We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chateau de l'Argoat
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel de Paris(Montreal)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel de l'ITHQ(Montreal)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Loft Hotel(Montreal)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Elegant(Montreal)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (501)
Filter reviews
501 results
Traveller rating
239
219
31
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
239
219
31
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssherbrooke metro stationbagelslatin quarterno elevatorcontinental breakfastfree parking behind the hotelrue st denisau chocolatfree local callstwo flights of stairsold montrealfirst floorqueen beddirectly across the streetwhirlpool tubsome great restaurantsseparate shower
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
186 - 191 of 501 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Year after year we keep coming back to the Chateau de l'Argoat. We keep coming back because of the price and location. First time visitors to Montreal usually stay downtown but seasoned travellers know that much of the excitement of Montreal is in the Latin Quarter and the Plateau neighbourhoods. Of course, if you want to go downtown, the Metro is just across the street.

As usual, the breakfast (from 7 AM to noon!) is adequate and the staff are very friendly and helpful.

We'll be back next year. And the year after. And the year after that...

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kanadai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We stayed at Chateau L'Argoat for 4 nights. The location was great, one block from the subway and very close to the Latin Quarter. The staff was amazing: friendly, helpful and very professional. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick0606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We stayed here in July as our favourite B&B in the area closed down. I couldn't be moreplease with our stay. Location is perfect for us - around the corner from the Sherbrooke Metro station and a 10 min walk from the restaurants and shops on St. Denis and St. Laurent. The room and bathroom were spacious and clean. WiFi and air conditioning worked great. Breakfast was perfect for us - time was flexible (unlike staying at a B&B) and light enough that we weren't stuffed for lunch. The Montreal bagels were delicious and I though the selection of continental breakfast items was good (toast, croissants, yogurt, muffins, juice). I didn't mind the parking situation - you just need to be prepared to leave your keys so they can move the cars around, but I didn't find the alley questionable. Great value for the money. Overall, a great stay and we will definitely book here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 12 - backs on the alley so was not noisy at all.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jpak517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

This place is amazing....wonderful croissants every morning...muffins are terrific too! Staff is amazing! They will lend umbrellas...corkscrews...great advice on where to eat , etc...ALL with a smile and cordial manner...FREE parking! Easy access to the subway ( Don't enter the subway across the street though...go along the Berry Street access ( much cleaner and nicer)...Would we stay there again? ABSOLUTELY!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Wanda917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

I stayed at this hotel in June 2012 in room 26, "the quietest room in the hotel" as advertised on the hotel website. Overall, it was a wonderful experience. The room really was quiet, with a giant bathroom. I'd definitely stay here again. It was exceptional quality for the price you pay, especially in downtown Montreal. This is a boutique hotel, so if you are looking for a fancy 4 star hotel with a spa and room service, you should not stay here.

Things to know:
Pros:
1) Air conditioning
2) 24 hour front desk
3) free wifi in the rooms
4) free local calls
5) there is a safe in the room
6) breakfast (fruit, bagels, toast, muffins, juice/coffee/tea) is included (no room service, but you can call ahead and arrange for a breakfast tray to be ready for pickup)
7) located within 5 minute walk from the Sherbrooke metro station

Cons:
1) There is no elevator in this hotel, and the stair case is narrow. Anyone traveling with many suitcases or large suitcases or anyone with mobility problems will have trouble with the stairs.

Room Tip: Room 26 is really quiet. I didn't hear anything!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lil_starfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews