We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel, great location”
Review of Hotel de l'ITHQ

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel de l'ITHQ
Ranked #28 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“good hotel, great location”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This was our first stay at this hotel, and I would stay here again. The staff are students who are eager and helpful. The room itself was fine, similar to a Delta or similar class hotel. Breakfast selection was varied and of excellent quality. We really liked the location; near plenty of restaurants on rue St. Denis, and practically on top of the Sherbrooke metro station. Having a balcony was a nice bonus.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    262
    159
    33
    4
    1
See reviews for
85
217
32
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This hotel has students in training as staff, which means that you will most likely met very helpful ''employees', eager to help.
Must point out however, that at check in, we were disappointed. We we're trying to save time
(wanted to go out for dinner before a performance at the Place Arts), therefore while the previous guest was revising her form, I asked if we could have our form so that we could check it. This seemed to much for this employee to handle, she kept on repeating ''one thing at a time''. Do not know if she had retained that from a class but she should learn that sometimes it does not take much to annoy or please a client and that whenever possible she should go for the latter which in this case could have been a fast and easy gesture. Guess she was not good at multi tasking which is a must in this industry.
The breakfast included in the price of the room offers a great selection of food although they seemed to be slow at replenishing when an item ran out.

Room Tip: Our room faced onto a side street, therefore very quiet plus a nice balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dani U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer T, Manager at Hotel de l'ITHQ, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Dani U,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments. Guest's comments are the best way for our students to improve their work and learn. I can assure you that we will use your review to be able to offer a better service.

Thank you again for your time,

Jennifer Tousignant
Front desk manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napanee, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This hotel is in a great location! This was the first time my husband and I stayed at Hotel de L'Institut and we will definitely be back again. It was very close to many restaurants, some of our favourites. The metro was under the hotel which is quite convenient! The room was clean and spacious. It was a great hotel and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for three nights. The hotel is on the border between the Latin quarter and mount royal neighborhoods. It's a good walk to parc mount royal and the mile end neighborhood. The rooms were well appointed and most, including ours, had balconies! Lots of food options and shopping around. The Sherbrooke metro station is right under the hotel super easy to navigate and clean. Everything is either walkable or a short metro ride away! There's also a bixi bike rental station in the park across the street. The included breakfast was delicious every morning. Highly recommended!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We only stayed for one night but the hotel itself was amazing and very modern and clean! Although it was quite expensive and the staff were very hard to find our stay was very pleasant. I would definitely recommend if you are looking for a nice, clean place go stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cgray95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We loved this hotel. We stayed 5 nights. Quiet in a great place. Great beds. I may get this type of mattress. Every staff person was kind and helpful. Frank in the restaurant was especially helpful and made our stay wonderful. The included breakfast was tasty. Remember to tip for service. The metro stop is literally under the same roof. We walked, took the Metro and had a great time.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Luther S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

For the three of us, we chose to get two, King-sized rooms. From the first moment we entered this modern, simply decorated hotel, we were impressed. Our receptionist on the 13th was so very friendly, and answered any questions we had.
We then parked in the below parking lot for an additional fee. Very conveniently located though, with the elevators right there, taking us to our floor.

On entry in the rooms, we were blown away by the bed, and amenities. The best part, having a balcony overlooking Mont Royal and the lit Cross. The bed...Oh the bed....so comfy, although in the summer, you do need to turn your AC on high, as to not get too hot underneath the down comforter. The room is appointed with a fridge, which was very convenient for us, a Nescafe machine (although 2 pods for two VERY small cups of coffee we found to be a bit stingy. Also, a Decaf pod would be appreciated), food and drinks for purchase at an exorbitant price, and a beautiful bathroom and shower. There is also a bathrobe, umbrella, full-sized hair dryer, and the bathroom is equipped with all the soaps, lotion, and shampoo you could ever need.

The hotel is located right beside Sherbrooke subway station, which is VERY convenient if you don't want to walk to St Catherine's or Old Montreal....or can't make the walk back up the hill on Rue St Denis. Rue St Denis is also littered with a variety of restaurants to choose from, and Chinatown is only a 5 min drive away. If walking...simply wear comfy shoes. If you need any maps or guidance, the Concierge has all of those, and though I found her to be a tad cold, she was helpful in her directions.

Although the breakfast in the beautiful dining room was appreciated, we found it to be quite repetitive by the third day. It would be nice for them to switch it up every two days or so. Although it is said to be included, if you have a second person in your room, you do pay more because of the breakfast. We only found this out on check-out. That said, the service provided by the wait staff was beyond excellent. Please....don't forget to tip these hard workers at the end of your stay.

The only real complaint we had about our stay was the construction noise at 6AM!!! This was simply unacceptable. They were doing some construction on the roof and what sounded like the room above. Two mornings of our stay, we were woken by these noises, and although the front desk said they would investigate the noise, nothing was ever done. NEVER...never should construction in a hotel start before 9am.

Beyond that...we were very pleased with our stay at L'Institut.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony (which I believe they all have), and personally, I wouldn't want a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizBRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer T, Gérant at Hotel de l'ITHQ, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear LizBRS,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a comment. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. I can assure you that we took note of the little things that didn't make your stay perfect and we will work on those aspects.

We hope to welcome you again at Hôtel de l'Institut,

Jennifer Tousignant
Front desk manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Hotel Kutuma
Hotel Kutuma
#48 of 165 in Montreal
331 reviews
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Parc Suites Hotel
Parc Suites Hotel
#18 of 165 in Montreal
546 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel 10
Hotel 10
#39 of 165 in Montreal
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
Armor Manoir Sherbrooke
#13 of 165 in Montreal
273 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Le Germain Montreal
Hotel Le Germain Montreal
#10 of 165 in Montreal
691 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le St-Martin Hotel Particulier Montreal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de l'ITHQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de l'ITHQ

Property: Hotel de l'ITHQ
Address: 3535, St-Denis Street, Montreal, Quebec H2X 3P1, Canada (Formerly Hôtel de l'Institut)
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Le Plateau Mont-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Montreal
#18 Luxury Hotel in Montreal
#18 Romantic Hotel in Montreal
#23 Business Hotel in Montreal
#42 Family Hotel in Montreal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de l'ITHQ 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel de l'Institut is located in the heart of Montreal, a stone's throw from the Quartier des Spectacles, between Quartier Latin and Plateau Mont-Royal. Proud of its four stars, this teaching hotel features 42 rooms (including two suites) and offers unparalleled accommodations with service and comfort worthy of the world's finest hotels. The Hotel de l'Institut offers the necessary facilities and a wide range of services for organizing meetings and events in one of its 9 rental spaces that can host up to 150 people. The Hotel de l'Institut is located in the same building as the Institut de tourisme et d'hotellerie du Quebec (ITHQ), the reference in Canada for specialized training in tourism, hospitality and food service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel de l'ITHQ reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De l Institut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing