We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room w/fireplace was beautiful, staff wasn't the friendliest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Ranked #16 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Room w/fireplace was beautiful, staff wasn't the friendliest”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The hotel was a boutique hotel right near the metro and just a block off the main shopping area of Rue St. Catherine, so the location was great. The room was absolutely beautiful with a very large bathroom with seperate tub and shower, a double sink, and a sliding door which you could leave open or closed and see into the bedroom. It was immaculate and inexpensive in comparison to other rooms we priced of similar quality. The outdoor whirlpool style pool was small, but very well maintained and a great addition to the hotel. The hotel also has a trendy French restaurant on the premises, which seemed busy every night, though we did not eat there so I can't vouch for the food. The valet parking fee was in line with other hotels and did offer in/out privilages which was a bonus. The valet/bell captains were very nice and friendly enough. The concierge/main desk staff lacked the social skills one would expect from the welcome desk in a touristy city. You didn't get that welcome feeling when you arrived nor throughout the stay. They weren't especially rude, just sort of indifferent. However, despite the coldness of the front desk staff, I would not let this sway you from staying here. Clean, beautiful, sexy hotel for a reasonable price!

Room Tip: Get the King room with Fireplace - it's large, bathroom is huge, seperate bathtub and shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbug2376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic A, Director of Sales at Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal, responded to this review, 16 September 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Le St-Martin and sharing your impressions. We greatly appeciate the feedback!

As you can imagine, I am delighted to read you enjoyed your overall experience with us and that found the quality of our establishment (expecially our room concepts) to be top notch.

That being said, I apologize if you felt the staff's welcoming was not as warm and friendly as you had expected.
Being a very new hotel (1 year old) I must admit we are still fine tuning our guest services, abnd trying to improve on these aspects.

I can promise you we are improving everyday, and that the guest experiences we offer are only going to get better!

Looking forward to hosting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    921
    437
    82
    35
    25
See reviews for
260
745
63
233
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Schoten, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Le St-Martin is new hotel in the city center of Montreal. Shopping and dining is only steps away. The historic centre of Montreal is a short walk. The hotel has a nice contemporary style. The rooms are very beautiful, they can compete with many of the 5 star hotels we have stayed before. The little outdoor swimming pool is really nice during a hot summer night. The restaurant of the hotel serves sophisticated meals with a European flavor. However, it is not cheap. Luckily there are many budget friendly options in the neighborhood. Le St-Martin is warmly recommended by us.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mvanimpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic A, Director of Sales at Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal, responded to this review, 12 September 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor!
We are very happy to see you had a great time at Le St-Martin and hope we will see you again soon!

Best,

Frederic Aouad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Stayed for 2 nights over Labour Day weekend, and overall, it was a good experience.

Pros:
1. Location is fantastic! The hotel is right behind Simon's (a department store), and a block away from St Catherine street, the mecca for shoppers. There's also a Metro station (Peel) across the street.
2. Thr room was spacious, modern and elegant (see picture), It was also very clean. The bed was very comfy (not too hard, not too soft)
3. The continental breakfast at l'Aromate (pastries, eggs, fruit etc) was actually quite delicious.
4. The valets were very courteous and prompt.
5. We had a corner room and it was very quiet.
6. The pool, although small, is heated (not very warm though) and outdoors. Nice place to relax (see picture).

Cons:
1. There isn't really a place to pull up in order to check-in. Their stopping zone is on Metcalfe, immediately after you turn off Maisonneuve Ouest, and it always seems to be full. We had to circle the block a few times to find a parking spot, so it was a little frustrating.
2, There are two clerks at the reception, but only one ever seems to work (i.e., do the check-ins/outs, assist guests). When we were standing in line to check in, the one just standing there asked us if we were checking in, and when we said yes, she just went right back to staring at her computer. Weird.
3. There is no bathroom wall (see picture)! The bathroom is separated from the bedroom by a movable set of wood slat doors (although there is a proper door on the other side). This means that you can hear EVERY sound from the bathroom. AWKWARD! And not very conducive to romance!
4. The Wi-Fi signal was pretty crappy. Move to the right, and you got a signal (not a very strong one, and very slow), move to the left, and it was gone!

One thing to note: Valet parking was included in our package, and I'm not sure if you can self-park.

So we did enjoy ourselves, and the location can't be beat! But the bathroom thing is a real put-off, at least for me! :)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CherryPinkPeony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic A, Director of Sales at Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal, responded to this review, 12 September 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your guest experience. We greatly appreciate it!

We are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will return to us in the future.
Regarding the bathroom lay-out, I believe you were in one of our Grand Luxe room which offer this open room concept with the bathtub & bathroom. I understand the lack of sound proofing might be an issue for you, and am happy to let you know we have other beautiful rooms types in which such a situation would not occur.

Thank you,

Frederic Aouad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Our daughter gave us a wedding anniversary stay at the hotel. It was fabulous! Our room was spacious and luxurious. Hotel has very friendly staff and great room service. .
The only hotel we recommend to stay in downtown Montreal.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnny010101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederic A, Director of Sales at Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal, responded to this review, 9 September 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor!
We are delighted to read you enjoyed your stay amongst us at Le St-Martin, abd hope to see you amongst us once again.

Best,

Frederic Aouad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ossining, New York
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Beautiful, luxurious room; friendly helpful staff; hotel is centrally and very conveniently located! Could get everywhere (almost) on nearby metro which is very clean, safe though non air-conditioned. Buy multi trip pass.

Room Tip: We had a luxury room with King bed that came with our package - everything was top notch! Bed reall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2011

I must admit that I was slightly worried about some of the reviews I'd read on here; but needn't have been, this little hotel is super. We arrived 2 hours early for check in - the valet parking worked like a dream. The reception staff were extremely polite and facilitated a quick and easy check-in. We didn't have to wait for our rooms they were ready for us and were all delighted with them, lovely comfortable beds, bathrooms and very clean. The staff were super throughout; the continental breakfast was delicious and the lady waitress even remembered our preferences on the 2nd day. We loved sitting around the pool and although it is small, it served our purposes and the youngest member of our group in particular loved it in there. The concierge seemed extremely knowledgeable about restaurants and pointed us in the direction of a superb place for dinner that exactly met our needs. In fact we went back there the next day for lunch we because we enjoyed it so much. Despite the hotel being sold out of King rooms on the night of our departure the hotel accommodated a late check out until 2 pm for us all, of course, per many hotels we had to re validate our keys at 11am so that they worked until 2pm but the reception staff advised us. The hotel is in a super location, great security ... city centre close to great stores and a 5 minute taxi ride (approx Canadian $8 inc tip) from the Basilica Notre Dame and old Montreal.

IF I was forced to give any constructive feedback it would be to the staff in the hotel bistro bar. Not outstanding; and we probably wouldn't use this facility in the hotel again. However, saying that we did notice that this facility was extremely busy so there must be very happy customers who enjoy food and drinks there.

This is definitely a 4* property and 4* prices anyone wanting 5* this is not the hotel for you.

Room Tip: Contact the hotel in advance of your arrival to discuss the different rooms they have available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPTA2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2011

if you're looking for a full service hotel in downtown montreal, this is it!...great staff....beautiful rooms....great value...we booked a package that included valet parking, continental breakfast, subway AND museum passes....that was at least three hundred dollars for the two of us for three days...you will love it!~

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frank s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#24 of 164 in Montreal
2,553 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#6 of 164 in Montreal
1,392 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Crystal
Hotel Le Crystal
#13 of 164 in Montreal
1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal

Property: Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Address: 980 Boulevard de Maisonneuve, Montreal, Quebec H3A 1M5, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Downtown is a haven of comfort overlooking urban life. It offers 123 rooms and suites with a warm and friendly atmosphere that reflects its philosophy. A unique blend of contemporary and traditional style endows Le St-Martin with charm and gives meaning to the term "Hotel Particulier." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing