We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep coming back to the Bonaparte”
Review of Hotel Bonaparte

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Bonaparte
Ranked #4 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Keep coming back to the Bonaparte”
Reviewed 6 March 2011

I love, love, love this Auberge. Every chance I get to go back to Montreal (where I grew up) we stay at the Bonaparte. In 2008 we stayed here for 4 days when we got married and the service and staff are superb. We have stayed in the every type of room, but the Terrace suite overlooking the Notre Dame Basilica is the best with tons of space, a romantic view of the Basilica and a private balcony. The food at the restaurant (inculding the complimentary) breakfast is French food at its' best. We will be there again in April 2011. It is in a great location and within walking distance to everything!

Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank malibu76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    733
    216
    26
    4
    4
See reviews for
143
592
22
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2011

Auberge Bonaparte has it all. A chilly day and you are greeted with gracious hosts and offer of coffee. Rooms are immaculate, peaceful and with lovely views. Breakfast is included with stay and the service and food compliment the hotel. Exceptional.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charliemax_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2011

This hotel is on a great quiet street in old Montreal. It's walking distance to the metro, right around the corner from the Notre Dame Church and next to one of Montreal's main Theatre's. The hotel has a great restaurant and breakfast was included with the room rate. The breakfast was very good. You have the same limited choices everyday but they're all good. We had a street side room and did not have any problems with noise. If you live in a major city you'll be surprised how quiet Montreal is, even though there's about 4 million on the island. The front desk was helpful with all our request, i.e. restaurant reccommendaions, taxi's etc.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbafa02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwestern Ontario
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2011

I traveled to Montreal for the first time for a four-day shopping get-away with a girlfriend. After reading the reviews on TripAdvisor we decided to give Auberge Bonaparte a try and we were not disappointed.

The location of the hotel is excellent and in the heart of the Vieux-Port. There were galleries, one-of-a-kind shops, and restaurants and bars all around. There is also a small theatre next door to the hotel which we were going to investigate but ran out of time (next visit!) It is within walking distance of the Metro which quickly whisked us to and from Rue St. Catherine for shopping.

The hotel itself is very charming and we found all of the staff to be helpful, professional and very tolerant of our French! I have to say that the hotel staff in particular and Montreal service staff in general took their jobs very seriously whether they were a bar waitress or store clerk - it was very refreshing not to get re-buffed for asking a question.

Our room was immaculate with hardwood floors, a double and queen bed and a lovely view of Notre-Dame from the window. Neither of us had any problems sleeping on the mattresses and the beds were comfy - although the room was a bit chilly and there was only one extra blanket which we took turns using. Yes, we could have asked for another one but we were so busy and it was not a big deal. The bathroom had a separate shower and a large soaker tub and there was another sink outside of the bathroom itself which made getting ready much easier.

The included breakfast was very nice although we found the choices a bit on the heavy side. If you are into big breakfasts you will be very happy, it was just not how we are used to eating every day and some lighter menu choices would have been great. Having said that we were never unhappy with the quality or taste of breakfast.

We had not planned on eating at the hotel restaurant for dinner but ended having to do so one evening because we returned so late. We inquired on our way up to our room if there was anything available for dinner and they very graciously accommodated us even though it was busy. (We did notice that the taxi drivers did not seem to know where the Auberge was but knew the restaurant, always a good sign- by the end of trip we would say we were going to the restaurant and it saved a lot of confusion.) Dinner was very nice and we had the sole which was done to perfection. Again, a little bit heavy, even for fish, but I also attribute that to being on vacation in general and only being able to take so much rich food.

I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again and am hoping to return with my husband as I think it is a great little romantic hotel. Compare the price with other hotels in Montreal and you will find this one is a bargain, except you get a charming, clean room and great service and a fantastic location.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BabyFactory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn New York
Level Contributor
86 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

Auberge Bonaparte is a lovely quaint hotel in the heart of old montreal. Room 501 has a wonderful terrace overlooking the courtyard of the Notre Dame Basilica. We viewed the beautiful new year's fireworks right from our terrace windows! The breakfast which is included, is served in the elegant Bonaparte restaurant, and is plentiful and well prepared. The free internet service was also very helpful. Overall our stay was very pleasant, relaxing, and comfortable. My only concern was the bed, which was too soft for both of us. Other than that we had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 December 2010

We arrived to a very friendly front desk. We received a room upgrade were treated with great care. The staff was very helpful and had great recommendations. We had no complaints and would stay here again. It's also in a great part of town.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrsmith1421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 December 2010

We researched this hotel for a two night stay in the city. We just showed up and Michael quickly found us a beautiful room with an unbeatable rate. It is walking distance from everything and located in Old Montreal.
The service was excellent. The restaurant is cozy and known throughout for its great breakfast.The waiters were so cute.. Especially the one who was a Patriots fan.

I highly recommend this place and will stay here for my next visit.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank senshisky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Petit Hotel
Le Petit Hotel
#5 of 164 in Montreal
1,043 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
The William Gray
The William Gray
#2 of 164 in Montreal
308 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Gault
Hotel Gault
#3 of 164 in Montreal
1,321 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Hotel Nelligan
Hotel Nelligan
#8 of 164 in Montreal
2,095 reviews
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Auberge du Vieux-Port
Auberge du Vieux-Port
#10 of 164 in Montreal
1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bonaparte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bonaparte

Property: Hotel Bonaparte
Address: 447 St.-Francois Xavier, Montreal, Quebec H2Y 2T1, Canada (Formerly Auberge Bonaparte)
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#4 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#5 Family Hotel in Montreal
#25 Business Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bonaparte 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Bonaparte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Bonaparte Montreal
Auberge Bonaparte Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing