We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic stay with hiccups”
Review of Hotel de l'ITHQ

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel de l'ITHQ
Ranked #31 of 163 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Concord, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“fantastic stay with hiccups”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This is a remarkable property, well maintained, the best shower I've ever rented, but we stayed in the "off season" when the students were away and the level of service was, frankly, disappointing. We stayed two days, and asked for decaf coffee at the included breakfast to be told they didn't have any. What was over the top (or actually under the bottom), they didn't have any the next day either. But wait, there's more. The internet service is third world, requiring constant login. The keycard failed to work twice, requiring trips to the desk to get a new card. The parking, which is reasonable and extremely convenient, won't open for bicycles. While there is an intercom to the front desk, they can't open the door either, which means we had to carry our bicycles into the lobby, down the elevator, and negotiate the two sets of doors and pedestrian ramp (the automatic door does open on exit for cyclists). The room comes with Nescafe espresso makers, which I found very good, but my decaf-restricted wife had to pursue pods with the cleaning staff and front desk, which didn't know which color-coded pod was which. Neither did we.
All that said, we had a fantastic stay, the location is superb in the heart of the Saint-Denis restaurant district, the staff was friendly with recommendations when we arrived after service hours, the view from the very nice balcony was spectacular, the bed was incredible, and the shower was, simply said, the best of any hotel I have ever experienced. I'll stay again even though there are cheaper alternatives in the neighborhood, it was that good. I just hope the hiccups were aberrations and not the standard service.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank remurphyjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer T, Manager at Hotel de l'ITHQ, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear remurphyjr,

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay in spite of the small inconveniences. Be assure that we will use your usefull comments to improve our service. Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and we hope to welcome you at Hôtel de l'Institut again.

Jennifer Tousignant
Front desk manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    157
    35
    4
    1
See reviews for
83
207
31
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Hotel de I'Institut.

Pros:
Great location - the location of this hotel couldn't be better. It is about 15 minute walk away from the old town and about 2 blocks away from the nightlife center. Also, the subway stop is basically right under the hotel so if you want you can get to any part of Montreal in less than 10 minutes on the subway.
Amazing Service - people at the hotel are very helpful and friendly. We had our $ exchanges into the Canadian $ right at the front desk and the rate they gave us was more than reasonable. Also, they have a concierge, Carlos, he was very helpful and helped me out a lot.
Room is great - I have no idea how can people here say that the room is smallish? What are they comparing it to? Mexico? Well it is not Mexico and this room is as big as I've ever stayed at outside of the Caribbean resorts. Needless to say these two can't be compared. Also, every room has a cool balcony!
Breakfast - it's a pretty good breakfast, nothing too crazy but it is good.

Cons:
There is 0 parking on the street - so you are going to have to park at the hotel. Luckily, parking garage is located right underneath the hotel. It does cost about $20 so be aware.
Taxes will kill you - basically if it is your first time traveling to Montreal, be aware that the room you think costs $160 really costs $200 after all the taxes, fees and parking and etc.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeonNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newington, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel was amazing if do they where doing constuction on the front of the hotel it did not take anything away from the amazing stay that we had.the room was very clean and spacious and the balcony was a pleasant suprise. If i had to say anything negative was that the shower had no curtins so i was going to spray water on the floor.

Room Tip: The basic room was amazing but if you have allergies do an upgrade to the suites because they have w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buz_bidu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston,MA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have been regular visitors at Hotel de l'Institut over the years . Long before it received all these good reviews on travel sites, it has always been a great value for money in Montreal and a hidden gem , so to speak… sadly , no more!!! Our last visit to this hotel was very disappointing and it is a shame to see the standards going down at this hotel.Our total for a 3 night stay in a regular room came to about 230 a night with taxes and parking. The first thing we noticed is the lack of ventilation in the common areas like the hallways and the area outside the 6th floor breakfast room. Whether , this is due to some electrical issue or construction ,I do not know but it was very uncomfortable for our family. Next, our room with 2 queen beds had an AC that wouldn't cool the room and had the same hot stuffy feel to it . Not to mention, with 2 queen beds , there was hardly any room for a Baby Pack n' Play. I must say that the front desk staff was fantastic and did move us to another room . They told us that maintenance was not available on weekends(what??) and some of the rooms has known poor ventilation problems.(It is sad that the staff is aware about some of the rooms having poor ventilation and bad ACs and yet rent it out to families ..even with 1 year old children like ours and feel it is proper to not let the guests know in advance).

Next comes the breakfast. Many reviewers here complain about the weekend breakfast and our experience was no different. We were not offered water. Coffee was filled once and then we had to run after the wait staff for a refill.Luckily, we managed to get another cup of coffee over the next 30-40 mins . Again , I saw only one person serving all tables so not his fault because he was doing his best but not a good experience for us. Most of the hot breakfast items like scrambled eggs, Eggs Benedict , Potatoes etc.had run out and it took a while .. about 10-15 mins before anyone refilled them. The quality of the food was very mediocre.Other things to watch out ..The Wi-Fi network is annoying because , you need to keep logging back in every time and if you do happen to do take-out (which is often if you have a hyper -active toddler like ours) , the rooms lack a microwave.

We did point out the inconvenience caused by the poor ventilation in the room , the breakfast etc. but we were checked out after a "We are sorry you were inconvenienced".. (that is what you get for being loyal customers for over many years.). It would have been nice if someone had shown a little bit more concern for what we went through and tried to make it up somehow.

The rooms are still very clean , the staff went above and beyond to help us but while it is ok to have a few shortcomings when you charge $125 a room , it is a lot harder to overlook small rooms , poor breakfast , bad ventilation, poor Air-Conditioning, lack of a microwave etc. , when you start charging upwards of $200 a night because , you could get a bigger room , better ventilation and better breakfast at a Hampton inn , Holiday Inn or many other hotels in Montreal for the same price range (or lower) .
.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 808.Poor Ventilation , The AC did not seem to work properly and bad layout .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bohemianguy2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I had to drive to Montreal from Boston twice last winter and I stayed here both times. It is a very convenient place to stay with a car . There is a parking garage under the hotel with self parking. The hotel sells you a 24 hour pass that allows for unlimited entries. It snowed both times I was in Montreal and I was very happy to have a warm parking space that didn't need shoveling. I was also happy not to have to wait for a valet.
Our room was large with a view of the city. The bed was very comfortable. I enjoyed the breakfast buffet that included pastries, fresh fruit and hot dishes. The staff were friendly and helpful. There were lots of stores and restaurants within walking distance. There was a wonderful bakery, Mamie Clafoutis, about a block away where I went for morning coffee as I did not like the coffee in the room. Also there is a metro entrance attached to the hotel so it was easy not travel around the city despite the snow. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJL71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

It was our second stay at this hotel, and we wold stay there again. Clean, quiet very modern rooms, most with a lovely view. The restaurant has a lovely atmosphere ... bright with lots of windows, overlooking St Denis Street. Pleasant service and a delicious breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank musichicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, On
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

It was fun staying in this hotel. Fun to see teachers and professionals teaching students. Good value for the accommodation. Personally I had an issue with the quality of breakfast so I enjoyed very much crossing the street to visit Mamie Clafoutis bakery. The only other issue is the wifi, you have to keep on signing in every time your device/laptop goes on sleep. A special AAA note for the Senior Housekeeping Teacher on our floor that would always greet, smile to us and made us feel like at home. Thank you !

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank MaestroTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel Kutuma
Hotel Kutuma
#41 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#10 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Olympic Park & Hochelaga-Maisonneuve (HoMa)
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
Auberge le Jardin d'Antoine
#47 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Parc Suites Hotel
Parc Suites Hotel
#15 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel 10
Hotel 10
#37 of 163 in Montreal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Le Relais Lyonnais
Le Relais Lyonnais
#52 of 163 in Montreal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'ITHQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'ITHQ

Property: Hotel de l'ITHQ
Address: 3535, St-Denis Street, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3P1, Canada (Formerly Hôtel de l'Institut)
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Montreal
#18 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#19 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#23 Business Hotel in Montreal
#42 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de l'ITHQ 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de l'Institut is located in the heart of Montreal, a stone's throw from the Quartier des Spectacles, between Quartier Latin and Plateau Mont-Royal. Proud of its four stars, this teaching hotel features 42 rooms (including two suites) and offers unparalleled accommodations with service and comfort worthy of the world's finest hotels. The Hotel de l'Institut offers the necessary facilities and a wide range of services for organizing meetings and events in one of its 9 rental spaces that can host up to 150 people. The Hotel de l'Institut is located in the same building as the Institut de tourisme et d'hotellerie du Quebec (ITHQ), the reference in Canada for specialized training in tourism, hospitality and food service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel de l'ITHQ reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Institut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing