We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed experience”
Review of Chateau Versailles

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chateau Versailles
Ranked #64 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Reviewed 4 June 2013

By no means a chateau and nothing in common with Versailles, but the best thing about this hotel is its very friendly, welcoming and helpful staff. Le Boudoir is a pleasant room in which to sit and where breakfast is served. There are few conventional tables and chairs to make this a good venue in which to eat and some families were perched on easy chairs, or on settees at coffee tables. There is not nearly enough space for the number of rooms in the hotel and if you are not there when breakfast starts you may well have to wait for a space. Breakfast is brought in from the hotel over the road as there appears to be no kitchen or cooking/food preparation area at this hotel. Having said that the breakfast was very good: fresh fruit, juices, tea/coffee, bread, pastries/croissants, cheese, cold meats and hard boiled eggs. There is also tea available to help yourself to between 2.30 and 4.30 each afternoon. Bedroom was of a low to middling standard and a lot less good than I'd expected. It was gloomy with dark mustard painted walls, dark and old carpet, and curtains that were skimpy enough not to meet properly. There was no antique furniture: just old and relatively modern. Only one of the two windows opened, and that only a small amount at the top. It was a claustrophobic room, despite being a good size, and generally 'tired'. However, the bed was comfortable (although may be likely to collapse soon due to wobbly metal feet!) the linen fresh, and there was plenty of hot water. The head of the bed was a wooden board screwed to the wall - at a drunken angle. The air conditioning was virtually non existent. There was supposed to be some but you really wouldn't have known or been able to detect any unless you stood directly under the air vent - it didn't actually cool the room. The stairs to room 401 (no lift) were broad with tired, faded carpet, chipped paintwork, passing windows with net curtains but no proper curtains. As there is no restaurant it is not possible to get an evening meal here. There is 'room service' which consists of a very limited menu - food is prepared at the hotel and restaurant over the road and carried across on trays.
So, more of a run down B&B in need of updating and redecoration.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandieLeMeridien, General Manager at Chateau Versailles, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing us with your feed back from your recent stay The Chateau Versailles is over 100 years old, and the vibrant colors of orange and yellow adorn all of our rooms, we thought it would provide a nice blend of comptemorary colors meeting a nice vintage feeling. We definately will take your comments into consideration for the next re-vamp of the hotel.

I just wanted to clarify that the breakfast is prepared in our back kitchen, however, the pastries are prepared at our sister hotel. Then transported. I am so happy that you enjoyed the deluxe breakfast, we do often get praised on it.

I am pleased that the wonderful associates were able to contribute to your mememorable experiance that you had with us, and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (548)
There are newer reviews for Chateau Versailles
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 548 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2013

We first stayed at the CV in 1993 and it proved to be a highlight of that Canadian trip. We had no hesitation in heading back there when we visitied Montreal this May. What I remembered was the ambience of a boutique hotel in an old building with tasteful decor and helpful staff.
I'm glad to report that those are still the key points in favour of this hotel. We encountered a couple of issues such as the air conditioning not working but the staff made sure we got a fan and were comfortable.
We hope that the hotel gently keeps up with the times (for instance they have introduced wifi since we were last here!) but keeps that air of gentile tranquility and devotion to service.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kennego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandieLeMeridien, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau Versailles, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Hello! Thank you for your wonderful comments towards our Hotel. I am pleased to hear that you chose to return to us after so long, and that we were still able to accommodate you! Don't you worry we haven't and wont lose or boutique charm, just doing small upgrades to keep up with the changing times! Also thank you for the kind words towards are associates, I will gladly pass along the kind words to them as well. I do hope you stay with us again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Montreal was the last stop on our honeymoon in Canada and during the trip we had stayed at a number of different and diverse hotels/B and B's - unfortunately Chateau Versailles was the only one that disappointed. We had just stayed a 4* in Quebec City which we loved and were looking forward to the Chateau Versailles for a similar high standard but unfortunately it fell short.

I will start with the positive points - friendly, warm and helpful staff (the service was excellent), free wifi and good location near Quartier Latine and Guy Concordia metro stop. The lobby and communal areas were well decorated. The hotel in its entirety was very clean and the continental breakfast was good.

The negatives, the room looked really dated - bright terracotta walls, brown carpet etc. Best summed up I think by my husbands comment after our first night there that it was like staying at your Grandparents. The Bathroom was large and clean but the shower head itself was temperamental as was the water temperature. We used the gym which was small but that was understandable given that it was a boutique hotel but it was in need of some serious maintenance. Especially the weights machine which was dangerously wobbly. To be fair to the staff at the front desk when we mentioned this to them they seemed well aware of the urgent need to fix this.

We booked through Living Social so we were happy with what we paid, not sure I would have been happy paying any more. Our main critique is that the rooms made it feel more like a decent 3* hotel and not a 4* hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jasmine2404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandieLeMeridien, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau Versailles, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Hi thank you for your recent comments about your stay. We truly do appreciate all our guests feedback. I am happy to hear that our associates were able to accommodate you during your stay. I am sorry to see that you found our hotel not up too par. We do take great pride in being a historic hotel. I will advise or housekeeping and maintenance departments of the problems that you did encounter. Again I would like to thank you for your comments regarding your stay in order to help us improve! I do hope you will return to our great city and give our hotel another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Last day at the Chateau Versailles. I stayed here for a week and I am going home to Amsterdam, Holland tomorrow. I was welcomed here as Royalty and nothing was to much. Everyone from the staff was helpful and friendly at all times. The breakfast in the morning was included and it was excellent . Good coffee,fresh croissants,fresh fruit and much much more!!!! The room was super clean and spacious. They serve the in the afternoon and cookies free of charge. I want to say a special thanks to HUGO and YVONNE that went out of there way to help me finding my way around Montreal !!!! When you want to be on a good downtown location I would certainly recommend this hotel...
Thank you staff of the Chateau,Thank you Montreal for making this a unforgettable trip ....xxx

Room Tip: Try to get a room not located on the street side because of the traffic
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandieLeMeridien, Guest Relations Manager at Chateau Versailles, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

Hi, thank you for you wonderful words towards our hotel and associates! I will be sure to pass along the kind words to them! I am so pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us! I am also happy to see we were able to make your trip an unforgettable one! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Purpose of visit:
2 Nights

Room Type/Name:
Standard #329

Specific Comments about stay:
Double bed - very small, advertised as Queen. Pillows barley useable, Shower head useless, water unpredictable - takes a long time for adjustments to come through. Hotel styled in a boutique french style.

Amenities of the room:
Bathroom - Coffee, tea etc in bathroom above toilet - not hygienic. Have to pay for coffee etc I think (we didnt use them). Room pretty small, small cupboard. They could use some sense and make storage solutions. Maintenance on room could be better - as per pictures.

Amenities of the hotel:
Sauna - Didnt use. Breakfast in good sized dining room. Breakfast was typical French and good. Free Wifi for all devices.

Service Provided:
Helpful service.

Things I wish I'd known before visiting:
No lift, many stairs.

Location Details:
Pretty central, not in the heart of the CBD but walking distance. About 10-15mins to centre.

Overall experience:
Nice hotel with nice staff. Hotel could do with some modernising and replacing of pillows, shower heads etc etc

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tahlianagy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandieLeMeridien, General Manager at Chateau Versailles, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Thank you for your recent comments on the Chateau Versailles. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with having No lifts! and also your expectation of the bedroom. The unique quality of the Chateau Versailles, is that no room is the same size. Unfortunately you did receive a smaller room. The Keurig coffee that is supplied to you upon arrival is complimentary only should you wish it to be refilled there is a charge. Our bellman are usually at the door to meet you, but they do double as the valet service, so it was possible no one was there to greet you. I do appreciate that you came all the way to Montreal and chose to stay with us. I do hope you will consider us again in the future.

Best Regards
S.Moran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

My wife and I stayed there for a few nights. This was originally 2 small castle style houses and were bridged to form a house. We loved the place. This place has some great energy, the staff was extremely warm and accomodated all our requests including giving us hot water at 2 am at the reception :))

The breakfast is great. If you park here, it may cost $27, but if you park near the Montreal College parking lot, it will be a lot lesser and cost only $11 for 12hrs and $16 for 24hrs. It is a short walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: Go to the third floor and take the ones facing the street. On the third floor, the noise is less, an...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Naveen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013 via mobile

Hotel has been a residence lacks the usual things. No lift which is a pain when you are on the 4th floor. B/fast very average and staff there more interest in talking than refill what had ran out. All other staff were very helpful. I personally think this should be a visiting place not an hotel...

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Clara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Meridien Versailles
Le Meridien Versailles
#70 of 165 in Montreal
644 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Comfort Suites Downtown
Comfort Suites Downtown
#71 of 165 in Montreal
673 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Best Western Plus Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
Hotel Omni Mont-Royal
#21 of 165 in Montreal
2,656 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Cantlie Suites
Hotel Le Cantlie Suites
#63 of 165 in Montreal
899 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Auberge Le Pomerol
Auberge Le Pomerol
#51 of 165 in Montreal
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Versailles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Versailles

Address: 1659 Sherbrooke Street West, Montreal, Quebec H3H 1E3, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range: £82 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chateau Versailles 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chateau Versailles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Versailles Hotel Montreal
Chateau Versailles Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing