We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding in all respects!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
Ranked #1 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Having had the pleasure of staying at many of the world's finest hotels, I can say without reservation that the Ritz-Carlton Montreal ranks amongst them. While the facilities were impeccable, the decor most tasteful, and the food delicious, it was the wonderful people who made our family's stay of almost two weeks so special...thank you to each one of you!
Robert M. and family.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RM M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

772 - 778 of 1,119 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2014

Our first trip to Montreal (vacation) and our fifth stay at a Ritz. Upon arrival the valet is super friendly and helpful. Front desk check-in couldn't have gone better. We're immediately feeling like VIP's. The bellman takes us up to our room and goes over all the modern amenities ( the hotel was renovated in 2012) and tells us if we need anything at all to simply ask. He tells us about the Comedy Festival and the Saturday night fireworks down by Old Town. Very helpful and friendly. The lobby bar is modern (cool gas fireplace) and a superb Chopin martini. And the Downtown location is convenient to many of the sites we want to see including a two minute walk to the Museum of Fine Arts. Stay here!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank WSD526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

From the moment you arrive your in for a first class experience. The reception was spot on.
The lobby is exceptional and truly a place you would want to hang out.
The rooms have interesting detail. I will say the touch panel lighting system was confusing. It is very sensitive. The beds, linen, heated bathroom floors all get a 10. The top of the line Toto toilets are a treat...yes a toilet!
You should expect the best and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BombasticBAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

The bar in the Ritz Carlton is just Fantastic!
The drinks are great, the decor is brilliant and the ambience is awesome.
The bartenders are extremely talented, they have such a passion for making great drinks and giving great service and they really made our experience.
Try the white cosmo which was gorgeous.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank ChloeGW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I live in Montreal, we attended an event around the area therefore we decided to stay one night at the Ritz Carlton. Being a travel agent I reviewed many hotels around the world, I was very impressed with the Ritz, this is a 5 star upscale, classy hotel located in the heart of Montreal, high tech rooms, the Japanese toilet was very interesting. We only stayed 1 night but wished we can stay a bit longer.

Room Tip: facing the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We only spent 1 night at the Ritz, but it was absolutely fantastic. Redone in the last 5 years everything is modern and automatic everything; window shades, lights are on sensors, heated floors in the bathroom, automatic dimmers, fireplace. Maybe this makes me a humble traveller (I don't think so) but I was truly impressed! We had a Japanese toilet too! The rooms on the back court yard are not the most private with the residences and office buildings close by, but it was not a bother. Great fireplace, very very clean everything. Great location in the heart of downtown. Sunday brunch at the Maison Bouloud is outstanding, so is their solarium and duck pond if you're there in season. Great staff the few times we interacted with them. Can't say anything negative if I tried. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This is a true 5 start downtown montreal hotel located near everything. They just completed a $250 million renovation in 2010. The rooms are high tech while being old world. What really makes this hotel special is the service. EVERYONE at this hotel treats you like you are a VIP guest.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mmook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,390 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#8 of 165 in Montreal
1,519 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,475 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#21 of 165 in Montreal
2,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal

Address: 1228 Sherbrooke West, Montreal, Quebec H3G 1H6, Canada (Formerly Ritz-Carlton Montreal)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Montreal
#1 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#1 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#2 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: £292 - £618 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it opened its doors in 1912, the Ritz-Carlton Montreal set a new standard for luxury. More than 100 years later, the Grande Dame of Sherbrooke Street blends its historic splendor with contemporary design, offering an unparalleled hotel experience in the heart of downtown. Dine in Maison Boulud, an upscale restaurant offering a twist on traditional French cuisine. Offering another twist on a familiar setting, the indoor saltwater pool overlooks the city from the rooftop. The Ritz-Carlton Montreal is the only Quebec hotel to hold the prestigious AAA Five Diamond award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Montreal Hotel Montreal
Montreal Ritz Carlton
Ritz Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing