We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“CONSTRUCTION!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Suites Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Comfort Suites Downtown
Ranked #69 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Gainesville, FL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“CONSTRUCTION!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

I was unhappily awoken at 6AM the morning of my stay by the pounding of giant metal rods into the ground at the construction site outside of my window. :( Not cool. I would suggest not staying here for the next couple of months at least until that construction is finished unless you plan on getting up at 6AM anyway. Otherwise, the room was excellent, internet was reliable. Did have a strange little metal door in the wall under the sink in the bathroom that was open and appeared to be some sort of cavity in the wall. Kind of odd and it didn't lock closed at all. Not sure what it's purpose was.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dygnifyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    219
    150
    61
    69
See reviews for
162
155
33
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

I stayed here for a one night layover coming back from a tropical vacation, loved it! The location was excellent, very close to pubs and shopping on St. Catherine. The beds were super comfortable and staff were really friendly. I would definitly stay here next time I come to Montreal.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MonikaHonika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

Stayed here Jan. 2012 for business, rooms are remodeled and decent. Can get city view and balcony per request or if AARP over 65. Total AARP rate per night $89.10, or $105.60 with all taxes, a decent value, internet worked well. No parking, it cost $15/night. Lobby was plain, had PC, but no breakfast, coffee only.

Room Tip: Ask for city view, stay high up, or if AARP you get city view for the same price
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hedefors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
285 reviews
207 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

The room was quite contempory but the building itself felt a bit basic. The walls were quite thin and there was a lot of noise from the adjoining room. The hotel, being in the bars/clubs part of Montreal, seemed to attract a lot of younger people who were quite noisy.The interior of the lift was quite scruffy and the lobby area wasn't very smart. However the staff at reception were pleasant and helpful. We were unable to get our t.v. to work properly even though we got a replacement remote from reception. It was impossible to change channels and the volume was too low. There was no breakfast room on site. We were given breakfast vouchers to have our breakfast at the YWCA at the end of the street. The breakfast consisted of a toasted roll with jam and tea or coffee which was rather dull. There was however the option of paying for a different choice of food. We chose to go to Starbucks instead at the other end of the street.

The hotel was quite reasonably priced ($99 plus tax)so not sure really if we could have done better. We're not really sure whether we would choose to stay there again.

On positive point was that the 747 bus from the airport stopped at the end of the road which cost $8 each. The buses ran frequently - every ten minutes or so I believe.

The entrance to the hotel was a death trap. The floor surface was very slippery due to snow being trodden in. At one stage the staff put down some carpet which made it safer but this was not always there.

Room Tip: We asked for a room with a view and got floor 14 - the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank biggles51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

If you are planning to party and want to be close to bars then this is the place for you! Don't expect to get to sleep until after the bars close. The room itself was satisfactory and even had a sofa and two queen size beds. The parking was across the street and cost $ 20.00 for the night ($ 25.00 for a pickup)..that includes in and out privileges. The people were very accommodating, but you had to go down to the front desk and get it.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mermaid2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2011

We stayed at this hotel for a hockey game. Walking distance to the Bell Centre Looking at the outside I was scared to go inside. What a surprise! The room was great, new beds, flat screen tv and a very nice sofa bed. The room was very clean. Our room was right beside the elevator but we could not hear it at all.I would definitely stay there again....

Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank janet1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Quebec
Level Contributor
150 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

Quite a reasonable rate for this hotel, located a half block from the shopping district of Montreal, surrounded by interesting pubs and restaurants. Not much to look at from the outside, but the rooms are tastefully decorated, as well as the bathrooms.
We stayed in December and found the in-room heater a bit unpredictable, and the balcony door was drafty. Choose the room carefully if you stay in January or February!
Remote controls for the TV didn't work ,even with new batteries. Ovwerall worth considering.

Room Tip: Can be noisy from street level pubs, especailly in the summer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerryinAylmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
BEST WESTERN PLUS Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Espresso Montreal Centre-Ville/Downtown
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Novotel Montreal Center
Novotel Montreal Center
#44 of 164 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
BEST WESTERN Ville-Marie Hotel
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Y Montreal
Hotel Y Montreal
#66 of 164 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sheraton Le Centre Montreal Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Downtown

Property: Comfort Suites Downtown
Address: 1214 Crescent St, Montreal, Quebec H3G 2A9, Canada (Formerly Quality Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Comfort Suites Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Downtown Hotel Montreal
Quality Inn Montreal
Montreal Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing