We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm, location, great service”
Review of Hotel Bonaparte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Bonaparte
Ranked #4 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We stayed in the suite on the 5th floor with our two sons. It had a charming balcony that overlooked Notre dame and the furnishings were simple yet elegant. Separate bedroom for us and pullout couch for the kids. Great location and sincere staff. Highly recommend. A romantic hotel.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Amybowie_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,060)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

525 - 531 of 1,060 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed in this hotel for one night.Breakfast is included- and is quite good- crepes, croissants, omelettes. The room features hardwood floors a soaking bathtub with sinks both inside and outside the bathroom. The hotel is clean and quiet.

I traveled with teenagers. We had a Queen and Full bed with plenty of room. We also had an amazing view of Notre Dame Basilica through our window. The hotel is also pet friendly. The staff was helpful and provided us with walking directions for a location downtown. We were able to have them keep our bags after check out as we took in a couple of tourist sites before leaving town.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Notre Dame
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BryanK8129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed there with friends. The hotel itself is a bit worn but very clean, the staff friendly, and rooms large. It is within walking distance of the port, parks, and most of old town. I wish the bathrooms had which are large had more space to lay out toiletries. Overall a very nice alternative to the large chain hotels.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jorge g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed for 2 nights prior to our cruise beginning July 26. $40 taxi ride from the airport. We had an easy walk to the cruise port. Our room had beautiful hardwood floors, a very comfortable king bed, and a lovely breakfast was included. Anne Marie at the front desk was extremely pleasant and helpful. We could walk to many things, and everyone we met in Montreal was so friendly. I would love to return to the Bonaparte and explore Montreal further.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dee809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel before so knew we wanted to stay again when visiting with my sister. The location is perfect. Walk everywhere. The staff is terrific, the rooms comfortable and the breakfast the best. We were really surprised about the prices of everything in Montreal from the hotels to the food. You can not even get into the Notre Dame to pray without paying an entrance fee. The hotel is showing some wear since our last visit. The paint is dull, the bedspread was not fresh and the decor a little tired. The $13.00 glass of wine was a shock the day we arrived but we learned to plan ahead and not go to the hotel bar for a drink before dinner. If you are looking for location, this certainly is the best. We would need to think twice about staying again.

Room Tip: We had a room with a balcony but not really worth the extra price. My sister had a room without a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank MysticSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Looking for something in old Montreal on our way to Quebec, we spent one night at Auberge Bonaparte. It was wonderful, and my wife and I wished we were staying longer. Our room was simple but elegant, and very well located in the heart of old Montreal. The front desk was wonderfully helpful, and the included full breakfast was absolutely wonderful. We will absolutely stay here again next time we're in Montreal.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Howard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I can't be superlative enough about this lovely hotel and restaurant. The atmosphere and decor was tasteful, intimate, and comfortable. The service was impeccable and the restaurant was both excellent objectively and a terrific value given the very high prices around the Old City of Montreal. The location was very convenient, walkable to many Montreal attractions. We will definitely stay there again on our next trip to Montreal.

Room Tip: Next time I will request a room facing away from the main street. It overlooks a nice courtyard and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sandra r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#3 of 165 in Montreal
1,116 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#2 of 165 in Montreal
1,403 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#7 of 165 in Montreal
2,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#6 of 165 in Montreal
2,265 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 165 in Montreal
1,785 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 165 in Montreal
2,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bonaparte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bonaparte

Address: 447 St.-Francois Xavier, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2T1, Canada (Formerly Auberge Bonaparte)
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#3 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#4 Family Hotel in Montreal
#25 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: £113 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bonaparte 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Bonaparte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Bonaparte Montreal
Auberge Bonaparte Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing