We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hectic Check-in But Great Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
Ranked #1 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hectic Check-in But Great Room”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stayed for two nights after getting off of a cruise. Hotel has recently completed a very extensive renovation. Large rooms with wood floors except in bath areas. Heated Toto toilets, heated marble floor in bathroom, remote control window shades and many other amenities not normally found in hotels. And the bed...well it was so very comfortable. After having to wait way too long to check in (about three hours), I was taken to this lovely room and almost all was forgiven. No club level at this hotel but they do have a very good restaurant.

Room Tip: Some rooms do look out to another building. But very quiet as not on a noisy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Goodnightirene1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    937
    95
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
251
455
40
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed two nights in Montreal because it wasn't my final destination but loved the stay il ritz-carton... The position of the hotel is perfect, the best stores of the city are around the corner. The gym is really nice and it has some excellent machines. The personal is very friendly, and the hotel has been restructured lately

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Erpres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The Ritz Carlton underwent an extensive renovation and it shows. The rooms are large, beautifully appointed, and have many high tech features. Boulud's restaurant makes breakfast and dinner exceptional. The location of the hotel is perfect,and one can enjoy the walking city that is Montreal.We look forwrd to a return visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission, Kansas
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I have stayed at 5 Star Hotels in London, Paris, Toronto & Johannesburg.

The Ritz in Montreal is as good or better than any of these. It begins when you arrive with the guys on the curb, extends through the greeting you get at the front desk which includes a warm towel on a tray. Then you're accompanied to immaculately refurbished rooms and shown around and made to feel at home. Bathrooms are amazing (though the technoloy's a bit intimidating), beds comfortable.

I stayed in two different rooms two different nights on either end of a trip. The rooms have been redone to a very high level of contemporary finish. Not sure how well this will age but that's irrelevant now: they're super cool.

First night I stayed in a smaller room. The only small negative note was that in the smaller room there was this very shallow "sofa" which was really a piece of decor rather than a useful piece of furniture. So the room was pretty compact but otherwise perfect in every detail.

Next time I stayed in a suite and it was roomy and comfortable. Could have used less desk and more sofa but again I am having to grasp for anything less than perfect. My room had a fireplace which wasn't working but is supposed to. Not a big deal -- I am totally confident if I had called about it I'd have had a tech there in moments.

After getting in my room I realized I'd left my jacket in my car. Concierge staff killed themselves to go down and get it, brought it to my room etc.

I didn't eat in the restaurant but it has a lively bar scene and great decor.

Sherbrooke Street location is great, close to Museums, shopping (Holt-Renfrew) and McGill.

Overall the Ritz Montreal offers a truly world-class facility with world-class service. You pay a pretty penny but you also feel the money was well-spent.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zaraselby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My husband and I spent two nights at the Ritz Carlton in Montreal the first week of October. The room was beautiful, the bed very comfortable and absolutely quiet. We stayed on the 9th floor and the window overlooked the garden attached to the Maison Boulud restaurant. The bathroom was well designed, with a shower that had three settings (rain shower, side nozzles, and hand held). The toilet / bidet combination was very interesting...not sure I would install one at home, but glad I got to try this one :-)
We had drinks and snacks at the bar in the lobby twice and the staff was very accommodating. Great breakfast in the atrium part of the restaurant. Also had the tasting menu at the Maison Boulud, highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjp2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2013

everyone should stay at least once in this hotel. best hotel i ever stayed. This was first time for me at Ritz and I liked it better than any other starwoods luxuries hotel. I would also like to try now other Ritz hotels

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank hup15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I avoided this property for years, prior to its rehab, but I can now say that the Ritz is my favorite hotel in Montreal. Thank you to the good people at RC for finally getting this place on track. The renovation is really quite nice! My only disappointments were the noisy guests talking loudly in the hall late at night (three out of four nights) and the thundering bass sound from a wedding band that kept me awake on Saturday night. Sidebar: Why do hotel guests find it necessary to speak at stadium level volume when walking through a hall? Is it alcohol induced or do they just not give a damn? Folks, please keep it down. The entire floor doesn't need to hear that you'll meet your cohort for breakfast or coffee or a run before you dash off to the airport. No one else cares, please use your inside voice. Thank you.

When I called to inquire about the noise from the band, the phone at the reception desk rang and rang and rang. I had to call back several times before I was able to reach anyone, only to be told that the music could continue until 1:00 or 1:30 in the morning. I received an apology and told that they would ask the band to turn the volume down. I wasn't thrilled with the response, but what are you gonna do? It's a wedding party, may the bride and groom have a long and happy marriage. They'd better, I wouldn't want my interrupted night of sleep to be in vain. Nevertheless, the hotel may want to consider additional sound insulation in the spaces where they allow bands to play, just a thought. Outside of that, I was very pleased with the accommodations. The bed was very comfortable, the room was tastefully decorated and it's kind of cool how the design team incorporated elements from the hotel's past.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david_k001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#7 of 165 in Montreal
1,413 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,347 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#3 of 165 in Montreal
362 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#24 of 165 in Montreal
2,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
Address: 1228 Sherbrooke West, Montreal, Quebec H3G 1H6, Canada (Formerly Ritz-Carlton Montreal)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Montreal
#1 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#1 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#2 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it opened its doors in 1912, the Ritz-Carlton Montreal set a new standard for luxury. More than 100 years later, the Grande Dame of Sherbrooke Street blends its historic splendor with contemporary design, offering an unparalleled hotel experience in the heart of downtown. Dine in Maison Boulud, an upscale restaurant offering a twist on traditional French cuisine. Offering another twist on a familiar setting, the indoor saltwater pool overlooks the city from the rooftop. The Ritz-Carlton Montreal is the only Quebec hotel to hold the prestigious AAA Five Diamond award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Montreal Hotel Montreal
Montreal Ritz Carlton
Ritz Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing