We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm, refined service, well-located”
Review of Chateau Versailles

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chateau Versailles
Ranked #75 of 166 Hotels in Montreal
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Booked for an anniversary weekend, and were not disappointed. From the professional and friendly valet, to the concierge at reception, to housekeeping we were made to feel most welcome. Charming 1915 establishment, "boutiqued" with all the mod-cons, within easy walk to the Fine Arts Museum, shopping, antiquing and restaurants. (Note: "1915" also means not easily accessible - at least not obvious to me - steep steps up to the lobby, and steps only to all 4 floors. There are rooms on the main floor off the lobby.). Room was fine, clean and nicely appointed. Bathroom big, bright, clean. Guest in neighbouring room liked his tv loud, but as it was late afternoon, not a big deal as we heard nothing later. Breakfast was well-appointed Euro-continental, and a relaxed atmosphere in the "drawing room." Seating can be a challenge if breakfast is busy. All in all, a very nice stay.

Room Tip: Though street noise not an issue, try for a room away from the bustle of the Sherbrooke/Guy intersec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripperGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandieLeMeridien, General Manager at Chateau Versailles, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the historical charm that we have to offer. Throughout the years, we have maintained as much if the original charm as possible. We hope that you will come back to visit us soon. If you have any request for you next stay, please do not hesitate to contact us before.

Sincerely,
Sandie Moran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (577)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

267 - 273 of 577 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

We returned to this boutique hotel after 5 years and were so pleased to see that it is as charming as ever. The hotel is lovely, converted from an house, but retaining many of the original features, from beautiful ceilings and crown mouldings to fireplaces to interesting antiques and photographs. We were very fortunate to have a large suite, including a king-sized bed, bay window, high ceilings and nice furniture. The only negative was the water temperature indicator in the shower was loose, but everything else was perfect, including the lovely bathrobe and toiletries. We felt totally at home at the hotel. The staff were all pleasant and helpful. The hotel provides efficient valet parking. There is an excellent continental breakfast which is offered in the light and airy boudoir. The location of the hotel is fantastic on one of Montreal's most elegant streets and walking distance from wonderful shopping, restaurants, museums, McGill etc. We can't imagine staying anywhere else in Montreal!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PowellOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandieLeMeridien, General Manager at Chateau Versailles, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Dear Guest,

What a pleasure reading this review, thank you so much for taking the time to write a lovely description of your stay with us at the Chateau Versailles. We are glad to hear that you have returned to stay with us and enjoyed the historical charm from the moldings to the antiques lining the hallway. We have taken care of the maintenance issue, we apologize for the inconvenience. On behalf of all the staff from the Chateau Versailles, we hope to see you soon again in the near future! Have a lovely day.

Sincerely,
Sandie Moran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We booked a 'deluxe king room', the room was in the basement of the hotel, next to the washing machine for the hotel which was constantly running. The room smelled. There were dirty stains all over the floor. The bed was dirty. We could clearly hear conversations in the other rooms. The room was directly underneath the lobby with an old creaky floor - as a result, sleeping well wasn't an option. The bathroom was tiny and also smelled. The toilet did not flush properly. The hotel 'supervisor' refused to change our room even with the clearly low overall occupancy and refused to offer a room near our travel party.
This is by far the worst hotel I have ever stayed in - anywhere. Considering the cost of the room, I would rather have stayed at a motel 6.

Do not stay here.

Room Tip: Specifically request not to stay in the basement room upon booking and be prepared to deal with rude...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vsaxena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandieLeMeridien, General Manager at Chateau Versailles, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear Guests,

In reading your remarks concerning the accommodations you recently received at the hotel, I regret to inform you that we do not have basement rooms nor a washing machine. All Deluxe King Rooms are located on the same level as the lobby. Perhaps the hotel was not up to your standards of travel. The Chateau Versailles is a small quant historical hotel that offers our guests a unique experience of old world charm.

If you were not satisfied with you room and we were unable to accommodate your request, we do apologize. As much as possible we ask that you make special room requests prior to your arrival, all could have been arranged prior to your arrival.

I do apologize that we did not meet your needs. Hoping your travels will bring you again to Montreal.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We prefer boutique hotels and inns to chain hotels, which is why we chose this one. I had booked a "deluxe" room, and while the room was fine, it was definitely not deluxe. The paint was peeling, the furniture old and weary. It is nice that they have a Kuerig machine in the room, but a note stating that additional cups will be charged at $2 each - is a put-off. Breakfast was okay if you don't mind hard boiled eggs and canned fruit. The second morning we went out for breakfast.
The staff is wonderful, professional and friendly. $27 for parking is a bit steep. Wifi was good. Frankly I was expecting more.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eiran G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandieLeMeridien, General Manager at Chateau Versailles, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your opinion on your stay with us and help us become a better hotel. I apologize for the room not being up to par; all of your concerns have been given to the Director of Maintenance so they can be rectified immediately. you kind messages towards the staff will be passed on .

If you have any other questions or concerns, please feel free to contact me personally. We hope that you will return to stay with us in the future, we will ensure your experience is very enjoyable.

Best regards,
Sandie Moran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

originally from montreal, I grew up in awe of this old building... a two night stay years later have me further in AWE!! .. a great stay, wonderful staff all with a smile, a bedroom with REAL old white tiles in the bathroom portion, lots of space, and great choice in the comfy breakfast knook... the only negative was the noisy outside traffic as we were in a front-room, but got used to the noise by night two... a real treat... very well positioned in montreal to do everything on foot, and an AWESOME SPOT!!! bravo to all of the staff!!

Room Tip: try to get a room at rear of building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandieLeMeridien, General Manager at Chateau Versailles, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Guest,

I sincerely enjoyed reading your cheerful review. We are all so glad to hear that you enjoyed the historical charm of the Chateau Versailles. I will be passing on your delightful comments about our staff and property. Upon your next stay with us, just contact us before your stay and we will ensure you get a quiet room facing the garden. We look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,
Sandie Moran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

A bit out of central downtown (a 10 minute walk) this hotel is very nicely furnished and comfortable. Breakfasts are of the usual buffet eat what you like type while the staff are competent and helpful. All said a pleasant hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bub_s869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandieLeMeridien, General Manager at Chateau Versailles, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure reading your review about your great day with us. I will definitely pass on your gratitude to my staff, they will be thankful. We hope that you will return in the near future!

Sincerely,
Sandie Moran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

The Chateau Versailles was an excellent choice for us on our first time to Montreal. The staff was
very friendly and helpful. Our room was on the second floor and had a fireplace and king size bed which was very comfortable. Bathroom was also very nice. Breakfast was included and
we enjoyed that buffet too. The hotel is not near Old Montreal but it is near a metro station and also a bus runs by the hotel. A taxi cab to Old Montreal cost $15.00.
We would not hesitate to choose this hotel again. Only problem- If you are elderly or with
problems climbing stairs or going down them, the front steps of the hotel are somewhat daunting.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oliver22526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandieLeMeridien, General Manager at Chateau Versailles, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Guest,

I am extremely glad to hear that you enjoyed your first trip to Montreal and also your stay with us at the Chateau Versailles. We hope that you will return in the near future and stay with us once again. If you have any special request, please feel free to contact us! Have a lovely day.

Sincerely,
Nina Toia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Ambrose
Hotel Ambrose
#73 of 166 in Montreal
286 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Meridien Versailles
Le Meridien Versailles
#68 of 166 in Montreal
673 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Auberge Le Pomerol
Auberge Le Pomerol
#59 of 166 in Montreal
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Best Western Ville-Marie Montreal Hotel & Suites
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Chateau St-Marc
Chateau St-Marc
#91 of 166 in Montreal
125 reviews
Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#13 of 166 in Montreal
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Versailles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Versailles

Address: 1659 Sherbrooke Street West, Montreal, Quebec H3H 1E3, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 166 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range: £68 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chateau Versailles 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Chateau Versailles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Versailles Hotel Montreal
Chateau Versailles Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing