We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Affordable luxury in the heart of Vieux (Old) Montreal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bonaparte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Bonaparte
Ranked #4 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
West Lafayette, IN
Level Contributor
91 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Affordable luxury in the heart of Vieux (Old) Montreal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

My husband and I spent three nights at the Auberge Bonaparte, a medium-sized, updated hotel in Vieux (Old) Montreal. We were greeted warmly and found that we had been upgraded to a king room with a jacuzzi tub; we had originally booked a standard queen room. The room was spacious and clean with views of the street. The decor was classy and understated, real word furniture and hardwood floors, which suited us just fine, and I loved the space in the modern bathroom. The bed was extremely comfortable, and the air conditioning worked very well despite the unusual heat wave.

The Auberge Bonaparte is very close to the cathedral Notre Dame and near to all the action of Old Montreal. It has a roof deck which guests can use to enjoy the sights, with a fantastic view of Notre Dame.

The Bonaparte has a restaurant which served a delicious, substantial, cooked-to-order breakfast each morning (included with the price of each night's stay). Although we didn't have dinner or lunch in the restaurant, the selections looked quite good, and I would consider having dinner there in the future.

Parking is available for a fee, and it is in a lot across the street from the hotel and the Centaur Theatre nearby. I highly recommend this option, as street parking is nearly impossible to find, and the narrow streets of Old Montreal are difficult to navigate. Park the car, use it only when necessary, and take advantage of Montreal's metro system. The Place D'Armes station is just a couple of blocks away.

The hotel was quiet, the rooms clean and spacious, the location was convenient, and the service was impeccable. I have paid far more for far less in other locations, and I'm happy to report that the Bonaparte went beyond my expectations. The Auberge Bonaparte, though not a "budget hotel," was well worth the price.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank conalvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    703
    209
    26
    4
    4
See reviews for
136
570
20
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2010

We arrived during a heavy rainstorm. Although there were two people working in the lobby neither of them seemed interested in even holding the door open, much less helping with the bags. The woman at the desk never made eye contact while going through the check in procedure. It was as if she had something else on her mind and was uttering her memorized script in a robotic way. Fortunately, when we entered our room we were very pleased with its size, decor, bathroom, and bed comfort. The location is minutes from all the places you want to go when vacationing in Old Montreal. We had a room on the courtyard side which was lovely. The roof terrace is a great place to see a view of the city.
The breakfast is yummy, but the service is spotty and they make very sure that you are aware that "although the breakfast is included in the room-the service is not."
We did not eat dinner in the restaurant, but Narcisse down the street has excellent house wines by the glass and a gorgeous bar where you can listen to jazz.
I found this hotel to be a value and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happiness4all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2010

My wife and I just returned from a four night stay in Montreal at the Auberge Bonaparte. The staff was very pleasant and accommodating. The breakfast that was included was very tasty. We had the French toast, French pancakes, and omelettes during our stay. We also had dinner there which was also excellent. We had to leave very early one day for a tour to Quebec City and they provided us with coffee and fruit well before the restaurant was open. The hotel is located a block away from Rue St. Paul which has many shops and good places to eat. We also highly recommend the Steak Frites restaurant on Rue St. Paul. Order the escargot with cheese as an appetizer, the best we've ever had!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Torrance_Trojan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Dorado Hills, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2010

I stayed here in June for 2 nights and was impressed from the moment I arrived. The staff is wonderful - very friendly and helpful. I was traveling alone and had never been to Montreal before, but the staff immediately put me at ease and made me feel at home. The room was cozy and so delightful - very roomy with beautiful windows set in wide alcoves where you can sit and sip coffee and pour over maps of the city to start your day. Breakfast in the restaurant was excellent - the waiters are friendly and attentive, and the french toast is out of this world! The location was perfect - the Basilica is just around the corner and all of the museums, cafes and shopping in Old Montreal are within easy walking distance. I highly recommend this hotel - all of the positive comments from other reviewers are spot on. I would love to stay here again - hopefully in the near future!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank murphygirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2010

A very cute hotel with comfortable beds, fantastic pillows and a fabulous breakfast. We were upgraded to a room with a king bed and so had the luxury of a room with the oversized Jacuzzi tub. Excellent after a long day of walking to see the city! A full breakfast is included – you select your choice from the menu. The breakfast includes a serving of fruit or yogurt (the fruit salad was amazing) and then your choice of eggs done in a variety of ways or French toast. I highly recommend the French toast. Overall a great place and I will return next time I am in the area.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ddlslm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2010

When we booked hotel we could only get 2 of the 3 nights we wanted. 5 days before we left for our trip we were contacted by the hotel and we received the third night. Great follow up.
The hotel parking lot was 1/2 block away so we had access to our car at all times. Reasonable fee for parking. The room was on the second floor facing a couryard witha huge (at least 8 feet by 5 feet) double window. The view included the rear balconies of other houses with there flowers in a distance with excellent privacy. We had a queen bed but the room was large enough for a King bed with a lot of room to walk around. The bath was in another room with a hallway enterance. We liked the wood floors and filickering wall lights as optional lighting. Breakfast is included in one of the best restaurants in Old Montreal. We usually ate in a table for two that was on a street side window. The food was excellent and relaxing. The Hotel was on a main street, central to Old Montreal one block fron the Bascilica Notre Dame. Good Location good hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelokpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butler, Tennessee
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2010

We stayed here for 5 nights to attend a convention(Palais des Congres is only 3 min walk away) and were completely charmed. We had requested one of the rooms with a balcony but the balcony was actually a large patio overlooking the gardens behind Notre Dame and the rooftops of Old Montreal. Bedroom itself is not large but the bath is complete with whirlpool tub. We sat out on the patio most of the time we were in the hotel. Staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful. Restaurant was the best of those we tried with the most professional staff. We hope to go back. and will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davepelpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#7 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Quartier International
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
The William Gray
#2 of 164 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#13 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bonaparte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bonaparte

Property: Hotel Bonaparte
Address: 447 St.-Francois Xavier, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2T1, Canada (Formerly Auberge Bonaparte)
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#4 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#5 Family Hotel in Montreal
#25 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bonaparte 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Bonaparte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Bonaparte Montreal
Auberge Bonaparte Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing