We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Helpful Staff”
Review of Chateau Versailles

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chateau Versailles
Ranked #61 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Campbelville, Ontario, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Great Location and Helpful Staff”
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We have stayed in the Hotel Chateau Vesailles in Montreal several times over the past five years and have always been most impressed with the cleanliness of the hotel, excellent quality of guest service provided by the staff and wonderful location of the hotel. It is right on Sherbrooke Street near the centre of Montreal and is within walking distance of Museums, shopping ang excellent restaurants.

The rooms are always clean and quiet, despite the hotel being on a major thoroughfare. This is likely because the hotel is located in an old and very solid Montreal mansion with thick walls and double windows. They rooms are quite large for an older hotel and the washrooms clean, although not updated.

The staff are the highlight of the hotel. From the doormen and "chasseurs" to the front desk to housekeeping everyone knows every quest by name and seem willing to do whatever is requested to help guests to enjoy their stay in Montreal. Suggestions on restaurants are always welcome and offered freely. We have found several great establishments through their recommendations.

When in Montreal this is a great hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lawrence Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandieLeMeridien, General Manager at Chateau Versailles, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your words of praise for the Chateau Versailles and our associates. The associates have worked here for many years and treat the hotel as if it were their own. They all work extremely hard in making sure that they have not overlooked anything to ensure that your experience with us was complete.

As you are aware, the Chateau Versailles celebrated our 100th anniversary a few years ago. We have started updating the property, which will be on going. Hope that you were able to enjoy the new Tea Service in the latter part of the afternoon.

I do hope to have the opportunity to meet you in person the next time you visit with us.

Best Regards,

S. Moran
General Manager
Chateau Versailles Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    239
    101
    30
    15
See reviews for
68
253
43
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lowell, Massachusetts, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Looking for a hotel around Montreal at a reasonable price. Stumbled across this hotel on the AAA website. Did some research and got a better rate on the hotels personal website. My 4 night stays averaged to about 90 dollars a night including tax! By comparing to other hotels in the area this deal was great! It included a free breakfast every morning which I thought was great. Tea, coffee, pastries, cereal, toast. Very well stocked and the server was constantly going around and cleaning the tables. The staff were very friendly always giving me tips and directions. The valet parking was expensive. I would recommend parking at the Grande Seminary public parking which is outdoors for $15 a day, but you are saving $12 by not parking with the valet service and the public parking is only about 2 blocks away.
The hotel is 3 blocks from the Guy Concordia metro which made it very easy to get around. I was not aware of the afternoon tea and cookies. It would be nice if the hotel handed you a paper or booklet when you walked on or when your reservation was made talking about all the amenities they offer and when they start and end.
Loved the hotel location right off the highway and on a main street. Stayed on the 4th floor, no elevator but taking the stairs was fine. Got a queen bed. The room was a perfect size for two people. The bathroom needs a little love, but everything worked perfectly fine other then needing some updates. If you are looking for a good deal I would stay at this hotel. Once you make your reservation I would suggest to call and ask them about getting a complimentary upgrade if there are rooms available. They do take requests and also you can give them your arrival time. Safe Travels!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

I thought the name was rather pretentious, but the hotel was a lovely little surprise. Quiet although on Sherbrooke st, wonderful buffet breakfast, old-world charm, proximity to the metro and to the airport shuttle, and attentive staff combine to make this a very pleasant choice in Montreal. The only problem would be if you have bulky luggage or children in strollers - there is no elevator here!

Room Tip: Ask for a inward facing room, facing the inner courtyard and not the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rypper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

I try to book into the Chateau Versailles whenever I visit Montreal. I am never disappointed with the accommodation or the service. The location is great - close to the museums and high end shops on Sherbrooke St. and restaurants and casual stores on nearby St. Catharine's. The rooms are individually designed and decorated, reflecting the origins of the elegant brownstone structure as 19th Century town houses. Each room has high ceilings and original art, and each is welcoming in its own way. The complementary continental breakfast is exactly what you would expect of a French boutique hotel, with fresh pastries very day. They have now instituted afternoon tea in the salon. I returned from a long, wintry walk this afternoon to be greeted by warm tea and home made cookies in the salon. I warmed up in front of the fireplace, sitting beside the Christmas tree and listening to soft, classical music. It is the best welcome one could ask for!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAHToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Stayed for 4 nights recently during a visit to local university. Same excellent quality, same great service, with easy access to the metro and downtown. The breakfast is very nice and plentiful, (but the options haven't changed since my first stay).

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nameleftblank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

The "extra" benefit of this small hotel is its proximity to the Musée de Beaux Arts/Art Gallery of Montreal and to the fine shopping experience available at nearby stores including Holt Renfrew and Ogilvie's. I can understand the "put-down" by the businessperson "qwerty0007'; what he/she says is correct but were, to us, minor notes when contrasted with the sort of plusses mentioned by "ericmarr" and Lizzie G.
Mr Van

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherbrooke
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Stayed there in October. Business travel. Hotel booked by third party so I didn't pick it. The location is ok. The service is efficient. Breakfast is nothing to write home about. No lift so be prepared to lug you luggage around. I had issues with the room I got but since I checked in late at night I figured I was stuck there. If it was my dime and I checked in earlier I would have book the hell out. I might have gotten one of the room that was bad (room quality across the hotel as stated by another reviewer might be the issue). Its a possibility. The room that I got was super small without any ventilation other then opening a window that was facing a street with traffic. The bathroom was old, filthy and with an odour problem from the vent. The carpet in the room and in the hallway were stained beyond recognition. I found hair in my bed. Overall a really bad experience. It was like a rundown and not so clean 'Hampton Inn'. I've stayed for business in a lot of hotels in downtown Montreal over the years. For that price you can get a better accommodation and location in Montreal.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank qwerty0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandieLeMeridien, General Manager at Chateau Versailles, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments. Sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. The Hotel is a heritage hotel and very well indicated on our web site that we do not have lifts. Our rooms do vary in size, perhaps with the availability of the hotel the only rooms that were left were on the smaller size. The hotel was an elaborate house from the 1900, turned in a Hotel. We pride ourselves on offering superb service and offering a unique product in Montreal. For future reference we do foresee changing the carpeting in the future. We do hope that you will try us again in the future.

S.Moran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Meridien Versailles
Le Meridien Versailles
#63 of 164 in Montreal
622 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Nouvel Hotel & Spa
Le Nouvel Hotel & Spa
#66 of 164 in Montreal
880 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Best Western Plus Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#67 of 164 in Montreal
646 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Auberge Le Pomerol
Auberge Le Pomerol
#41 of 164 in Montreal
531 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Ambrose
Hotel Ambrose
#71 of 164 in Montreal
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Versailles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Versailles

Property: Chateau Versailles
Address: 1659 Sherbrooke Street West, Montreal, Quebec H3H 1E3, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chateau Versailles 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Chateau Versailles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Versailles Hotel Montreal
Chateau Versailles Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing