We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel - amazing breakfasts!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Ranked #8 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hotel - amazing breakfasts!”
Reviewed 28 January 2011

We stayed here for the first part of our honeymoon in December - room was great - huge size, and fantastic view over the port. Despite the freezing temperatures of Montreal winter, it was always warm inside the room. The staff were very friendly and helpful, and the breakfasts included in the room price were just amazing. We did not eat in the hotel restaurant at night, but the breakfast waiting staff gave fantastic service, we were very impressed. The hotel is about 10 minutes walk from a metro stop, but it was part of the attraction of the place to be in the old town and not right in the bustle of the city. Decor was slightly rustic but still pretty smart - felt a lot more comfortable than in one of the ultrachic boutique hotels that are very close by. Expect that it is very different in summer - being in winter meant it was pretty quiet, and no problem getting a table in restaurants/looking around the tourist areas. Loads of places to eat within a few minutes walk - Les 3 Brasseurs particularly good pub and the SteakHouse Vieux Port was also good. Great start to our honeymoon!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKtraveller097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,176
    352
    74
    30
    20
See reviews for
144
1,092
50
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2010

This was my first trip to Montreal and from the moment I walked in, Julia at the front desk made me feel like I was a guest in her home.

Julia oriented me to the subway (which is excellent -- ala Paris) and directed me to the Rain Spa (Turkish steam bath and massage --I loved it so much I went back again the next night!)

My room had a great view and the breakfast (which is included) was very good.

I would recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krta_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2010

My aunt and I stayed here for 4 nights over Thanksgiving. We had the room overlooking the street with two very comfortable double beds. The only thing the room was missing was a fireplace. Breakfast was good, eggs/pastries or crepes. The crepes were dry and over cooked but the omelets were always perfect. We had our welcome drink after we checked in and stayed for dinner. Food was good.
We felt taken care of very well by the front desk and our room as well as the hotel was a breath of fresh air compared to the big chain hotels we could have stayed at.
This hotel has character ! Would come back for sure!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaxusc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2010

I booked through Hotel.ca, and after booking, I realized that my room was 500 meters from the hotel????????????
I was concerned but I had an open mind.
I checked in, and the folks at the reception were very nice and pleasant. A young man guided me to my room and gave me a brief explanation of the area, restaurants, convenience stores near by, etc...
We climbed the infinite stairs that lead to the room, and when I opened the door I was impressed with the room. It was a studio apartment furnished with up to date furniture and decorated with exposed brick walls, and nice hardware.
The room was on the top of a restaurant (Modavie), and although they have small music bands downstairs, I did not hear a thing from them.
Unfortunately, I could not say the same about my room neighbors. I guess my bed and their bed was separated by a wall, and I as they decided to have sex for hours with small breaks until 1:00a.m., that was when I was able to sleep. I suffered with the couple for two nights.
I don't know how the rooms that are inside of the Auberge were (noise wise), but I would not come back. There was not house keeping in the room during my 3 night stay.

Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Miss_Silva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
port elizabeth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2010

A charming, well run, good value for money hotel in an excellent location. The staff, without exception, were extremely helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble for them. We were upgraded to a King room overlooking the port, which was lovely; exposed stone walls and beautiful wooden floors. The only thing missing was a kettle and a tea tray - my only criticism. We would definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pilarPortElizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2010

Disembarked from cruise at Port Montreal and we walked from the ship to the hotel, the walk took about 20 minutes over flat terrain dragging our bags. We arrived around 8 AM to be greeted by the most personable porter you could hope for. He stopped us at the foot of say four stairs and he hauled our considerable luggage into the reception area, we offered to help, no, you have done enough. The receptionist was lovely, took our phone number and rang us when our room was ready. Our bags were waiting in our room for us, two flights of stairs up. The staff also collected our bags and took them to reception for a very early departure five days later. We stayed in a self contained loft a short distance from the main office, we wanted for nothing, the room was spotless, very large and we had 3 local friends visit us, they were very impressed. The location was literally in the heart of Old Montreal, a great spot, we walked everywhere, restaurants on our door step and a convenience store across the way. Helen Sydney Australia

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poppysmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 10 November 2010

Best Hotel in Montreal, great staff, great room, best stay ever.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex121262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#4 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#9 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,908 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,303 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 163 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge du Vieux-Port? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge du Vieux-Port

Property: Auberge du Vieux-Port
Address: 97 Rue de la Commune East, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 1J1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Montreal
#7 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#10 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#18 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Auberge du Vieux-Port 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A symbol of Old Montreal's rich history, Auberge du Vieux-Port is the area's only hotel settled along the Saint Lawrence River. The two structures that house its 45 rooms are over a century and a half old and once operated as warehouses, back when the waterway still forged city's life vein. With a classic, skillfully crafted make up, the idyllic inn's decor and architecture breathe an air of authenticity. Embrace time-honoured scenery, complemented by our team's warm, personable services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Auberge du Vieux-Port reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Du Vieux-Port Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing