both traveled extensively (and I have worked in the hospitality industry), and agreed that the service at Auberge was hands-down the best we have ever had. The staff anticipated our every need and offered their assistance with genuine care.
We would most certainly recommend to other travelers, and hope to return again one day!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Rue Saint Paul and you'll enjoy street music early in the evening and...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 926courtneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Perfect location in the old port of Montreal. The hotel has a lot of style, and wooden floors which is perfect for anyone with allergies. Reception and valet were great... The shower in the room was excellent. The view is perfect. Would highly recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This hotel is one of the best in all of Montreal, particularly if you want a romantic stay. Located in the heart of Old Montreal, it is one of the few where you can actually have a view of the St. Lawrence River. The room was well appointed and very comfortable. The staff is extremely attentive and helpful. The complimentary breakfast at the adjoining Taverne Gaspar is a nice benefit and the food was delicious. I highly recommend the Auberge du Vieux-Port!

Room Tip: Book one of the Premier King River Front rooms on a higher floor. You get a great view and the jacu...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ChristopherB76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael C, Guest Relations Manager at Auberge du Vieux-Port, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Bonjour Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience you had with us.
We’re also thankful that you will recommend the Auberge du Vieux Port and we do also hope to have you come back and stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,384 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,177 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#5 of 165 in Montreal
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,356 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
2,006 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Vieux-Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Vieux-Port

Address: 97 Rue de la Commune East, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1J1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Montreal
#8 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#18 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: £127 - £368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge du Vieux-Port 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A symbol of Old Montreal's rich history, Auberge du Vieux-Port is the area's only hotel settled along the Saint Lawrence River. The two structures that house its 45 rooms are over a century and a half old and once operated as warehouses, back when the waterway still forged city's life vein. With a classic, skillfully crafted make up, the idyllic inn's decor and architecture breathe an air of authenticity. Embrace time-honoured scenery, complemented by our team's warm, personable services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Auberge du Vieux-Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Vieux-Port Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing