We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel strongly recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Star Montreal
Ranked #109 of 144 Montreal B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Nice hotel strongly recommend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

What a wonderful stay I recently had. The room where great. Location perfect
Front desk staff was warm and helpful. Breakfast was great loved the banana bread
Would highly recommend this hotel. Walking close to downtown great bars good restaurants

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    37
    25
    11
    31
See reviews for
7
63
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

The money to value ration is good. However the owners are not professionals and unfortunately you can figure this out quite soon. The breakfast quality is below standard and the breakfast room cannot fit more than 4 people.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Montreal hotels

Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

Nice owners, very friendly and helpful.
Hotel stay Centre Ville is well located (bars, restaurants, cafes) but also very close to the gay scene.
The room are not very spacious but very clean. If you are in Montreal for a few nights, I'd definitely recommand this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank homelolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

I attempted to cancel a booking I had made with these owners as per my booking agreement which was permissible through hostelbookers, the agency that had made the booking. Cancellation policy stated that I had to contact the owners to cancel the booking. The owners of Hotel Stay Centre Ville refused to honor the terms of the booking agreement and actually misled me. When I attempted by telephone to request cancellation, these individuals would hang up on me, not return my voice mail messages, screen and avoid my calls, and make excuses that they were busy, then put me on hold and hang up on me. I eventually had to ask hostelbookers to intervene on my behalf, which they did. The owner characters that run this place are unprofessional, arrogant, rude, self serving, and unscrupulous. There are better properties in the Montreal area for your vacation needs if you value respect, honesty, professionalism, and peace of mind. Avoid, avoid this place!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 966John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

Very clean and friendly staff. Be aware that there isn't someone at the desk all the time, have their number on hand when you arrive. I had to call to be let in to the lobby as the clerk was cleaning the kitchen when I arrived and didn't hear the doorbell.
I found the bed very firm and the pillow lacking and the rooms are small...but that said, there is a fridge, tv and shower - really didn't need much more - we were only there at night. Kitchen and laundry on-site also.

It is next to a metro stop and within walking distance of all the main areas, Old Montreal, Mont-Royal, latin quarter, china town. Lots of great restaurants nearby too.

I would stay here again, I would just bring my own pillow :)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJC031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, Vermont
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

Ok, I need to start this review with the caveat that I'd just come off a transcontinental flight and I was tired, so a little less happy with small irritations than normal. We arrived at about 4:30pm and had gotten pretty lost getting there (heads up that Montreal roads are a mess right now and every major on and off ramp to this hotel from the airport is closed. We had a GPS, but we still had trouble finding a viable route). We arrived and no one answered the door after repeated rings for about 5 mins. I would have left then if I hadn't already paid for the room from hotels.com. The receptionist apologized because she was upstairs and couldn't hear the door bell ringing (maybe this could be fixed with a repeater? Not sure how those things work.) We checked in and I was a little daunted by the steep staircase up to the third floor because I'm pregnant, but it normally would be no big deal. Heads up if you have difficulty with stairs - this is NOT the hotel for you. There's no elevator. The room was small, but clean. My biggest complaint was that the A/C is central so it's controlled by the owner, which was not at my preferred temp. Also the room we were in (8) had a lot of lights that didn't work which was a little annoying but not a huge deal. The bed was small (a double) but comfortable and I was so tired I slept through the crazy night outside though there was quite a lot of noise from the street (it was a friday night). This is a section of town more suited to bar hopping and partying than I was aware of, but there are a lot of places to eat and it was festive! We skipped out on breakfast because it started too late (8:30). A few other warnings...I knew there was parking but I wasn't aware it was 2 blocks away in a public lot and $20/night. That was a bummer. Also, when we arrived, we parked next to the door so I didn't have to walk too far, and in the five minutes it took my husband to walk our suitcases up to our room and I came down to move the car we got a parking ticket for $52! There is a sign in front of the hotel saying 15 min parking for the hotel, but there was always a car in that spot (sometimes for more than an hour) so it wasn't all that helpful. It really put a damper on the end of our vacation especially after we learned we had to pay the $20 parking fee. So what started out as a $100 night turned into a $170 night which was far less of a value. I still give it an average rating because the room was decent even if the hotel itself is a bit run down and I can't blame the hotel staff for the parking ticket though it did seem a bit harsh for the five minutes a pregnant woman needed to unload her bags.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ctedesco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
170 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

This is a nice privately owned hotel, run by David & Giovanni; the rooms are small, but very clean, great shower, good breakfast, a very good location to walk or to take the metro. The area is full of cafes, pubs, and restaurants. If we are in Montreal again, will definitely book it again. An extremely good value for money, but make sure you arrive after 4:30 PM, the hotel's reception is only open in the evening, but that has some advantages, with the key code, after you book the hotel, you have an access to the hotel & your room at any time. The breakfast room is also tiny, the breakfast time is from 8-10am, so you may miss it - if you have to leave early. The hotel reminds me of some small private hotels in Amsterdam; clean rooms, good breakfast with fruit, yogurt, juice, coffee, bagels. 2 great restaurants (Be Bap = Korean), and a small Vietnamese on the same street with Bring Your Own Wine. IGA supermarket & secure underground parking very close...

Room Tip: Note the check-in time; after 4:30pm; rooms facing the back are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie0811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Roberval
Le Roberval
#75 of 163 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Candlewood Suites Montreal Centre-Ville
The Village (Gay Village)
Hotel de L'Elysee
Hotel de L'Elysee
#144 of 163 in Montreal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Village (Gay Village)
L'Escogriffe B&B
L'Escogriffe B&B
#46 of 144 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Le Chasseur B&B
Le Chasseur B&B
#41 of 144 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Aux Studios Montcalm
Aux Studios Montcalm
#49 of 144 in Montreal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Star Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Star Montreal

Property: Hotel Star Montreal
Address: 910 Maisonneuve Blvd East, Montreal, Quebec H2L 1Z1, Canada (Formerly Hotel Stay Centre Ville)
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > The Village (Gay Village)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Star Montreal 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in one of the most dynamic and bouncy parts of Montreal, you will find yourself at home in the Hotel Stay Centre-Ville. The reasonable rates, perfect location and excellent service will make your stay a most enjoyable and friendly experience. Perfectly located in the heart of downtown Montreal, the Hotel Stay Centre-Ville is near the Berri-UQAM metro station and the University of Quebec and Montreal (UQAM) and just one block from the Montreal Central Bus Station and the The Gay Village; our establishment is a real treasure for Montreal tourists and visitors. The Hotel Stay Centre-Ville is surrounded by fine shops, restaurants, night clubs, cabarets, art galleries and many other interesting places. We are just a skip and a hop away from the vibrant Sainte-Catherine and Saint-Denis Streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Star Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing