We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very high standard of food in relaxed atmosphere”
Review of Bistro Duo.D - CLOSED

Bistro Duo.D
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$28
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Le Sud-Ouest (Southwest District)
Description: Authentique bistro de quartier. Ambiance conviviale. Des produits vrais et fais maison. Votre meilleur ami epicurien et sa femme vous recoivent chez eux pour une bonne bouffe.
London
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very high standard of food in relaxed atmosphere”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

This is a lovely restaurant. The menu is not large but I liked that as it meant all the dishes were freshly prepared by the chef (who is also the owner). Having said the menu is not long there is something for everyone. I had the snails in garlic butter, delicious, and the cod which was delectable and perfectly cooked. My partner has a really fresh and tasty geen salad and perfectly cooked steak frites. They change the menu according to season/avaiability etc.The place has a really cool atmoshere, lots of exposed brick and rustic features but chic at the same time. All the cooking is done in full view of the restaurant. Service (by the Chefs charming wife) was knowledgeable and friendly.
Many popular restauarnts these days have the tables too close together and the noise levels can be so loud that you cannot hold a conversation. This place has not fallen into that trap. The tables are well spaced out and although the place was full it was not at all noisy. I could hear every word ! Perfect for a realxing and romantic evening. And it was very good value for money. We will be going back !!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank itsbeeroclock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    50
    12
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely Winter Calm...”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Trip Advisor recommended this lovely Bistro in Montreal's Hot NEW little Griffintown...
My friend and I chose a quiet winter evening to catch up and we had a delicious meal...
great service...nice ambiance and the piece de resistance was the little AMUSE-BOUCHE
we had with fantastic sourdough bread and butter!
Please visit this great little find!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank janieb50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Cool urban setting, relaxed&friendly atmosphere, great food”
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Tried out Bistro DuoD on the basis of other tripadvisor comments and am completely in agreement.
Menu on the wall, providing 5 or so options for starter & main, along with 3 dessert options. For me, this is preferable to being swamped by loads of different choices. Food wonderful flavour with apparent high quality ingredients.
The couple who own and run this place were really friendly, but we never felt that our privacy was invaded. They have got "service" down to a tee. Nice touch with the kitchen being open and being part of the open style of the bistro, which has very high ceilings and exposed brrick walls. Toilet facilities very cool with own personal towels for hand drying.
All-in-all an excellent choice for romance or families. Good value too - between 4 of us, we had a nice bottle of red, 2 starters, 4 mains, 2 desserts and 2 coffees for $144, which for me demonstrates very good value for money. HIGHLY recommended.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank rhcasserley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Montreal must see - million dollar tip.”
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Located in a charming Montreal neighborhood is this gorgeous bistro. This husband and wife team excel in taking a simple menu and making it extraordinary, and the service was unparalleled.

I chose the "salmon with ratatouille" the fish was perfectly cooked on a bed of vegetables which weren't overpowered by garlic (that you usually find with a ratatouille). A little dressing over the salmon enhanced not overpowered it's subtle flavours. At $20.50 the beautifully plated dish is very reasonably priced.

My partner chose the "chicken breast" which sounds dull but the dish was enviable. The chicken was succulent with lightly crispy skin. It lay on a bed of lightly cooked beans and potatoes with a light mustard sauce.

The wine is reasonably priced too.

There's a wonderful ambience to the restaurant that is only open for supper and dinner (opens 5pm). It's a short simple menu executed extremely well.

We arrived late on a Tuesday night and were greeted warmly by the host Catherine, and stayed late talking to her and her husband about the menu and the wines. They are a charming couple with a lovely inviting space we highly recommend to locals and travelers alike. We wish it was closer to our home in Sydney, Australia.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ecmorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Warmth, sophistication & delicious food”
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Interesting neighbourhood to explore- we happened on this restaurant. It has an unusual combination of great food, sophisticated decor and warm welcome. Definitely would be a frequent choice if we lived in this city.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank VancouverDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bistro Duo.D also viewed

 
Montreal, Quebec
Montreal, Quebec
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing