We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay, will definitely return.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
Ranked #1 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Wayland, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous stay, will definitely return.”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My husband and two children made a impromptu stay and absolutely loved the hotel. Room service was excellent . They had mistakenly sent chocolate covered strawberries and champaign when we arrived in the suite and after my children ate the strawberries they handled it expertly and insisted that we enjoy the champaign with their compliments. Quality that we expect from the ritz and excellent service. Very child friendly. A trademark that makes us always seek out a ritz if possible Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MW7722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    875
    87
    12
    6
    3
See reviews for
229
428
37
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
150 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is one of the great grand hotels, but our visit was spoilt by the check-in experience. On line you are invited to let the hotel know your preferred time of arrival. Unfortunately that does not mean you room will be ready. We arrived 45 minutes after our stated time - no room. We had lunch - no room. Two and a half hours after we arrived we finally got the room!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeraldineOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

What a beautiful hotel. Freshly renovated, this old girl certainly makes you feel special. The rooms have nearly doubled in the renovation and are superbly appointed. The bathroom toilet is something special. You'll have to stay there to see what I mean! It was a talking point for all our friends as well.

From the front desk to the service staff, everyone was so warm and friendly and so helpful. Nothing was a problem. Angela's service was particularly excellent.

We dined in the hotel restaurant one night and although expensive (as you would expect) the food was super. I would highly recommend it.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Luapdrareve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan Beach
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Service was amazing, staff was very attentive and professional, what you expect from a Ritz. This hotel mixes the original integrity of the old Ritz architecture and mixes with modern touches like the Daniel Boulud restaurant and the new room product. The room décor is very tasteful with just the right pop of color. Bed was heavenly and it really helped having dark out shades. The restaurant is such a treat, I had breakfast, lunch and dinner there and was never disappointed. Lobster salad was wonderful. Restaurant looks out to a beautiful courtyard that has a small waterfall/pond which is very relaxing to listen to during an early breakfast. Like the idea of having high tea in the lobby bar, everyone looked like they were really enjoying themselves. Great location near many good restaurants (Beatrice down the street) and shops.

Room Tip: Room views aren't great on the lower floors, suggest a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelerkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Needham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The Ritz is the Ritz. The rooms are technologically advanced. Everything is automated right down to the toilet. Even if you do not have a bellhop take your bags, you should otherwise you will be spending a great deal of time trying to work the electronics. The details are what make the difference in this hotel. It is is understated elegance. The hotel manager was Mr. Benezach was absolutely fantastic. He gave us a personal tour of the hotel. Even though we were not high rollers, he (and everyone else there) made you feel that way. My only suggestion is that the rooms have copies of the restaurant menus (although they change daily so this might be why they don't have them.) It was aperfectway to celebrate our anniversary. Thank you Ritz-Carlton!

Room Tip: High floor, low numbered rooms are away from the elevator. However, it is a 5 Star place and the so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This was our first time staying at a Ritz for leisure. We were celebrating my daughter's graduation from McGill. The Director of Customer Relations gave us the most brilliant service I have ever received at a hotel. She printed, framed and staged photos of my daughter from childhood to graduation to mark her life journey to this point. She decorated with balloon bouquets. She hand wrote inspirational quotes and anchored them to helium filled balloons.
When I asked if we could do something special in the room for check-in I never even imagined a hotel would create such a magical experience. The Ritz exceeded every expectation. The most brilliant service ever. The property was in a great location and the rooms beautiful. Lovely hidden garden behind the property.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our view of the garden behind the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ddarragh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This Ritz Carlton is classy and excellent service. The rooms are well done and the bathrooms are nicely appointed. The Front Desk was very professional but needless to say the Concierge ROCKED !!!! Simone is very warm , and extremely knowledgeable . Veronica is genuine , caring and rocks a great smile to boot. They were helpful in securing the best restaurants and directing you in the right direction. Montreal was a blast doing Formula 1 and thanks to all for a wonderful well done job !!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#7 of 164 in Montreal
1,360 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 164 in Montreal
308 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 164 in Montreal
1,320 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#23 of 164 in Montreal
2,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
Address: 1228 Sherbrooke West, Montreal, Quebec H3G 1H6, Canada (Formerly Ritz-Carlton Montreal)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Montreal
#1 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#1 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#2 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it opened its doors in 1912, the Ritz-Carlton Montreal set a new standard for luxury. More than 100 years later, the Grande Dame of Sherbrooke Street blends its historic splendor with contemporary design, offering an unparalleled hotel experience in the heart of downtown. Dine in Maison Boulud, an upscale restaurant offering a twist on traditional French cuisine. Offering another twist on a familiar setting, the indoor saltwater pool overlooks the city from the rooftop. The Ritz-Carlton Montreal is the only Quebec hotel to hold the prestigious AAA Five Diamond award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, TravelUp, Priceline, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Montreal Hotel Montreal
Montreal Ritz Carlton
Ritz Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing