We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'd be happy to stay here again!”
Review of Hotel Bonaparte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bonaparte
Ranked #2 of 166 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2014

The location of Auberge Bonaparte can't be beat. We were in town for only one night, so we wanted something very central, but not so central that it was noisy. Auberge Bonaparte fit the bill perfectly.

We had two rooms, both next to the elevator, and they were both exceptionally quiet, with great blackout curtains that helped us sleep a little later than otherwise. The beds were comfortable and we had plenty of room to unpack our things.

There are just a couple of minor things I might change. The pillows were very soft and didn't offer any support (I woke up with a neck ache). Also, I thought the layout of the room could have been a little better. There was a lot of empty space, where we could have used a second easy chair. Also, because the bathroom was quite tiny with no counter space, I think the area adjacent to it (which already had a small table) could have been made more functional by adding a mirror and extra lighting.

Other than that, the experience was perfect. The staff was terrific, helping us choose where to eat, as well as what to do on Sunday morning. (Marche Bonsecours was a fabulous shopping experience, and we wouldn't have known about it without their recommendation. Bravo!)

Breakfast, which is included in the price, was excellent! The fruit salad, croissant and omelet were all super. Unfortunately we didn't have the chance to eat dinner here, but if we return - and I hope we do - we'll make sure we do.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bakery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,061)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

513 - 519 of 1,061 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2014

My husband and I planned a week end with friends in Montreal. I found the hotel via Tripadvisor.
The hotel is charming ideally located .The full breakfast included in the room rate was outstanding. The staff especially Luke at the front desk and Jonathan at the bar were warm and friendly. I would highly recommend this property and will stay here again on my next trip.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirtane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

In Old Montreal and very conveniently located within a block of Rue St. Paul and Notre Dame. Nice restaurant where you breakfast is prepared for you. Convenient access to fitness center a few blocks away. Parking is virtually across the street--actually a trendy Mexican restaurant is directly across the street. Concierge has got to be one of the best. Very knowledgeable, accessible and just plain great guy. Rooms of varying size but all have plenty of space and pleasant views. Even one next to elevator didn't let a bit of noise penetrate the walls, or people's noise in the halls either.
Roof top patio with great views of the area, unless you get a room with its own patio/terrasse which also has great views and accessible through large French doors. Only drawback on 5th floor (may be true on others) is that while you control the air conditioning, it is a central unit for a floor and the hotel controls the temperature range irrespective of what you'd like. Typically, in the summer, between 70-71F during night and 73-75F during day. Higher humidity than typical. Not unbearable just a bit frustrating. Public rooms on the other hand are crisp and cold during the summer.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Llibsenoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Auberge Montreal has terrific looking rooms that are modern with wood floors, exposed brick walls, and simple furnishings, but have charming old fashioned windows and antique looking armoire for TV and drawers. They are nicely sized as well. I reserved two rooms and asked that they were near each other, and they were located right opposite of each other, perfect. Location is ideal for exploring Old Montreal. Breakfasts are ample and amazing, and included in the price. Wifi is free and we had a good signal. Parking is in a lot half a block up the street, easy to get to and easy to get things from your car if you forgot to bring everything in. It's easy to get a taxi (via Uber, we didn't try any other way). The front desk staff are pleasant and helpful, and even called ahead to our next hotel in Quebec City to tell them to take care of us!

The rooms could benefit from having an easy chair or two, rather than an upright dining chair. Lighting could definitely be better in the bathroom, though the dimmer switch is very nice for getting up without disturbing your partner. The street can be noisy from time to time though we were never awakened by it. There's no refrigerator, mini bar or coffee maker in the room. There were two water bottles in the room when we arrived, but they were never replaced over our 4-day stay. These things are why it gets 4 stars instead of 5.

The restaurant absolutely gets 5 stars. We had breakfast every morning and ate dinner the last night, which was a delightful experience and the food was delicious. I'd recommend Auberge Bonaparte and would stay there again if I came back to Montreal.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank megapax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This 100 year old plus mansion converted into a small but stylish boutique hotel with modern touches has a perfect location in the heart of Old Montreal. If you are tired of the standardization found in the big chains, this is the place for you. Feels like an upscale B & B with the services of a small hotel. Very pleasant and helpful front office staff, nice bar boasting the best bartender of the neighborhood (self proclaimed but accurate) and outstanding French restaurant with non-snooty helpful servers make this a fun place. Easy walk to sites of the Old City and interesting shops and restaurants but it's so pleasant you may not want to leave the hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Road_Warrior52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I would recommend this hotel - described as 3.5 stars, but I would say is at least 4.5 stars - very highly as being excellent value, in a great location overlooking the beautiful Notre Dame Basilica (lit up at night), and with lovely food in the restaurant both for breakfast and in the evening.

We booked the room with the terrace overlooking the Basilica, and though we only had one afternoon when we were able to sit there with an icecream, because of being out or the weather, it was very relaxing. The bed and bathroom are good too.

The breakfast really is 3 courses - loads for us from UK - and the 2nd best French toast of our whole holiday (1st is Over Easy cafe in Toronto). My only query is that as the breakfast is included in the rate, you are still expected to sign a chitty each day for a few dollars tip for the nice waitresses - or do as I saw some people do, bring small cash to breakfast every day, which I would find irritating. Interestingly we also had the B&B rate at the Omni King Edward in Toronto, later in the holiday, and whilst I also wrote these for them there, no tips were added to our bill - that breakfast really was inclusive.

Our dinner in the restaurant there - set menu with 6 choices in each course - was the best value and one of the nicest of our trip, so worth eating in one evening of your trip.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank worldtraveller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We just spent 4 days in Montreal at the Auberge Bonaparte. We cannot say enough about how much we enjoyed the convenience and old world charm of this hotel. The rooms are small but comfortable, everything is clean and fresh. The service was really great, everyone was helpful and pleasant. Breakfast, included in our stay, was amazing, delicious and perfect regardless of the choice we made each day. When so many hotels appear to basically efficient but souless, a hotel like this one really stands out.
th elocation is perfect for any place you want to ge to in Montreal.

Room Tip: The higher floors are likely a bit quieter at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lorettalenox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#4 of 166 in Montreal
1,127 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Place d'Armes
Hotel Place d'Armes
#8 of 166 in Montreal
2,540 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 166 in Montreal
1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#6 of 166 in Montreal
2,275 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#9 of 166 in Montreal
1,791 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bonaparte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bonaparte

Address: 447 St.-Francois Xavier, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2T1, Canada (Formerly Auberge Bonaparte)
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#2 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#4 Family Hotel in Montreal
#25 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range: £105 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bonaparte 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Bonaparte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Bonaparte Montreal
Auberge Bonaparte Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing