We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful combination of tradition and state-of-the-art rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
Ranked #1 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2012

When we entered the Ritz-Carlton in Montreal we were expecting a modern hotel as the place had very recently been completely renovated. We were very positively surprised when we experienced the old-world charm of the hotel. The property (lobby, outside appearance etc.) has well preserved its dignity and the renovation has obviously taken great care not to do away with the character of this hotel icon.
In a very interesting contrast the room was very comfortable, modern and well equipped with the latest in technology (like light switching system) and full of nice details, e.g. the safe was conveniently located in a desk drawer. Little things, but they made the room comfortable to use and enjoy. The bathroom was especially well equipped and a pleasure to use. I will remember that!
Breakfast was delightful. We enjoyed it in the open space to the rear of the hotel at the small duck pond. This was a quiet and charming place in the middle of this lively city.
Again I have to mention the very friendly and professional staff at Ritz-Carlton. They really made us feel welcome.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Robbie46117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

934 - 940 of 1,102 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2012

Excellent Hotel, mega expensive, new decor and only 4 months since re-opening. We had a great time. Bar was nice, but everything was quite modern, if you like that. I refer to it as "Crystal and Chrome". It was nice to see a number of old employees that we still recognized, and the stay was very nice, with very accomodating help. We will stay there again, as the location is great for shopping and dining.

Room Tip: Small suite is nice, abet expensive. Full suite, is mega bucks, but nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Flagler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

the hotel has just been renewed after 4 year of closure. nice rooms and bathrooms, great and friendly service and great breakfast. a pleasent stay. only downside, they don't have a spa but will recommend one close by and make arrangements if needed.
location is great too.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Rooms are outstanding, reconstruction is still going on. 

We spent five nights in Ritz-Carlton, Montreal. Rooms are outstanding. State of the art equipment and automation. As usual for all Ritz- Carlton Hotels, excellent location and service. 
Unfortunately, some negative sides also presented. 
Their Gym is very poorly presented, located in the basement floor, looks very depressive, quite old Technogym equipment, very outdated, not good for the hotel of that level. 
No spa or at least steam room or sauna. For urban hotel it is a must have feature. 
Sleeping pillows were not comfy, no pillows menu to choose from. Didn't sleep well.
Looks like reconstruction is not completed and maybe they will have it in the future.  
I would recommend to come and stay in this hotel in a few month from now.

Room Tip: Don't take rooms at the end of the coridors, they have massive reconstruction in the next buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RAMILO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Stayed here as part of my husband's award trip and it was heavenly. The staff is incredible, tending to your every need while constantly saying "My Pleasure"...serioulsy you don't have to be that nice to me, I'll stay here regardless! Guy and Anna were super! They made the experience relaxing and fun! Enjoyed the amenities. Can't say enough...

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Just got back from a long weekend at this Ritz with my husband and two 9 year olds. What a terrific hotel and experience from start to finish! I have stayed in several Ritz properties, and this may be my favorite. It is tucked into a perfect location.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PSmith647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We were in Montreal to celebrate our anniversary and mid-afternoon we stopped by the Ritz-Carlton Hotel to have a look at the recently completed renovations. (we were staying at a nearby hotel booked months ago before the Ritz reopened) The Ritz Lobby is as classy as we remember with a fresh feel and quiet dignity. We went into the Ritz Bar which is next to the Danield Boulud restaurant. The pastoral Ritz Garden is still there and as charming as ever. We sat at the bar - note the open concept kitchen is now where the old bar was - everything is much lighter in decor in the Bar area with glass-fronted wine cellars. We were between meals so we opted for some appetizers - duo of smoked salmon with hot-buttered toast accompanied by a crisp dry white bordeaux - delightful and elegantly presented and reasonably priced.
service was impeccable - bottom line, first impressions of the renovations were very encouraging and we shall stay at the Ritz on a next visit to Montreal.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank salmonangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#7 of 165 in Montreal
1,472 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,368 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#8 of 165 in Montreal
2,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#24 of 165 in Montreal
2,686 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#5 of 165 in Montreal
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal

Address: 1228 Sherbrooke West, Montreal, Quebec H3G 1H6, Canada (Formerly Ritz-Carlton Montreal)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Montreal
#1 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#1 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#2 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: £313 - £667 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it opened its doors in 1912, the Ritz-Carlton Montreal set a new standard for luxury. More than 100 years later, the Grande Dame of Sherbrooke Street blends its historic splendor with contemporary design, offering an unparalleled hotel experience in the heart of downtown. Dine in Maison Boulud, an upscale restaurant offering a twist on traditional French cuisine. Offering another twist on a familiar setting, the indoor saltwater pool overlooks the city from the rooftop. The Ritz-Carlton Montreal is the only Quebec hotel to hold the prestigious AAA Five Diamond award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Montreal Hotel Montreal
Montreal Ritz Carlton
Ritz Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing