We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love boutique hotels” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau Versailles

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau Versailles
Ranked #63 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Ottawa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love boutique hotels”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

You don't have to go to Europe to stay at a boutique hotel. Everything you'd expect was at the Chateau Versailles in Montreal--valet parking, excellent breakfast and fireplace in the room. Staff were super attentive and our room was huge, overlooking Sherbrooke Street. If you don't know Montreal, its location is perfect for visiting the Musee Des Beau Arts and a short walk down to Ste. Catherine Street for all the shops. We had a lovely visit and will go back whenever we're in Montreal.

Room Tip: Go for the king room with the fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    225
    95
    28
    15
See reviews for
61
241
39
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Liked the rooms, though not as modern or flashy as American ones. Liked the small Continental breakfast -- great croissants and coffee, again, European in character, not store-types. Did not like the astro-turf on the outside stairs that are not appealing and very slippery when wet (which I learned the hard way). I see why they cover the old stone steps (particularly in the winter), but the remedy is not a good one. Should find a better solution. Good location near the museum and Ritz for afternoon tea. Not near the Old Port. Great restaurants nearby, particularly Indian and Middle Eastern.

Room Tip: Front of hotel on a major boulevard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vivaldi5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenkintown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed here for two nights on a conference trip.

The service was great, the people friendly and the hotel was elegant and charming. My room was large and clean. My only complaint about the room would be that my window faced a brick wall, but I wasn't there to stare at the wall.

The wifi was free and the breakfast was nice.

I loved the location which was both central for my purpose and close to the art museum which was very much worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 12shoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
277 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

On Sherbrooke street close to the Musee des beaux-arts and just about every thing else this is a great small hotel. You can walk to St Catherine St., trendy Crescent St., McGill and everything downtown.

The fireplace rooms are spacey and comfortable. Good soundproofing keeps out the traffic noise but allows for a great view.

Valet parking is great for this sector of Montreal. The staff are pros and obviously take pride in their work.

Breakfast is the usual offering of cold meats and cheeses, cereal, yogurt and good croissants.

Some parts of the hotel are beginning to show age and could use a little sprucing up but I hope they never change the old fashioned marble bathrooms.

Room Tip: Front fireplace rooms are big and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IntSommelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MassimoLeMeridien, General Manager at Chateau Versailles, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback for your stay with us! I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the location of the property , along with your spacious room. Our property is over 100 years old and we take pride in the historical charm of our property. We are constantly at work of maintaining the property in prestine condition. We hope to have you return in the near future! We promise to only polish, but not replace our marble washrooms.

Have a lovely day!

Sincerely,
Massimo Urzillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

The Chateau is a very charming place conveniently located next to the golden mile,restaurants and shopping centers are all in walking distance.The staff is very helpful and friendly and included breakfast is a good option before you go to explore the city.The room we had was a good big size with a fireplace and nice ceiling decoration though the smoke detectors in a room has to be changed or its location.As soon as a breakfast starts(6:30 am) and kitchen gets open the smoke from the toasters and oven gets to the ventilation system and ops!you have to wake up since your fire alarm make a huge noise:))) Its a bit early when you are on vacation....

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stylus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MassimoLeMeridien, General Manager at Chateau Versailles, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstly, I would liek to thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the historical charm our property has to offer, along wiht the location. I am happy to inform you that the fire alarm issue has been resolved. I would like to apologize the the inconvenience during your stay. We do hope you will return in the near future! If you have any further questions, please feel free to contact me directly.

Have a great day!

Sincerely,
Massimo Urzillo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

- close to downtown and metro
- hotel a bit older, so stairs and floors could be squeaky if someone walks past your room
- clean room
- friendly staff
- minimal valet parking, but paid lot is not far (5 min walk) from hotel

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Meridien Versailles
Le Meridien Versailles
#67 of 164 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 587 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
BEST WESTERN Ville-Marie Hotel
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Nouvel Hotel & Spa
Le Nouvel Hotel & Spa
#64 of 164 in Montreal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Chateau St-Marc
Chateau St-Marc
#87 of 164 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#11 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
BEST WESTERN PLUS Montreal Downtown-Hotel Europa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Versailles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Versailles

Property: Chateau Versailles
Address: 1659 Sherbrooke Street West, Montreal, Quebec H3H 1E3, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chateau Versailles 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Chateau Versailles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Versailles Hotel Montreal
Chateau Versailles Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing