We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel - A Bit Overrated”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Bonaparte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Bonaparte
Ranked #4 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel - A Bit Overrated”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

My wife and I stayed here three nights, 16-19 February 2012, in the suite (Room 507). The hotel was very nice but, in my opinion, not as nice as some of the reviews here on TripAdvisor. The suite was clean, comfortable, and tastefully decorated. There were a few things I wasn't particularly happy with. I'd rate the hotel at about 3 3/4 stars if that were possible.

Our suite consisted of a large bedroom (the one pictured on the opening TripAdvisor page, at least as of the day I'm writing this), a large bathroom, a decent-sized sitting room, and a hall/foyer connecting the three. Overall, the suite was initially clean and well-constructed, but the furniture was eclectic, in that while nearly every item of furniture was attractive and in the Empire style, few of the pieces looked as though they belonged together. It was as though someone bought various pieces of nice furniture at different yard and estate sales and brought them together - they didn't quite match one another. Dimmer switches in bed, bath, and sitting rooms were a nice touch, as was the fact that all door hinges were well-oiled and didn't squeak.

In the bedroom, the matress was very comfortably -- unusually, for both me and my wife. She prefers a relative soft mattress, and I prefer a firm one. This one was firm, but with a very soft top layer, and the sheets were up to my wife's demanding standards ("smooth and confortable, but still substantial). The curtains worked well, so the bedroom was very dark and easy to sleep well in. Other furniture in the bedroom included desk/chair set, side table (with alarm clock) and another table, comfortable chair, bench at the foot of the bed, television vanity with two drawers for clothes, and a roomy closet. Great bedroom.

Bathroom was tiled in marble with a granite sink. Amenities included a large "double" jacuzzi (not quite big enough for two), separate comfortably-sized shower stall, mirror, plentiful lights, toilet, plentiful towels, and well-selected toiletries. The only thing noticeably missing was a soap dish for the sink - I disliked having to pry the soap bar from the surface every day. Still, a very nice bath.

Sitting room was large enough for two (maybe three or four) to sit comfortably, and the bedroom door permitted one of us to sit up while the other slept. Furniture included a couch, upholstered chair, large coffee table, and several sitting chairs. In the sitting room was a small (larger than dorm size, maybe "half-size") refrigerator that was stocked with a few cans of soda and several bottles of beer. Glasses, mugs, a coffee maker, and coffee were provided (as was a wine bottle opener and sugar tongs), but no tea, sweetener, or creamer/whitener. I thought this might be an oversight the first night, but they weren't provided any of the three nights. Actually, we had to ask a few times to have the refrigerator re-stocked, which annoyed me a bit (the sort of nickel-and-dimey thing that ought not to be an issue, in my opinion).

Housekeeping was a bit of an issue. Large messes (e.g., wet towels thrown in the tub) were consistently cleaned and the bed was made well each day, but most "small messes" were missed. Needlepoint scraps left on the coffee table each night were removed, but left on the floor instead, as were crumbs. The refrigerator wasn't restocked until we asked several times, and sweetener for the coffee provided never arrived (admittedly, I forgot to ask specifically for it, but should I need to?) Also, a few light bulbs remained burned out the whole time we were there.

A very nice feature was the balcony attached to the sitting room. During our stay, it was covered with snow, but seemed nice - had a nice view of the side of the Basilica of Notre Dame (bells were not an issue, as I had feared - not that loud). There was a cast iron table and pair of chairs which seemed as though they'd be nice on a pleasant evening. Also nice were the sheer curtains behind the main curtains on two of the windows facing the balcony. (I wish they had had sheer curtains behind the main curtains in the bedroom, too, so we could have had the curtains open while dressing).

The staff at the hotel was very helpful and pleasant (all spoke English, too). I appreciated the Internet/printer station in the sitting room beside the lobby.

Restaurant Bonaparte is located in the same building, and breakfast is served (not by the restaurant staff) there each morning. Breakfast (included with our stay) was very pleasant - juice, coffee, yogurt of fresh fruit salad, croissants or toast, and a choice of several entrees (french toast was very good, as were the omelettes; crepes were good, but lacked filling). At dinner, the restaurant (now with the restaurant staff) is extremely good. We didn't eat lunch there, but I think it's open for lunch.

The hotel location was convenient for touring the old city in Montreal, and was about 3-4 blocks from the nearest Metro (subway) station. For some reason, none of the several cab drivers we used in Montreal seemed to be able to find the hotel, even when we provided the address (easiest way is to tell them either to drop you off at the basilica and walk the last block or tell them to drive 3/4 block around from the front of the basilica). Even with the basilica (and its bells), the neighborhood seemed pretty quiet on Thursday-Sunday.

Overall, the hotel was very nice, and I'd stay there again (especially in any of rooms 503, 505, and 507). I don't really think it's quite as nice as some other reviewers make it out to be, though. If the owners read this, I'd recommend paying a bit more attention to stocking the refrigerator and coffee/tea supplies and keeping up the housekeeping for occupied rooms.

While checking out, I managed to look in adjacent rooms 505 and 503

Room Tip: Courtyard side rooms (503 and 505) have a view of the basilica (side) and a courtyard/parking lot, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank KristyneA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    717
    212
    26
    4
    4
See reviews for
139
580
21
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

We chose this hotel in part because of its Trip Advisor Rating/Reviews which have never disappointed me. I don't opt for #1 ratings exclusively as price does matter since I very much love to travel to new destinations as often as feasible.

In this case, it was very evident that this rating was well-deserved. Michael, Sabrina and Sophia were charming and thoughtful. Sabrina remembered that I had asked for a particular room at the time of reservation but was not available. So it was a delight that it was assigned to us upon arrival and I hadn't even mentioned it!

The restaraunt here just happened to be outstanding. Everything we had for dinner the first night and breakfasts were delicious! I can't emphasize enough how this hotel made this the best experience of all my Canadian sojourns!

Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tatina9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

This hotel merges a classic old french beauty with a staff that is above and beyond! Montreal is a very special place because of the wonderful stay. I had stayed at another hotel on business in October and had to return to this city. I saw that trip advisor ranked this hotel #1 and made my decision based on the reviews. The room was warm and welcoming. The staff especially Michael at reception was so personable and accommodating,it truly made this experience special. Lets not forget the food! The french toast was over the top, the french cuisine was a cultural experience and the restaurant staff mimics the hotel reception personel. If you are ever in Montreal treat yourself! A block away from Notre Dome, and three blocks from the metro. A true diamond in the crown!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4n6melrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northeast
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

We stayed for 2 nights over the christmas weekend. Very nice hotel and quiet (though it appeared to not be very full). We had a second floor room facing the 'courtyard' (not a particularly nice view). Very comfortable bed and pillows. The staff were courteous and helpful. We had dinner the first night which was expensive but very good...particularly the wild mushroom ravioli. Unlike any I've ever had and wish I had the recipe! HIGHLY recommended if you dine there. Next time I will have that and a salad instead of a more expensive entree (had the dover sole for about $36.).

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fussc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

This is my third trip to Auberge Bonaparte. Each time I go there, I enjoy it more. The staff is so nice and helpful. The rooms are beautiful and comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard. Breakfast is included, but you'll also want to have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schrems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinnelon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

Courteous, kind, thoughtful, considerate, cool, comfortable, and friendly. Room, food, location, service and staff were exceptional. Highly recommend. Looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJ_Traveler615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

First time to Montreal and we had an absolutely excellent stay! Not one complaint! Our room was fantastic with a private balcony perfect for viewing the fireworks. Plus the breakfast was terrific as well. Will definitely be returning!

Room Tip: 501 and 507 I think are the only 2 with balconies although there is a roof top balcony that is open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktdblu1181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#7 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 163 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#8 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bonaparte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bonaparte

Property: Hotel Bonaparte
Address: 447 St.-Francois Xavier, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2T1, Canada (Formerly Auberge Bonaparte)
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#4 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#5 Family Hotel in Montreal
#25 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bonaparte 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Bonaparte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Bonaparte Montreal
Auberge Bonaparte Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing