We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique experience!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de l'ITHQ

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel de l'ITHQ
Ranked #27 of 164 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Kelowna, B.C. Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Unique experience!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

This hotel is a learning institute for "hospitality" and "chef school". Only 2 floors are allocated to rooms available to the public. Super, Super Clean! Beds to die for!! All staff were extremely friendly and eager to please. Breakfast is included and was more than sufficient and lovingly prepared. Extra Bonus? .....the metro is just outside the entrance - super convenient!

Downfall? Between 3 of us relatively intelligent women we always had issues with elevator/room cards and the door to the lovely sundeck inside our room!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Msdonna96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    155
    34
    4
    4
See reviews for
82
207
31
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

Very nice hotel. The staff is very welcoming and professional. The room is large and clean.t he brekfast is very good with a large choice. It is very near the metro and nice restaurants. The bed is comfortable but a bit too soft for me.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank josette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
University Place, Washington
Level Contributor
141 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

We spent 5 nights at the Institute and were generally pleased with our accomodations.
Just a few steps to the Metro was a big plus for us. The Metro is very easy to navigate and will get you close to anywhere in the city. You can get a free app online at the apple store. Great neighborhood with many restaurants and a park across the street.
Our room on the 8th floor was spacious enough for our needs and had a nice balcony. We had our coffee there every morning. Facilities are well maintained and housekeeping is top notch. The breakfast had a lot of variety and was well prepared. I could eat there every day without getting bored with it.
The only down-side is the cold institutional feel of the lobby. OK, I get it, it's called the institute. There is no sitting area for the guests or coffee available in the lobby. The front desk clerks were competent but lacked the warmth you normally find in tourist hotels. Just "here's your key, breakfast is at 7" sort of thing. I'm not sure why they had a concierge desk as it was usually vacant and when the concierge was present was no help anyway.
Bottom line, the room and location were great and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeandlindaSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer T, Manager at Hotel de l'ITHQ, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Dear mikeandlindaseattle,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments. we are really happy that the location was convinient to you and that the breakfast and room was to your liking.

I sorry that the service at the front desk and the concierge desk was not up to your expectations. As we are part of a school specialized in tourism and hospitality I can assure you that your comments will use to work on offering the best possible service.

Thank you again for your comments and we hope to welcome you again,

Jennifer Tousignant
Room division manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Catharines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We chose this hotel because of the positive reviews given by others, and as a good breakfast is important to us we thought with its being a training ground for the Quebec tourism the food should be good. Well, if you care about the quality of your coffee, don't choose this hotel. The ambience of the dining room is lovely, but we found the breakfasts so disappointing. The coffee was bland and tasteless each of the three mornings we were there. (Note: no French roast here!) The eggs benedict and other hot dishes were poorly prepared, and only the "cold" table with fruit and croissants etc was excellent. The waiters were somewhat arrogant and aloof.
Our room was certainly clean, but the modern , rather dreary decor is hardly four star as they claim. Again, the coffee maker in the room was the Nescafe type single serve which makes dreadful coffee and the water is not hot enough to make decent tea.
Generally the hotel was quiet, but on our last morning we were wakened at 6.30 am by an electronic noise like someone's cellphone alarm, but an hour later it was still there, and it seemed to be coming from the lighting in the hallway. The location is excellent with metro right next door, but this hotel is overpriced and over-rated. Next trip we'll save some money by going back to the Holiday Inn instead.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skimarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer T, Manager at Hotel de l'ITHQ, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear skimarie,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. As a teaching institution, those comments help us give constructive feed back to our students and help to improve our service. we are really sorry that your stay was not up to your expectations. We can assure you that you comments have been transmited to our chef and our waiter team. We are also sorry that you didn't like the Nespresso machine availaible in the room. The Nespresso system is normally well appreciated by our guest and I'm sorry that it wasn't to you liking.

Thank you agaion for your comments,

Jennifer Tousignant
Room division manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

I stayed at this hotel (a notable catering school/hotel) for 5 nights in August and had the best stay ever. The staff was so friendly and the room was amazing, wihich had a great balcony overlooking Mont Royal. The breakfast was an amazing buffet and the Restaurant was catered by students and chefs. I am so thrilled I chose this hotel, for the price you get a five star feelings. Also the Sherbrooke Metro was below the hotel, and restaurants and boulangeries around the corner, such conveniences to add to my my stay made it an excellent choice. 5 mins from downtown by train, and a park opposite - great in summertime. If I go back to Montreal, this is where I will stay - without a doubt. Thank you "Institut, you are amazing!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelobsessed123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Ever since we found this Montreal gem, it's the only place we stay when visiting Montreal. This time we just stayed overnight coming and going to Tadoussac. But whether you stay a week or a day, it's a great experience. The location is great-- right near the Metro or the parking is also convenient. The rooms are very clean and clear of junky stuff so it leaves room for you and your things. It has the usual extras and that little Nexpresso machine is great. I love that you can get fresh air in the room by opening a window or open the door and just sit outside on your little balcony and relax. Don't miss the great breakfast - it's real food with good choices. And the staff, who are the students in the school, are gracious and helpful and genuine.

Room Tip: Most rooms have the balcony, but not all- so ask for one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CAandMAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

I recently had the pleasure of visiting Montreal for the first time. I was very impressed with the level of cleanliness and attentive staff . The location was perfect slightly outside of the busy downtown area in the plateau neighborhood. Convenient to several of the top rated restaurants and pubs. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was included as well as free wifi but the signal was pretty weak. Actually breakfast was kind of weak also but you really can't complain when it's included. I hope to return next year and take them up on one of their cooking classes!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samasvestas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel Kutuma
Hotel Kutuma
#40 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#11 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Parc Suites Hotel
Parc Suites Hotel
#16 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel 10
Hotel 10
#39 of 164 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Chateau de l'Argoat
Chateau de l'Argoat
#29 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
#37 of 164 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'ITHQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'ITHQ

Property: Hotel de l'ITHQ
Address: 3535, St-Denis Street, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3P1, Canada (Formerly Hôtel de l'Institut)
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Montreal
#18 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#18 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#23 Business Hotel in Montreal
#42 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de l'ITHQ 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de l'Institut is located in the heart of Montreal, a stone's throw from the Quartier des Spectacles, between Quartier Latin and Plateau Mont-Royal. Proud of its four stars, this teaching hotel features 42 rooms (including two suites) and offers unparalleled accommodations with service and comfort worthy of the world's finest hotels. The Hotel de l'Institut offers the necessary facilities and a wide range of services for organizing meetings and events in one of its 9 rental spaces that can host up to 150 people. The Hotel de l'Institut is located in the same building as the Institut de tourisme et d'hotellerie du Quebec (ITHQ), the reference in Canada for specialized training in tourism, hospitality and food service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel de l'ITHQ reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Institut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing