We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forget about the chains.”
Review of Hotel de l'ITHQ

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel de l'ITHQ
Ranked #28 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Forget about the chains.”
Reviewed 17 March 2013 via mobile

A lovely hotel in a very convenient location; in the heart of Montreal. Only let down was the noisy heater in the room. However, one didn't really hear it after one had a nice dinner with wine in one of the thousands of restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yuksel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ithq_hotel, Front Office Manager at Hotel de l'ITHQ, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Thank your for your review!
We are glad you have enjoyed the hotel and its surroundings!
We trully hope to welcome you again!

Valérie Amiot
Rooms division manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    159
    33
    4
    1
See reviews for
85
217
32
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

I stayed in this hotel several times during last 5 years. The hotel is relatively small; very well located, just beside a metro station. In fact, it is a school for students in travel business. Thus they keep an excellent level of service. Rooms are spacious and always clean. The beds are very comfortable and toiletry is of good quality. The views from most of rooms are very nice. The breakfast is served by students and was always OK. They served an excellent coffee when compared to other places in North America. If you stay on Friday, Saturday or during holydays ask for a room on the last floor. They have a party hall at the 4th floor and it risk to be noisy! The hotel has a parking lot but it is often full.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the last floor; Sherbrook street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vlad16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ithq_hotel, Front Office Manager at Hotel de l'ITHQ, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Dear vlad16,
Thank you for your review and tips! It is true that our parking is often full for visitors. Although, we do have reserved parking spaces for our hotel guests. You need to register at front desk to receive a parking ticket that gives unlimited access to the garage for the lenght of your stay.
We look forward to welcome you again soon!

Valérie Amiot
Rooms division manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2013

1. The hotel is not really expensive, and the price has included the breakfast buffet. The buffet tastes very good. 2. The room is very clean, neat and comfortable. 3. The location is just above the subway station, high accessibility.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kandaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ithq_hotel, Front Office Manager at Hotel de l'ITHQ, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Dear Kandaaaaa,
We are glad you appreciated your stay. Thank you for your reveiew and we hope to welcome you again!

Valérie Amiot
Rooms division manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

I visited ITHQ hotel for a business trip.
It was a very nice experience, although at check-in there was a bit of confusion with the parking.the parking was included with the room but the set up requires an initial visit to the front desk to get the permit and then a visit back to the parking to move our car inside the gate. This may have been some mis-communication at the time of reservation.
Beside the little parking adventure, the rest of my stay was delightful.
The room was very comfortable with a king size bed, with a duvet covered mattress and a duvet comforter. It took me a few times to set my room temperature to comfortable since I was not familiar with the system. The shower was a full ceramic setup with a glass door (I want one at home).
The food was very good, a lot of variety (game meat). Breakfast was simple with pastries and platters of eggs, ham and sausages.
The service was excellent and the staff were pleasant and friendly.
The price was reasonable for such a quality stay. I will recommend it to my colleagues.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Qic013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ithq_hotel, Front Office Manager at Hotel de l'ITHQ, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Dear Qic013,
Thank your for your review. My appologies for the confusion at check-in. We should have mentionned upon reservation that you needed to register first to get the parking pass. The ticket gives unlimited acces for the lenght of your stay.
It will be a pleasure to welcome you or your colleagues in a near future!

Valérie Amiot
Rooms division manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

I am travelling to Montreal often and this hotel is my favorite. The room are big and very nice. Always very clean and neat. The breakfast was a buffet which is not usual. When I asked why, it was because the students were away. Also, since it is a school, it is my way to help them!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EricMToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ithq_hotel, Front Office Manager at Hotel de l'ITHQ, responded to this review, 7 February 2013
Dear EricMToronto,
Thank you for your review and for taking part in the students learning experience and growth. It will be a pleasure to welcome you again soon!

Valerie Amiot
Rooms division manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We are all about hospitality. We understand the pitfalls of the industry. The up and coming stars; the amount of effort it takes to become "worthy"; the knowledge, the experience, the sacrifices (and there are plenty!!).

We've stayed here, obviously. Each and every visit has been a lesson -- and so it must be, this is a "school" after all. Yes we've had our share of "faults", but this is a school -- they are learning.

Each and every stay has been good. The main point to remember above all is that this is a school.

The included breakfast is out of this world. One can see that the students are dedicated. They listen, they care, they help.

Try this place. I don't think you will regret it. It might disappoint in some small way, but one needs to keep in mind that this is after all, a teaching facility.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sailing_into_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ithq_hotel, Owner at Hotel de l'ITHQ, responded to this review, 15 January 2013
Thank you for your review!
Even if guest satisfaction is very important to us, our mission is also to train the students in all the hotel departements. It is a pleasure to know that the students efforts are appreciated by our guests. Be assured that your comments will be transfered to our students!
We trully hope to welcome you again at the Hotel de l'Institut.
Warmest regards,
Valérie Amiot
Room division manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

I've been a guest of l'institut on multiple occasions for the past two years and I must say it's going downhill. Each time I've had problems with drains in the showers/baths - comical at times, but truly when it happens again and again it's just irritating and gross. When I've asked for the drains to be looked at I'm told they don't on weekends!? Well, if the hotel is open on the weekend you better get someone on standby!

Breakfast used to be 4star - this past trip was terrible, where on the second day we paid to eat out!

Beds are very soft/luxurious, balconies are a plus and rooms are big but these items are static - service and maintenance are issues that constantly need to be addressed and sadly they were not up to par on this stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ithq_hotel, Front Office Manager at Hotel de l'ITHQ, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Dear Steven B,
Thank you for your comments and for your honesty. We appreciate you took some time to write a review about your recent stay with us. I appologize for the inconveniences you have experienced recently. A follow-up has been made with the maintenance departement and the front desk to make sure this kind of situation does not happen in the future.
We trully hope we will welcome you again at the Hotel de l'Institut.
Valérie Amiot
Rooms division Manager
514-282-5120 ext. 4249
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel Kutuma
Hotel Kutuma
#47 of 165 in Montreal
331 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Parc Suites Hotel
Parc Suites Hotel
#20 of 165 in Montreal
548 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#13 of 165 in Montreal
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel 10
Hotel 10
#35 of 165 in Montreal
639 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Germain Montreal
Hotel Le Germain Montreal
#10 of 165 in Montreal
692 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'ITHQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'ITHQ

Property: Hotel de l'ITHQ
Address: 3535, St-Denis Street, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3P1, Canada (Formerly Hôtel de l'Institut)
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Montreal
#18 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#18 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#23 Business Hotel in Montreal
#42 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de l'ITHQ 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de l'Institut is located in the heart of Montreal, a stone's throw from the Quartier des Spectacles, between Quartier Latin and Plateau Mont-Royal. Proud of its four stars, this teaching hotel features 42 rooms (including two suites) and offers unparalleled accommodations with service and comfort worthy of the world's finest hotels. The Hotel de l'Institut offers the necessary facilities and a wide range of services for organizing meetings and events in one of its 9 rental spaces that can host up to 150 people. The Hotel de l'Institut is located in the same building as the Institut de tourisme et d'hotellerie du Quebec (ITHQ), the reference in Canada for specialized training in tourism, hospitality and food service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel de l'ITHQ reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Institut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing