We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jewel in the middle of the city”

Lieu Historique National du Canal-de-Lachine
Book In Advance
More Info
US$68.02*
and up
Downtown and Old Montreal South City Bike Tour
Ranked #18 of 396 things to do in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: No longer used as a means of transportation, this canal now serves as a recreation area with hiking and biking trails.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
145 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Jewel in the middle of the city”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The canal just get better and better. We live about 3 miles from Marche Attwater. Lucky for us we can walk or bike the canal pathways directly to the Marche.

The north side is now open after 2 years of new condo development work. Thank god.

The canal takes you from the Old Port (Vieux Port) to Park Rene Levesque. About 5 miles.

The great part is that both sides, for the most part, have a path, thus the traffic level is low.

You don't have to worry about car traffic and it is beautiful.

It is not uncommon to see people reading, rowing, biking, playing with their dogs, jogging, etc.

Again, not crowded, but safe and fun.

this is one of the cool adventures we take new guests to when they come with us to Montreal. It is not something they'd find on their own.

It starts in the old port. If you want to rent a bike, there are 2 shops on the road near the port (Rue De La Commune) one each side of St. Laurent. eg. find St. Laurent - go to the bottom and walk 100 feet either East or West.

Once you ride the 5 miles to the Parc, relax and look West at the wide St. Lawrence river. We always have an ice cream.

For the ride back you can retrace your steps along the other side of the canal, or take the bike path along the southern side of the island of Montreal.

We generally take the later as there are many parks, more ice cream stands, a wide bike path, and fantastic views.

Along the way there usually are surfers riding the curls in the river.

If you follow the signs, it will take you right back to Marche Attwater.



Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    201
    41
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best promenade”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I've been to Paris, and I know, we are in Montreal, but still, this little promenade, from Atwater Market to Complexe du Canal Lachine , is a delight. You can either walk or bike by the canal, bixies always an option, and get a really fun Montreal experience. I have done in many ways, one, my friend Louise came to pick me up at the Complexe du Canal, because I am an artist and this is where artists work. We had a picnic by the canal, lay on the grass and relaxed big time as others bike by. So, people gazing is good here too. Another time, I walked all the way to the Atwater Market, grabbed a lunch at the sushi place, looked at the many shops, bought some great organic meat at the organic butcher in the market, got so much cheese at the Fromagerie, amazing selection. In the summer days, I buy my flowers, I walk back and forth, meet friends, have a coffee, in all, a great walk, beautiful buildings, funky shopping at Warshaws. A great place to relax while moving!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank carolinademontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
104 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Cycling; Walking; Cross Country skiing; boating”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

A favorite with Montrealers; a stop at the historic Lachine Canal. It used to be the only link for ships to reach the Great Lakes before the St Lawrence seaway was open. You are close to downtown Montreal . You can walk; rent a canoe; paddle boat; rent bikes; cross country ski in the winter. And not least; go buy fresh produce at the Atwater market. Loved the place so much; it's now where i live.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pompombionique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A charming avenue of water provides a view of Montreal's natural beauty”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The Lachine canal area runs through some of the lovely neighbourhoods of Montreal. In the area near the Atwater market, across the canal, is a place to rent kayaks or canoes. It's heavenly to paddle in behind these areas you wouldn't otherwise see. Keep in mind that you will need to take the boat out of the water and portage a few times at bridges, where the water level takes a steep drop, but it's pretty easy to do. It's also fabulous to cycle the trails alongside the scenic canal.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BeaBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice walk along the canal”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We were strolling thru Old Montreal to the east end then headed down to the canal to walk to the Atwater Market. At least a 4 km walk west along the canal with lots of stops to read the historical plaques along the way. If you like to walk I highly recommend it. Or you can hire a Bixi bike and cycle.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lieu Historique National du Canal-de-Lachine also viewed

 

Been to Lieu Historique National du Canal-de-Lachine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing