We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could've easily been a better rating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Ranked #18 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Could've easily been a better rating”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed at Le St-Martin this summer. The external appearance of the hotel is not a good indication of the inside as the rooms are quite lovely - nicely decorated and very clean. As some other reviewers have already mentioned, the lighting in the rooms(especially in the bathroom) is dim.

The outdoor pool although small is a nice touch. There were only a few people at the pool when we used it so it was perfect but had there been more, it would've been hard to swim.

Apparently there is a turn down service in the evenings where complimentary snacks are left in the rooms however in the 3 nights we stayed at the hotel, we never experienced this.

What would've made this hotel so much better would've been the service. With the exception of a few employees, most of the staff were less than polite. Many times there wasn't even a greeting when an employee was approached for assistance. You really were left with the impression that you were interrupting their day. There was one man at the front counter in particular who never acknowledged any guests or smiled the entire time we were there. Having said that, there were 3 other employees(during different time frames) a the front counter who were very friendly and helpful.

This hotel has the potential to be a really good one but that will require consistent, friendly and helpful service from all staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank avidtraveller04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth M, Manager at Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the trip advisor community.

We always appreciate positive and negative comments as they help us grow to be better each day. That being said, I would like to apologize for the less than perfect service you received with us. We do try our best to always have consistently great service and we will definitely bring up this issue with our staff.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Beth Milmine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    894
    428
    81
    35
    25
See reviews for
247
726
63
231
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This is a great place to stay if you want affordable luxury

You won't find anything with this much quality at this price point

I really liked the place and the staff and would happily stay here again !

Room Tip: Make sure you bring a credit card to avoid any arguments with the receptionists when checking in
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth M, Manager at Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Michael,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the trip advisor community.

We really appreciate your nice comments about our hotel and pricing as well as the staff here at Le St Martin.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Montreal!

Sincerely,

Beth Milmine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My husband surprised me with a long weekend getaway to Montreal for my 40th birthday. Neither of us had ever been to Montreal & it was the perfect introduction to the city & birthday weekend. The hotel is really very nice, with a fantastic staff who couldn't have been more helpful, Maude in particular, at the concierge was wonderful, giving us the best advice for sightseeing & some wonderful restaurant & spa recommendations. Our room was really lovely, with a very comfy bed, soft, luxurious linens & a huge bathroom with a fabulous soaking tub, big enough for 2. My only complaint is that our room's fireplace (and I love a fireplace) was not only not wood burning, (which I understand, as the hotel is a high-rise) but it also wasn't a gas burning fireplace, but turned on & off with a light switch. There was a light bulb inside that lit up the fake fire, this was kind of funny, but also a bit disappointing as the fireplace seemed like a waste. But that was my only issue. The hotel was lovely and comfortable & the staff was truly very friendly & more than helpful. Should we return to Montreal we would definitely stay at the St. Martin again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmarinucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth M, Manager at Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the trip advisor community.

We appreciate your nice comments about our hotel and staff, we`re glad to read that Maude helped you out so much during your stay with us.

My apologies about the fireplace, it is meant to be there for ambiance only.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Beth Milmine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My husband and I sent a long weekend in this hotel in July. Although we have been to Montreal many times this was our first at Le St-Martin and we were sooooo impressed. The staff is very friendly, the rooms large and extremely comfortable (ours had a fireplace and a huge bathroom) and the location is absolutely perfect. Walking distance to shopping, art galleries and Crescent St restaurants. Montreal is a wonderful city and Le St-Martin Hotel is a delightful place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kateandgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth M, Manager at Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the trip advisor community.

We really appreciate your great comments about our hotel and staff and we`re happy to read that you find us to be a gem. We do hope you decide to visit us again on your next trip to Montreal!

Sincerely,

Beth Milmine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington Vermont
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Only staying for a night , and wish it was longer already. Great location, close to shopping and lots of activities. Picking someone up at the airport in the am and really close to that as well. (15-20 minutes) Comfy beds, lots of room. Great service and a nice restaurant downstairs with outside seating. Very happy with my choice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caoBurlingtonVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth M, Manager at Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your awesome experience with the trip advisor community.

We greatly appreciate your excellent comments about our hotel and restaurant and we do hope to see you again on your next visit to Montreal.

Sincerely,

Beth Milmine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Staff went out of there way to make us feel welcome! F1 refreshments daily! Rooms very clean and roomy! Only a few blocks to downtown and Peel St activities! Small pool. Metro across street! Highly advised! So close to F1 activity you could hear the music and buzz!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pbohnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth M, Manager at Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with the trip advisor community.

We`re so happy to read about how much you enjoyed your stay with us over F1 weekend! Grand Prix weekend is always a great way to kick start the summer here in Montreal, it`s always extremely busy and fun in the city.

Thank you again for sharing you experience and we hope to see you next year to Grand Prix weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I spent last weekend with my two sisters at this great hotel! The three of us shared one room with 2 Queen beds. It was great! The beds and linens were top quality and the room was quiet which I loved since I'm such a light sleeper. I had no trouble with the light in the bathroom even though my eyes aren't what they used to be! We took a rest from shopping, great location for that, and while we were resting late in the afternoon there was a knock at the door. A lovely young lady was offering us snacks at no charge. What a nice touch. Always an apple to take on the front desk and friendly staff. We will be staying there again! and again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrainToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth M, Manager at Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing your great experience with the trip advisor community.

We`re so happy to read about how much you enjoyed your stay with us and about how much you appreciated the little touches we have here at Le St Martin.

Thank you again we look forward to all your future trips to Montreal!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Square Phillips Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#23 of 164 in Montreal
2,504 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Loews Hotel Vogue
Loews Hotel Vogue
#7 of 164 in Montreal
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Sofitel Montreal Golden Mile
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Place d'Armes Hotel & Suites
Vieux-Montreal (Old Montreal)
Le Saint-Sulpice
Le Saint-Sulpice
#14 of 164 in Montreal
1,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal

Property: Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Address: 980 Boulevard de Maisonneuve, Montreal, Quebec H3A 1M5, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Downtown is a haven of comfort overlooking urban life. It offers 123 rooms and suites with a warm and friendly atmosphere that reflects its philosophy. A unique blend of contemporary and traditional style endows Le St-Martin with charm and gives meaning to the term "Hotel Particulier." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing