We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop looking any further”
Review of Hotel Bonaparte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Bonaparte
Ranked #4 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I assure and guarantee that this is the best hotel in Montreal. This is a boutique hotel located in Old Montreal. The parking was paid one and it is available nearby. The service was excellent and the rooms we stayed were excellent and neatly maintained. The food was cooked to perfection and the hotel had a restaurant attached. Only disadvantage was that there was no fridge in the room, but we managed to get a bucket full of ice so we could quench our thirst with a nice chilled beer and water. They also offered a complimentary breakfast and the hotel was much comfortable than the other large hotels.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LkleriDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,026)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Bonaparte
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

531 - 537 of 1,026 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2014

The hotel is right in the middle of the old town, quite difficult to negotiate with a car as there were road works all around. The hotel receptionist was very helpful in directing us. The room we had was on the top floor with an enormous balcony where we have a wonderful view of Montreal. Very clean and comfortable room. The food at dinner was first class, and although the restaurant was full (booking advised) the service was impeccable. My only criticism was that, as the restaurant was full, they put in extra tables and ours was right by the A/C outlet which blew out cold air. I asked for it to be turned off, which they did, but after some time someone asked for it to be turned on, and again I requested it to be reduced, and they willingly obliged. The choice of menu was very good as was breakfast the following morning. As we were getting on a cruise ship in the afternoon, they stored our luggage for us. Would have liked to stay longer.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank akaroa2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We and our friends loved this hotel and also thebresturnt off the lobby where they all sere breakfast.. The room, location, service and wonderful breakfast made for a wonderful trip in old Montreal. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Courtyard view was worth the price.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BobbyD42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I am a world traveler, having spent several years as flight attendant and most recently traveling with family and friends. Sometimes a big chain hotel is just what you need - all you want is comfort and everything to work well. BUT sometimes you are looking for something special, more than a place to stay, something in addition to the destination that will make your trip a very lovely memory. We found that at Auberge Bonaparte in Old Montreal. The key here is the personnel. In particular, Sabrina made every effort to accomodate us. We originally made a reservation downtown but we were so turned off by the indifference to our requests we looked elsewhere. Sabrina immediately conveyed warmth and a genuine interest in responding to my requests and believe me I do have high expectations. The hotel is quaint but well working and quiet and the bar and restaurant have a lovely ambiance. Kudos also to Jonathon and the bar staff for great service. Talking with Sabrina about her job she mentioned feeling like it was her "house" and that the employees work together. That makes a difference - we will definitely go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 407 - didn't hear a sound. Limited shelf space in bathroom but room was large...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JAJ747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This boutique hotel in Old Montreal exceeded our expectations. The courtesy of staff and Michael's touring suggestions were appreciated. All first class from the excellent restaurant and bar to the up to date rooms and bathrooms. Very clean and spacious. We'll definitely stay here again and recommend to friends and family!

Room Tip: Corner room had view of Notre Dame.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peggy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed at the end of a touring holiday in US and Canada. We chose this hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews and were not disappointed. Although parking was available nearby, at an additional cost, which is standard in Montreal, we decided to return our hire car in arrival and take a taxi to the airport a couple of days later, which proved to be a very good decision as we were able to store our luggage in the hotel, make full use of our last day and have a stress free journey to the airport. The a Hotel is very well situated in the heart of Old Montreal and is close to all the main attractions as well as the shopping streets.
We were travelling with another couple. We had booked one of the two Terrace rooms. We had imagined this would be on the ground floor. In fact it was in the top floor and gave lovely views over the Cathedral tower and gardens. Although it was early October it was warm and sunny and we enjoyed drinks out there in the evenings. It must be even better in the summer. The en suite had a jacuzzi bath, which was very welcome after a hard day's sightseeing. The other couple had a room overlooking the gardens on a lower floor, which was slightly larger than ours. We both thought it was worthwhile booking rooms on the garden side of the hotel because the hotel,is on a bustling street. The beds were very comfortable and the rooms were well appointed, and everything was spotlessly clean.
The hotel has an excellent restaurant, and we had two of the best meals we had had all holiday. The steaks are particularly good and cooked to perfection. The set meal is very good value given the quality of food, food choices and its location in the heart of Old Montreal.
The hotel is run by Michael, the Marketing Director, who,liaises closely with the owner. We had experienced one or two problems over restaurant bookings. These had not escaped Michael's eagle eye and he resolved them quickly and generously without our even making a complaint. I wish all hotels were so well ru

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cyfrinach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Thanks to all the other Trip Advisor reviewers - your recommendations for Auberge Bonaparte lived up to expectations. The location was ideal for us having just come arrived in Montreal from a cruise, so we walked to the hotel. Our room wasn't ready so early in the morning of course, but it was no trouble to leave our bags and we picked up a map and lots of recommendations about what to see - where the closest metro was (just a short walk) and off we went.

Coming back at the end of a full day exploring, check in was a breeze and our bags had been delivered to our comfortable room. Only negative - no fridge, but not a major issue as an ice-bucket (ice machine outside the lift on the top floor) worked well to chill a thirst quenching beer bought from just down the road.

We decided not to dine in, so chose a restaurant in the old town and during the meal got chatting to some locals who recommended, would you believe it ..... Restaurant Bonaparte. Although they were fully booked the next night, they did take our booking and we had a lovely meal.

I would definitely recommend Auberge Bonaparte for anyone visiting Montreal - great location in the old town, breakfast included and a nice feel about the place - so much nicer than the large hotels.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank KorFi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,385 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,072 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,177 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#5 of 165 in Montreal
388 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 165 in Montreal
1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bonaparte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bonaparte

Address: 447 St.-Francois Xavier, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2T1, Canada (Formerly Auberge Bonaparte)
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#3 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#5 Family Hotel in Montreal
#25 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: £127 - £429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bonaparte 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bonaparte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Bonaparte Montreal
Auberge Bonaparte Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing