We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so charming!”
Review of Chateau Versailles

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chateau Versailles
Ranked #75 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Reviewed 8 July 2007

we stayed here for 3 nights and loved it! it was our first trip to montreal and so i did plenty of researching. we look for the authentic experience we we travel. this place was great. it felt very european. the room was on the small side but quite comfortable. it's decorated beautifully, i love the colors and the view was of a viney green courtyard off the back of the building. quiet enough, you are in a city after all. good breakfast, delicious breads, pastries, ceral, yogurt, etc. the staff was very friendly and helpful.
the only reason we didn't give it an "excellent" rating was the smoky smell upon entering our room. we quickly became accutomed to it and didn't notice it much.
a good restaurant close by is called the cafe europa. it's across the street and down a half block, located near some new constructuon. small, locally owned with a wide variety of very reasonably priced european food. try the goulash or weiner schnitzel!
not your cookie cutter hotel and thats why we loved it!

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank brendykaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (577)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

452 - 458 of 577 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2007

We had booked and prepaid the hotel through Expedia. Although we had asked for a smoking room, on check in there was only one room left and it was non-smoking, so we were forced to go outside to smoke and then go through a move the next day. This really put a bad start to the four days. We were moved the next day and the room was very nice, but if you open the window, there is considerable noise from the traffic. The included breakfact is simple, cereal, bread, juice and coffee. Finding a seat can be difficult when the hotel is full. Be prepared to walk up stairs, or try to get a room on the same floor as the desk or only one above.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2007

We purchased a trip to Montreal on a website. We were scheduled to be in a STANDARD room. This room includes a DOUBLE bed, rather than Queen or King. The room offered to us was also in the basement - 1st floor - and it was kind of a cave like feeling. We requested a move and for $30 more a night we were given a King room with fireplace. The bathrooms at this hotel are rather small (would be uncomfortable for 2 people). Our second room was lovely, and the breakfast was nice - although there is not always enough seating. The staff was quite good.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank NKFMitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2007

We stayed at Ch,V. on our recent long-weekend trip to Montreal. We found the hotel to be conveniently located on upscale Sherbrook St., steps from museums, restaurants and shopping.
Old Montral, Latin Quarter and Plateau are quite a bit farther but Its only a couple of blocks to the Metro.
The Hotel is clean. Our room was not big but comfortable and was nicely equiped. Central heating didn't work (was turned off, according to the front desk) despite the fact that the overnight temprature was 3 Celsius.(Corridors were heated but not the rooms ?!) We were however promptly given a space heater and extra blankets. The bathroom was clean, high average
Breakfast consists of an average continental buffet, adequate though nothing exciting to write home about.
The staff was helpful and pleasant.
I would stay here again - probably in a larger room though.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank JKoala87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2007

I have stayed here on 3 occasions in the last 2 years. This hotel is perfect in location and services. The staff is old world and very helpful and friendlly. The breakfast that is included is perfect in quality and variety. I ask for a quiet room and "walla" I am given a quiet room. Location is pefect if by foot or with car. The rooms are comfortable with yummy beds. I'm picky and travel alot and this hotel has it all. Great comfort and service.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank 2sunnytravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2007

This hotel is great! Our room was beautiful and the hotel staff was very friendly. My girlfriends and I stayed in the honeymoon suite so there was plenty of room for the 3 of us. It is very close to the metro, shopping, great restaurants and the Museum of Fine Arts. After spending the day in the freezing cold it was nice to have some place comfortable to come home to!

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank nytraveler8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2007

I was at this hotel twice in a week, on the first and the last night of my business journey to Canada.
The first night I was really amazed: I had a very large room with a relaxing bed to recover from jet lag and a large desk to work comfortably. Wow - I thought - this place is a real bargain and much nicer than expected.

The second night was very different. I spent the same amount of money but I was given a dark room in the basement so small that I could not keep my suitcase open and walk around the bed at the same time. Walking up and down to the basement on a steep, narrow staircase with my luggage was not pleasent as well.

Rooms are clean and in good order. Staff is very polite and helpful. Continental breakfast is almost non-existent.

Although the Chateau Versailles is overall a pleasant hotel, I would probably make a different choice next time I am in Montreal.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank MemberfromPadova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Ambrose
Hotel Ambrose
#74 of 165 in Montreal
286 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Meridien Versailles
Le Meridien Versailles
#68 of 165 in Montreal
671 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Auberge Le Pomerol
Auberge Le Pomerol
#58 of 165 in Montreal
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Chateau St-Marc
Chateau St-Marc
#90 of 165 in Montreal
124 reviews
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Chateau de l'Argoat
Chateau de l'Argoat
#59 of 165 in Montreal
496 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#45 of 165 in Montreal
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Versailles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Versailles

Address: 1659 Sherbrooke Street West, Montreal, Quebec H3H 1E3, Canada
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Centre-Ville (Downtown) , Ville-Marie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range: £67 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chateau Versailles 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Chateau Versailles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Versailles Hotel Montreal
Chateau Versailles Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing