We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place For Teams”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotels Gouverneur Montreal
Ranked #101 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We used this hotel for my daugther's basketball team and contacted Emilie Loureiro to book the rooms. From our first email to arrival date Emilie was great. She responded to all of our questions in a very quick manner and was very professional through out. Easily the best person I have ever dealt with when it comes to team bookings .

The rooms were very clean, the breakfast (that was included) was awesome, the service from the front desk employees to the parking valet to the servers and cleaning staff was great as well.

It was such a great experience, that we already booked a room for February when our family returns to Montreal.

H. Slater

Room Tip: If you can get a Suite, the view is awesome at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

468 - 474 of 1,211 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2013

For over ten years I have stayed many times at the Gouverneur and always enjoyed by stay. The service was excellent and the staff friendly. There are still some of the "regulars" working there whom I first met years ago. But over the past two years are so, things have changed. First, they have cancelled all room service [though I note that they show a breakfast tray in a photo of one of the rooms!! False advertising if you ask me] and in the past it was always excellent. One would have also expected, at least in the business rooms, real glasses and a modern TV, but I have the impression that the management or ownership of the Gouverneur haschanged since the cut backs seemed so unfortunate & unwise. I suspect too that the owners have cut back on the staff although some of the truly gracious and faithful still remain. But, as many have noticed, this is not the Gouverneur I once knew and enjoyed. Too bad since the location is excellent.

A long-time and loyal customer...

Room Tip: There is NO LONGER ANY ROOM SERVICE at the Gouverneur, and the pool and spa are not well maintained...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CJ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

My friend and I booked this hotel through priceline.com with a great rate. After reading reviews on this place, I hoped to God not to get this hotel but I was proved totally wrong once we got there!

The lobby is very nice and the front desk agent was friendly. We had to wait a bit since we arrived earlier than check in time. They gave us another room on the 20th floor with 2 double/queen beds after waiting. We were definitely expecting the worst. When we opened the door to our room, we were pleasantly surprised. The room was a good size with clean & comfy beds and a clean washroom, etc.

The best thing about this hotel is the location. It's connected through an underground path via place dupuis to the metro. And the hotel was pretty much 2 or 3 stops max from the eaton center, old montreal, and plateau mont royal area. The subway stop for this hotel is Berri-UQAM, which is the main station that connects to 3 different lines - amazing.

We would definitely stay here again. Definitely a great experience with price line as a first time user!

Room Tip: I feel like the higher you go, the better the rooms are. We were on the 20th floor and loved our ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoodSisterhood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantale D, Manager at Hotels Gouverneur Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a beautiful comment. We appreciate your gesture to share and hope to count you among our dear guests in the near future.

Warm regards,

C. Dubé
Director of Operation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Having stayed at the Gouverneur Place Dupuis on many visits to Montreal, I must sadly report that the property continues a slow decline and apparent poor management. I have always been a fan of this property because of its great location, delicious breakfast buffet and cleanliness.

On our most recent trip in late November 2013, we were disappointed by a noticeable drop in cleanliness of the hotel. Our "business" room bathroom was filthy. Hair and dirt behind the door. The shower was also dirty with hair, etc. collected along the corners and walls. The common hallway on our floor (27) did not get vacuumed at all during our 3 night stay. The same food, dirt, etc. just stayed there like the housekeeper and/or manager did not see it. At $200+ per night for this room, we expected a higher standard.

This hotel is in a prime location and is overdue for a makeover and improved management. Hopefully, I will visit one day when this property becomes a jewel that it has the potential to be.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantale D, Manager at Hotels Gouverneur Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

We thank you for sharing with us your experience further to your stay. We would like to assure you that we heard your comments and consider them in its just value.

We regret that your experience was tainted by the cleanliness of your room and for your information, immediat action have been take with the Concern Department.

I would like to have the opportunity to show you our hospitally. Please feel free to contact me directly, it will be a pleasure assisting you.

Best regards,
C. Dubé
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

When ever I go to Montreal I stay at the Gouverneur. It’s in the French part of town so I really feel like I get the true joie de vivre! It’s also very conveniently located close to all the best neighborhoods in Montreal. It has a great buffet breakfast and there’s a shopping center on the first level with just about anything you would need. It’s a short walk downtown to the Jazz fest or all the great resto’s in the old port. The staff are super nice and accommodating and the view is breathtaking. For the money, the Gouverneur can’t be beat!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Rich J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantale D, Manager at Hotels Gouverneur Montreal, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a beautiful comment. We appreciate your gesture to share and hope to count you among our dear guests in the near future.

Warm regards,

C. Dubé
Director of Operation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We got a deal through expieda and then Upgrading to a better room for a much better price then what we would have paid through the hotel. Rooms were clean. Just make sure you ask for a floor that was not a smoking floor in the past. We moved rooms due to the smell of smoke was soooo bad. It is close to the subway and within walking distance to most things. I would stay again for the price we paid .

Room Tip: ask about floors that do not smell like smoke
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fclosson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We were in Montreal for a mini vacation and a family members wedding. We booked our 3 night stay here, though a 3rd party company. Upon arriving in Montreal we jumped on e Metro and got off basically under the hotel, every easy to get to via public transportation. Lobby was clean and tidy, and front desk staff were polite and spoke both French and English. There was some confusion about our room type, we were told we would be able to select the type, and were provided with two double beds, when we asked for a queen instead we were told that that would not be possible. We could check back the end day which we didn't were told again that it was not possible.

Our hotel room, was very clean but the rooms are slightly dated, if your there for multiple days and will be watching tv at night or anything, the TVs are old and we had a week signal. But this didn't effect our overalls away. House keeping staff were very nice, and friendly.
We didn't have time to check out the pool or fitness room,
There is however lots of restaurants near by, and a food court in the mall attached.
We had been warned about lots of homeless people outside of the hotel, and this was true it's due to the subway terminal being so close, not much the hotel can do about that, it's part of having great accessibility.
The location was so convenient and the value was bang on, we will be staying there for our next trip to Montreal in a few months, as well.

I must also mention, comfortable beds, and pillows. We both got great sleep at night, and place was quiet

Room Tip: I would call ahead, and make sure the room type you want has been attached to your reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Montreal hotels
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Lord Berri
Lord Berri
#119 of 165 in Montreal
482 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
Hotel Les Suites Labelle
#52 of 165 in Montreal
859 reviews
The Village (Gay Village)
Auberge Le Pomerol
Auberge Le Pomerol
#55 of 165 in Montreal
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel St-Denis
Hotel St-Denis
#48 of 165 in Montreal
691 reviews
Centre-Ville (Downtown)
Le Roberval
Le Roberval
#81 of 165 in Montreal
541 reviews
Quartier des Spectacles
Hotel Travelodge Montreal Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotels Gouverneur Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotels Gouverneur Montreal

Address: 1415, rue Saint-Hubert, Montreal, Quebec H2L 3Y9, Canada (Formerly Hotel Gouverneur Place Dupuis Montreal)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Quebec > Montreal > Quartier des Spectacles
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 165 Hotels in Montreal
Price Range: £72 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotels Gouverneur Montreal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 352
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gouverneur Place Dupuis is a 4-star hotel located in the heart of the vibrant Latin Quarter near Old Montreal. Our 352 rooms offer an ideal base for you to enjoy the city festivals, shopping and business meetings. Indoor swimming pool, exercise room, saunas and fine dining. Direct indoor access to the Berri-UQÀM Métro Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotels Gouverneur Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gouverneur Hotel Montreal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing