We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“basic but budget friendly”
Review of Maison Brunet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Maison Brunet
Ranked #98 of 145 Montreal B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 July 2013

I have travelled and stayed in similar budget accomodations around the world and I would say that Maison Brunet is definatly comparable. If you want no frills accommodation in a great location with a decent price then I would reccommend this hotel for you. Below is some of the pro's and con's I have found from my own personal experiences during my 5 night stay.

Pro's:
-The location is great within 15-20 minute walking distance to plenty of shops, Chinatown, Old Port, Palais des Congres
-The building was charming, although the floors in the rooms seemed slanted, probably due to age. The terrace was quite nice to sit and enjoy our breakfast.
-The Price was good for a clean private room and bathroom. Our bathroom was just down the hall and you had to use a key to get in which wasn't the most convenient, especially when having to use it in the middle of the night, but at least it was for our own personal use.
-The free breakfast is convenient but not anything extravagent. Coffee, cold cereal, toast, mini muffins, etc.
-Free WiFi
-All rooms include a mini fridge and there is a microwave, kettle, dishes, cutlery, etc. in the lobby to use
-Management was friendly and helpful. I had booked and paid for my room several months in advance but my reservation and payment was somehow lost. The manager worked to resolve the situation as best she could but I would reccommend re-confirming your reservation once more closer to your trip to make sure that everything is properly taken care of.

Con's:
-Our room was very small and hot. We were provided with a fan but still had to sleep with the balcony door open which let in bugs and the noise from the street but was worth it to have some fresh cool air come into the room
-Noise levels. I was woken up several times by noise from cars, loud music, people, etc. at all hours of the night due to having to keep our balcony doors open. Also, some of the room doors close very loudly and the sound echo's through the hotel which may disturb some guests.
-The bed in the room we were in was not firm enough for me and sort of lumpy, same with the pillows
-No elevator and 2 flights of stairs make this not a good option for those who have trouble with stairs. There are also stairs to get into the lobby of the building. Some may find it difficult to carry all of your luggage up 2 flights of stairs when the hotel has no air conditioning and is very warm inside.
-There was no "front desk" and you have to ring a doorbell in the apartment below the hotel to get assistance which may be inconvenient for those who like to have someone readily available to ask questions about the city, get directions, call a taxi, etc.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank misa_cakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2013

I really want to love the Maison Brunet. It's location is ideal - close walk to all the downtown areas and the Berri-UQAM metro station. The house is on a quiet side-street. It has a lovely interior and the rooms were clean. We had a room with a cute terrace overlooking the street.

The breakfast was a so-so mix of continental fare which was disappointing. A B&B should have a decent breakfast or call itself a motel. It is in an area popular with some shady looking people. Two panhandlers took a nice sit on the steps out front one evening while we were there.

The room was small, like European small but we sort of knew that going in. The biggest problem was no air-conditioning and no fans - ceiling or stationary. The room got way too stuffy and hot during the day while we were out. So, we had to sleep with the door open (which had no screen) just inviting the bugs to sleep with us.

There was street parking out front but with all the creeps wandering about, I'm glad we parked in a garage.

We wouldn't stay again because of the lack of air flow in the room. It was rough and it was only June. I'd hate to stay in the heat of summer.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoBrendel82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Nice big quiet room. The house was full, but we never saw anyone. Felt like we had the place to ourselves. Breakfast was so so. Room was very clean and big. Location was great as we walked everywhere. We would come back again when we return to Montreal!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SReese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Very affordable for the location. There were 3 of us traveling together and we each had our own bed. Very spacious room. Love having breakfast in the patio, very peaceful. Manager was friendly and helpful. It would have been perfect if they could ask travelers to be more conscious of closing their doors more gently instead of slamming them. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carpe_Diem_626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Clean, charming, good price in a great location - walking distance to Vieux Montreal.
The management was very friendly and helpful.
The free continental breakfast was good with a fair variety. Nice to enjoy it in the back garden.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012 via mobile

This B&B is an easy walk to Vieux Montreal. Metro stops are also close by. The neighborhood is safe and the B&B is quiet. It has Old World charm. The beds could be a little firmer, and the free WiFi was at times unreliable, these are small complaints. The management is friendly and helpful. The real delight is the wonderful, generous Continental breakfast, which is even more pleasant if it's enjoyed in the charming garden in the back. We recommend this place.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank semipicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Stayed 2 nights during May long weekend. The location is great and there is free street parking on Saturdays and Sundays. Got the room with balcony and private bathroom down the hall. Very clean room and helpful staff. Continental breakfast (yummy bagles :) and wi-fi included. Overall great value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glogowianka82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Auberge Manoir Ville-Marie
Auberge Manoir Ville-Marie
#62 of 145 in Montreal
244 reviews
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
La Conciergerie
La Conciergerie
#22 of 145 in Montreal
127 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Auberge Bishop
Auberge Bishop
#9 of 100 in Montreal
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Gingerbread Manor Bed & Breakfast
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Gite Urbain La Lanterne
Gite Urbain La Lanterne
#26 of 145 in Montreal
76 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Pensione Popolo
Pensione Popolo
#100 of 145 in Montreal
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Brunet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Brunet

Address: 1035 rue Saint-hubert, Montreal, Quebec H2L 3Y3, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range: £55 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Maison Brunet 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maison Brunet hotel offers you a trip in hearth of Old Port Of Montreal in a victorian house of 1860's. Nowadays, this house has been modernized for your own comfort. Ideally situed near of Old City, and near by a short walk to down town, metro, restaurants, shops, tourist activities. Maison Brunet proposes several services at an affordable price. Finally, meet people who love their profession and who want to offer you best trip in Montreal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Maison Brunet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing