We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Piece of history” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau Versailles

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau Versailles
Ranked #63 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Level Contributor
106 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Piece of history”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013 via mobile

Hotel has been a residence lacks the usual things. No lift which is a pain when you are on the 4th floor. B/fast very average and staff there more interest in talking than refill what had ran out. All other staff were very helpful. I personally think this should be a visiting place not an hotel...

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    225
    95
    28
    15
See reviews for
61
241
39
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingstown, St. Vincent
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

My significant other and I spent a couple days at this historic hotel. First impressions were great. We were a bit late in checking in but our key passes were already processed so time at reception was brief. The room was very clean and the bed so comfy that you want to stay in it all day. The complimentary continental breakfast was very good; tasty croissants, great coffee and delicious apple turnovers among other treats were satisfying. If you are not bothered by the noises of vehicles on the major roads and concerned mainly about rest and relaxation, this hotel is a good economically priced retreat for business or pleasure. Close to shops, malls, stores and a few restaurants, this is highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vincy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

A friend and I stayed here a few nights. They made us feel so comfortable, offering great friendly staff, including the valet service. My friend left her vest behind and called a few days after we got home from our trip, they mailed her vest to her. I was expecting the staff to be snotty and stuck up as it is a very nice hotel and honestly some French people are stuck up to English speaking people but the staff here was really genuinely friendly & nice

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Staciechiquita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

The room was mostly nice. However the fine details were not. The blankets were thin, some of the Keurig K-Cups had expired 6 months ago, the movies on the pay-per-view were highly priced, the internet was very slow, our room key had to be programmed twice, and there was some food under the bed that wasn't cleaned up after the previous clients who occupied the room. However, the location of Chateau Versailles was good. It is 2 minutes walking to Guy-Concordia station.

Room Tip: 4th Floor Rooms have a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank History_Is_Cool_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandieLeMeridien, General Manager at Chateau Versailles, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. It is extremely valuable to us. I do see that we did not meet your expectations with the housekeeping. This has been brought to the attention of our Head Housekeeper along with the service provider to ensure that nothing gets overlooked in the future.

We also investigated the expiry of the coffee. Since we do purchase coffee quite often for the Keurig machines, as a matter of fact on a monthly basis. We ensure that all food & beverage within the hotel offers the finest and freshness of quality. They have informed me that there is no expiry date.

I do hope that we will be able to regain your faith in our Charming 100 year old Chateau Versailles in the future. Please feel free to reach out to me directly.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the future.

S. Moran
General Manager
Chateau Versailles Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

Pros: great location, shops and metro are close by, on a quiet "non-party" street, free breakfast (see description below), free wifi, nice and friendly staff, crabtree and evelyn toiletries

Cons: room was stuffy boiling hot even with window open, bed was called a "double" but was smaller than any double i've ever seen, room was small (like a european hotel), bedspread, bed, and artwork looked like it was from the 1970s, pillows felt old and lumpy, no fan in bathroom, hair in shower

I booked the room on priceline, and priceline guarantees a room for double occupancy. There was some kind of booking error, and they had my reservation down as one person. They said unfortunately the only room they had had one double bed, which turned out to be the smallest "double" bed I've ever seen. The hair in the shower and the "oldness" of the bedspread did not give me 100% confidence in the cleanliness of the place.

The hotel's redeeming qualities were that it was nice and quiet at night, and the free breakfast was a nice spread of coffee, juices, cereal, deli meat, cheese, bread products, cottage cheese, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, and fruit cocktail.

I am giving an "average" value, as I paid about 60% of their rate because I used priceline. Had I paid full price, however, I would have been extremely disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank indoor_cat_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandieLeMeridien, General Manager at Chateau Versailles, responded to this review, 1 April 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for providing feed back concerning your recent stay at the Chateau Versailles Hotel. I can see that we did not deliver a complete package to you. The beauty about the Chateau Versailles hotel, is that we do not have one room the same. Size is always and issue. I have taken note about the service in your room and have brought it to the attention of the Head Housekeeper as well as the service provider. So that this issue does not happen again. With the hotel being over 100 years of age, we sometimes do have issues with the heating being a little overpowering, we have called in the specialist for this to be repaired.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to redeem ourselves in the future. Priceline or other vendors. Once you reserve with us it is our responsibility to deliver the service you expect. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectation. Please feel free to reach out to me directly.

Best Regards,
S. Moran
General Manager
CHATEAU VERSAILLES HOTEL
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

My wife and I recently spent 3 days in Montreal at the Chateau Versailles. Had a deluxe room with a queen bed and a Keurig coffee maker. Wireless internet was included, and the rate included a continental breakfast as well as tea and cookies in the afternoon. As many reviews have indicated, the location is perfect - 2 minutes from the Guy-Concordia metro stop and 5 minutes to rue St. Catherine. Two full service grocery stores a short walk away. Staff was very friendly and there were no language issues.

Only 2 small complaints, both to do with the room. The curtain tie backs were not properly attached to the wall and fell out when we closed the curtains. The room also had a small leak that appeared as we were packing to check out. This seemed to be a new occurrence as the ceiling looked fine.

This is our third stay at Chateau Versailles - the first two were back in the '70s and '80s. Hopefully next time it won't take us so long to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 404_pagenotfound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandieLeMeridien, General Manager at Chateau Versailles, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for providing us with your feed back from your recent stay with us. We are pleased to have provided you with new memories since you have obviously been a long time client. We take all feed back we receive to improve upon our service and style. As you are probably aware of the hotel being 101 years of age, we often receive surprises, one being the small leak! Upon further inspection we did find it and it has since been repaired. I was pleased to see that you were able to take advantage of the Self Service Tea Service that we offer. I do hope to have the opportunity to meet you in person upon your next visit.

Best Regards,
S. Moran
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013

We have stayed at this hotel several times. Having lived in Montreal for 5 years, we know the city well and really appreciate the proximity of the Chateau Versailles to shopping, the Museum, the metro and many, many restaurants. It is right on Sherbrooke, in the heart of the Golden Mile! (The windows blocked all the street noise quite well.) The staff is always friendly and helpful, but not intrusive. And the good complimentary breakfast is served in a lovely room! The last time we visited, there had been some water damage in the hotel which closed off many of the rooms--we ended up on the third floor! But the room was as clean, spacious and well-decorated as any of the other rooms we had stayed in. And the reasonable rates will continue to make it our home away from home!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Meridien Versailles
Le Meridien Versailles
#68 of 164 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
BEST WESTERN Ville-Marie Hotel
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Nouvel Hotel & Spa
Le Nouvel Hotel & Spa
#64 of 164 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Chateau St-Marc
Chateau St-Marc
#87 of 164 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#11 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
BEST WESTERN PLUS Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Versailles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Versailles

Property: Chateau Versailles
Address: 1659 Sherbrooke Street West, Montreal, Quebec H3H 1E3, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chateau Versailles 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Chateau Versailles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Versailles Hotel Montreal
Chateau Versailles Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing