We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Perfect”
Review of Hotel Bonaparte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Bonaparte
Ranked #4 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2012

I was so glad to have chosen the Auberge Bonaparte. We stayed 4 nights in the room with the wonderful balcony and found the accommodations, service and location all great. The hotel was very willing to store our bicycles (highly recommend bringing these with you if you can) in the basement and bring them up each morning on the elevator. The breakfast was truly outstanding and I also enjoyed the very creative floral arrangements.

Room Tip: There is only one room with a (large!) private balcony. We were there in the summer and found that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adventures0fAandL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,054)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

708 - 714 of 1,054 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2012

Rooms are otstanding as are the service staff. Convenience and quality restaurant cannot be beat. Great location.

Montreal is COLD in the winter. Dress and plan accordingly.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VETTRAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We wanted to spend 4 days in Old Montreal and by chance and at short notice booked Auberge Bonaparte. Ideal location, superb service, attention to detail, lovely, clean and spacious room, and helpful staff. And then there is the restaurant....Breakfast is not to be missed, and dinner on a rainy night was a complete surprise. I went with a girlfriend to celebrate her birthday, but next time I am taking my husband. Auberge Bonaparte is great for friends and for a romantic couples get-away!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the back gardens of the Cathedral are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank seniortravelers_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

My wife and I were warmly greeted by the blonde receptionist the evening we arrived. To our delight, we found we had been upgraded from the single queen room to a suite. Since we got in late, we opted to dine at the hotel restaurant and had a delicious continental French style dinner. In addition to the fantastic jetted tub, we also enjoyed the amazing views of the Notre Dame, Habitat 67, and Biodome from our private terrace. The next day, the same receptionist recommended a fantastic lunch place, Olive et Gourmando. Superchic, local ingredients, and the smell of fresh baked pastries throughout this bustling cafe. From there, it was about a half hour walk up through McGill's campus to the Mont Royal Park for a great view of the whole city skyline. For dinner, the receptionist recommended L'Original for fine Quebec dining: lots of game on the menu as well as a fresh oyster selection. Both restaurants were 2-3 minutes walk from the hotel, which was most welcome, due to the chilly weather. Great hotel; right in the middle of Old Montreal; very friendly staff. Although my wife speaks French, I do not, and everyone was quite happy to speak English to me. Next time we go to Montreal, we will surely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zachary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

The room was cozy with high ceilings, window seats, and a jacuzzi-style bathtub.In addition to the nice room there was a rooftop balcony and a mouth-watering restaurant. It wasn't hard to get out of bed in the morning because we knew that a delicious breakfast awaited us downstairs. Everything we ordered came out deliciously fresh and perfectly portioned. We especially enjoyed the morning that we were seated by the window because we were able to people watch out onto the historic streets of Vieux Montreal.
The best part of the hotel was the staff. Michael and Sabrina were more help than all Montreal guidebooks put together. They suggested the best attractions, told us where to get a real local meal, and even made our dinner reservations for us. Without them we never would have made it to the Notre Dame light show (very cool) or the wonderful cheese shop close to the Jean-Talon market (La Fromagerie Hamel). By the time we left it felt like we were leaving friends. Thanks for making our trip so special!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarlaSandiego12866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

My friend and I love to eat at the restaurant Bonaparte but decided to stay there and also enjoy the complementary 3 course breakfast. My friend got to Montreal late so it was great to be there to meet and just pop upstairs after dinner and drinks-delicious and no stress. The room was lovely, wood floors and very nice bath. The bed is very comfy-the only needed upgrade is a replacement to the blankets they have. Down duvets would be all that is needed to make it totally comfortable. This is a lovely place to stay and the food is wonderful.

Room Tip: Try to stay on the courtyard for a quiet experience. Some rooms have 2 beds which is great for trav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zarkoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

This boutique hotel is within walking distance of everything in old Montreal. The service from the staff was excellent and the room was spectacular. In a renovated old building the room was spacious and well appointed. Dinner in the restaurant was top quality. When a restaurant is full of well dressed patrons early in the evening there is an expectation that you're in the right place and we were not disappointed. As for location, the auberge is next door to a cooking school, other high quality restaurants and the Centaur Theatre in Montreal. Just two short blocks away from the tourist district of Old Montreal there is ample opportunity to stretch your legs to visit art galleries, craft stores, historic buildings. If you want to take a romantic carriage ride, there are plenty to choose from. The Bains Scandinave spa is also within a few blocks of the hotel - a must do for a romantic weekend.

Room Tip: Although the street side rooms are not noisy from traffic the revellers in old Montreal can disturb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Beauxarbres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,108 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,390 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,475 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 165 in Montreal
1,773 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
2,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bonaparte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bonaparte

Address: 447 St.-Francois Xavier, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2T1, Canada (Formerly Auberge Bonaparte)
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#3 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#5 Family Hotel in Montreal
#25 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: £118 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bonaparte 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Bonaparte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Bonaparte Montreal
Auberge Bonaparte Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing