We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Ritz, Of Course!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
Ranked #1 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Ritz, Of Course!”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

So, it's a Ritz Carlton. You'd expect only the best, right? Well, that's what you get at the Ritz Carlton Montreal. First of all, the staff is as friendly and helpful as we've ever experienced. On our arrival (by car), Doorman Nicholas took control, handling our luggage and seeing that the car was taken care of. Once inside, our reservations were processed in no time flat. Oh, oh, the room is not ready? No problem. Go to the lovely lounge and have a cocktail - the room is ready before we've had two sips. Andre (the nicest guy you'd ever meet in a hotel) gives us a tour of our room - and we really needed a tour! The room was a lovely corner room on the ninth floor. Andre explained the room's lighting system (very fancy). It even had a sensor that turned on some lights if you get out of bed during the night to use the bathroom. (We never did figure out how that worked). Speaking of the well-appointed bathroom, it was equipped with a state-of-the-art Toto toilet. The seat moves up and down automatically, it flushes automatically, it has three bidet settings as well as several pulsing and positioning options (I found this intimidating, yet interesting), and the seat is heated. (It might have been nice if I could have figured out how to turn the heat off sometimes). There is no concierge floor at this Ritz. Never mind - the lobby concierges, big Simon and little Simon, among others, provided excellent service in suggesting and reserving restaurants and proving worthwhile tour advice. A truly wonderful experience. When next in Montreal, we will again stay at the Ritz.

Room Tip: All rooms appear to be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LibraSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    932
    94
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
248
452
40
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aix-en-Provence, France
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We were originally scheduled and already checked into our fairmont chateau hotel in Quebec City ... Originally booked for 4 nights at 400$ a night -we left after the first night - you can see here - http://www.tripadvisor.ca/ShowUserReviews-g155033-d155587-r219024416-Fairmont_Le_Chateau_Frontenac-Quebec_City_Quebec.html#REVIEWS

Being a long weekend and NO accommodations available we turned right back around and started to head home ..... I was in tears .... My husband and I were fighting after a lengthy drive and no place to stay ....

I contacted a friend who said The Ritz.

We were skeptical as the previous luxury hotel was a bust.

Are we ever glad we came here!

This by far made our trip. We spent well into the four digits at this hotel and did not cry over the expense one bit. We were so pleased by the cleanliness, the staff, the food, and the ease of this hotels amenities. It didn't make me feel as if I was in a shopping mall unlike the fairmont.

If you are seeking luxury - by all means this is the place to find it. Well done !

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 587Taka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyoto
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel had very very little to complain about but tons to compliment! Lovely and engaging staff, food though a little lacking in variety was top notch, and the service was perfect!
Will return for sure as my visit felt too short upon leaving

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ParfaitVacances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

From the staff to the room the hotel was perfect. The trip was part of a birthday trip for my wife and they truly made her feel special and went out of their way to help us from directions to reservations. Our first night the concierge booked a dinner reservation at Moishe's for us and after we had finished our meal they brought us out a free dessert to celebrate her birthday. When we would come back from a hike or bike ride they would always be at the entrance waiting to hand us a bottle of water and asking how our day went. We have stayed at many hotels for work and pleasure and this one will truly be a visit we remember. Thanks to the whole staff for making this visit special.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lee s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

This is a fantastic hotel, with awesome service, beautiful large rooms with very well appointed bathrooms. This has to be the best place to stay in Montreal.... The hotel staff are extremely attentive, the spa and pool are excellent and the gym is pretty good too. The location is also outstanding - a short walk from all major sites and shopping. Would definitely stay there again. No need to say any more !!!!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Dipak P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The Montreal Ritz Carlton is perfect in every way, it is the exceptional Ritz Carlton standards of accommodations, food and service. The staff is amazing.
The location is perfect. You can walk to Old Montreal or shopping streets in 10 to 25 minutes. As the entire hotel was redone in 2012 the rooms are outstanding. Large, beautifully appointed with high tech features. The beds are heavenly. The bathrooms are large and beautiful - with 2 sinks and separate toilet and Shower areas.
The restaurant is a Daniel Boules restaurant. Exquisite food and decor. The sunroom and patio in a garden are lovely for breakfast. This hotel is well worth the cost.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boomers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratham, NH
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My husband and I booked a 4 night stay at the Ritz through the American Express Fine Hotels program. The staff was outstanding, as were the facilities. The room was spotless and the king bed was extremely comfortable. Breakfast was included in our rate and was also very good as you could order off the menu or opt for the buffet. The rooftop indoor lap pool really only allows 2 people at a time to do laps comfortably. However, I only had to wait once for someone to leave the pool before I could swim. The area outside has several lounge chairs and umbrellas. Again, I only had to wait once for a lounge chair. As another reviewer mentioned, it did take a little practice to get used to the lighting system. The wifi worked very well. The metro allows easy access to the old town and the museum of fine arts is only a few buildings down from the hotel. There are also several good restaurants within walking distance. We would definitely stay here again on our next trip to Montreal.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAHES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#7 of 165 in Montreal
1,410 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,340 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 165 in Montreal
356 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#23 of 165 in Montreal
2,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal
Address: 1228 Sherbrooke West, Montreal, Quebec H3G 1H6, Canada (Formerly Ritz-Carlton Montreal)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Montreal
#1 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#1 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#2 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When it opened its doors in 1912, the Ritz-Carlton Montreal set a new standard for luxury. More than 100 years later, the Grande Dame of Sherbrooke Street blends its historic splendor with contemporary design, offering an unparalleled hotel experience in the heart of downtown. Dine in Maison Boulud, an upscale restaurant offering a twist on traditional French cuisine. Offering another twist on a familiar setting, the indoor saltwater pool overlooks the city from the rooftop. The Ritz-Carlton Montreal is the only Quebec hotel to hold the prestigious AAA Five Diamond award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Marriott, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Montreal Hotel Montreal
Montreal Ritz Carlton
Ritz Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing